Back to home pageFrench    German    



Discovery trails
and sheets to print












Click on the picture :


The precious water of Molène


The lavoirs of Le Conquet


The guns of Iroise


The tip of Kermorvan


The davits of the coast



The heritage of the Iroise country is divided into 19 municipalities. If you want to make it a walking objective, by giving yourself a theme, you will have to choose to stay in a village and visit it on foot, or to go through several of them, which will require a vehicle. By clicking on the pictures on the left, you will get the itineraries we propose. This list will be expanded because there is no shortage of choices in the Iroise country. In some places, links allow you to go beyond the proposed theme and broaden your visit and perhaps also, a little bit, your knowledge.



One of these 19 municipalities is nestled on a tiny island 15 km from the mainland. It's Molène-Island. Its territory is a rock without a single stream. No spring, no pond, so in principle no fresh water. And one of the highest population densities in the department. How could the Molenais manage to remain fixed to their rock over the centuries? A journey in search of the ingenious solutions they have found and which are visible to those who know how to discover them.






Lavoirs are a little-known heritage for visitors. Yet they are all different and there are some very original ones. Some are abandoned, others are beautifully maintained by the inhabitants of the neighbourhood. There are so many of them that, in each municipality, they can be the subject of a hike. For the time being, we will confine ourselves to the town of Le Conquet.




Guns are unusual and some of them will even surprise you. The route we propose to you to discover them requires the use of a vehicle because it extends over a large part of the Iroise country, from Lampaul-Plouarzel in the north to Plougonvelin in the south. An original and unexpected way to get out of the oblivion of completely harmless weapons.






The long peninsula of Kermorvan, in Le Conquet, ends with a magnificent tip, owned by the Conservatoire du Littoral. It is a complete walking tour on a cornice path, in an ever-changing setting that is worth a visit. An hour and a half of real pleasure in a magnificent landscape.



Walkers on the coastal path are often intrigued by a large flat stone on the edge of a cliff with a slit that is clearly carved by man. A crack in the stone which he seeks to understand the meaning. Nearby, the cliff is sometimes consolidated by an almost vertical stone wall.
This is the site of a former davit.
A tour allows you to discover some of these installations in the Iroise country and to understand their use.



Route sheets to print

-1- The lavoirs of Le Conquet

Front: click on the picture
Reverse: click on the picture


   Die Waschplätze von Le Conquet

Schön- :
Rückseite:


-2- A crime in Landunvez 1500 years ago :

Front: click on the picture
Reverse: click on the picture


-3- Menhirs and dolmens :

Front: click on the picture
Reverse: click on the picture


-4- Such pretty little chapels :

Front: click on the picture
Reverse: click on the picture




-5- Mysterious heritage :

Front: click on the picture
Reverse: click on the picture




-6- Enigmatic sundials :

Front: click on the picture
Reverse: click on the picture



Floral discoveries in family hiking:

By Maelle and Hubert Michéa and Marcel Quellec
A small free brochure
available at the Le Conquet Town Hall



Feel free to contact us with your comments and suggestions so that we can, thanks to you, improve these routes.
At the top of this page: Various Information / Contact button

Accueil

Des parcours de découverte
et des fiches à imprimer



Cliquez sur l'image


La précieuse eau de Molène


Les lavoirs du Conquet


Les canons d'Iroise


La pointe de Kermorvan


Les davieds du littoral



Le patrimoine du Pays d'Iroise se répartit dans 19 communes. Si l'on désire en faire un objectif de promenade, en se donnant un thème, par exemple, il faudra choisir de rester dans l'une d'elles, et de faire la visite à pied, ou bien d'en parcourir plusieurs, ce qui nécessitera un véhicule. En cliquant sur les images ci-contre, vous obtiendrez les itinéraires que nous vous proposons. Cette liste va bien sûr s'étoffer car les choix ne manquent pas dans le Pays d'Iroise. Par endroits, des liens vous permettent de ne pas vous cantonner au thème proposé et d'élargir votre visite et peut-être aussi, un petit peu, vos connaissances.



L'une de ces 19 communes est nichée sur une ile minuscule à 15 km du continent. C'est l'Ile-Molène. Son territoire est un rocher dépourvu du moindre ruisseau pérenne. Pas de source, pas d'étang, donc en principe pas d'eau douce. Et l'une des plus fortes densités d'habitants du département. Comment les Molénais ont-ils pu faire pour rester fixés à leur rocher au cours des siècles ? Un parcours à la recherche des ingénieuses solutions qu'ils ont trouvées et qui sont visibles pour qui sait les découvrir.



Les lavoirs constituent un patrimoine méconnu des visiteurs. Pourtant ils sont tous différents et certains sont même très originaux. D'autres sont magnifiquement entretenus par les habitants du voisinage. Ils sont si nombreux que, dans chaque commune, ils peuvent faire l'objet d'une randonnée pédestre. Pour l'instant nous nous cantonnerons à la commune du Conquet.



Les canons, eux, sont peu communs et certains d'entre eux vous surprendront même. Le parcours que nous vous proposons pour les découvrir nécessite l'emploi d'un véhicule car il s'étend sur une grande partie du Pays d'Iroise, depuis Lampaul-Plouarzel, au nord, jusqu'à Plougonvelin, au sud. Un parcours original et inattendu pour sortir de l'oubli des armes tout à fait inoffensives.







La longue presqu'île de Kermorvan, au Conquet, s'achève par une pointe magnifique, propriété du Conservatoire du Littoral. On en fait le tour complet à pied sur un sentier en corniche, dans un décor sans cesse renouvelé qui mérite le détour. Une heure et demie de vrai plaisir et de découvertes.







Il arrive souvent aux promeneurs du sentier côtier d'être intrigués par une large pierre plate disposée en bordure de falaise et pourvue d'une fente manifestement taillée par l'homme. Une sorte d'encoche dont il cherche et ne trouve pas la signification. Tout près de là, la falaise est consolidée par un mur de pierres presque vertical.
Il s'agit de l'emplacement d'un davied d'autrefois.
Un parcours permet de découvrir quelques-unes de ces installations du Pays d'Iroise et d'en comprendre l'utilisation.



Des fiches d'itinéraires à imprimer

Cliquez sur les images pour les télécharger



-1- Les lavoirs du Conquet

Recto
Verso


-2- Un crime à Landunvez il y a 1500 ans :

Recto
Verso


-3- Menhirs et dolmens :

Recto
Verso


-4- De si jolies petites chapelles :

Recto
Verso




-5- Mystérieux patrimoine... :

Recto
Verso


N'hésitez pas à nous contacter pour nous faire part de vos observations et de vos suggestions afin que nous puissions, grâce à vous, améliorer ces itinéraires.

Retour à l'accueil

Plan du site