Back to home pageFrench 



Iroise's guns








    The shores of the Iroise Sea have always been the object of special care to defend them against possible landings. We are of course thinking of the Second World War, which saw the occupier build a quantity of bunkers housing huge guns. The Atlantic Wall was also intended, in our region, to control access to the port of Brest, a strategic high point with its German submarine base.
But long before that time our shores were already carefully defended. What is left of it today? Some redoubts of the XIXth century and traces of fortifications dating back to Colbert, the king's Louis XIV minister. As for the guns, only memories remain because they have been dismantled and reused elsewhere.
    However, not all of them have completely disappeared and the walker will enjoy finding them, as below in a rather unexpected form.

    Here is a route that will take you from Lampaul-Ploudalmézeau to Locmaria-Plouzané in search of these ghosts from another time.
We will start from the car park of the church of Lampaul-Ploudalmézeau.


************************************
-1- The stone cannons of Lampaul-Ploudalmézeau





The beautiful church of Lampaul-Ploudalmézeau appeals to the curious visitor who details the ornaments of its bell tower ( visit of the church ). Under each corner of the large gallery, a kind of tubular stone gargoyle appears, gushing out above the void. But in reality, they are not gargoyles to evacuate Rainwater : they have no openings. In fact, they are sculptures representing cannons. And cannons, even in stone, to decorate a place of worship, this seems surprising to say the least.
It is known that in the Middle Ages, many bell towers were fortified and had crenels and loopholes. From their top, you could see danger coming. In the absence of a fortified castle, the population could take refuge there under divine protection. But the church of Lampaul-Ploudalmézeau is not at all medieval. It dates from the XVIIth century.
However, it has replaced an older church, which was very medieval. It is therefore likely that these ornaments come from it. The architect's plan did not include them and the stone cannons were probably imposed on him.
We will see later that this case is not an isolated one.

Now let's see the bell tower of Ploudalmézeau, located only 3 km away.


************************************
-2- A super defended church



It is indeed here a battery of eight granite cannons that decorates the corners of the two galleries.



And we can see that these elements have not been reported, but are perfectly incorporated into the construction. The church dates from 1857 but its bell tower is older since it was completely rebuilt from 1773 to 1776. The previous church was built in 1504. It is therefore very likely that the stones from the old bell tower were reused, as were the cannons.

Let's now head for Lanildut.


************************************
3- Lanildut's replica

Parking GPS : 48°28'16.3 N   4°45'36.3 W




Access : Exit Lanildut in the direction of Porspoder and take the first road on the left, towards the harbour. Park on the large earth platform at the end of the road and follow the coastal path. The battery is 200m away.

This is a recent replica of a gun from the time of king Louis XV. After uncovering the remains of the surrounding military structures and the platform of the Coast Guard battery, a cannon had to be installed so that the public could understand the significance of these installations. The mount was made by the students of a high school in Brest, the cannon itself was cast in a foundry in a mold designed for this purpose after a long documentary research.




Before continuing this itinerary, you will find more details on the page of our website dedicated to the Lanildut Coastal Battery ( explanations here ).

But let us now return to the village of Lanildut in a southerly direction. After the shops, a replica at 1/7th of the obelisk of Paris was built on a platform facing the harbour ( here is where the obelisk's base comes from ). Let's park here.


************************************
4- The cannon of the obelisk house in Lanildut



This time, it is at the corner of a private house overlooking the harbour that we can see a stone gun. It is possible to approach it and see it from the shore.



Certainly, this house has survived the centuries. And its stone cannon, very eroded, still stands proudly towards the bottom of the harbour which was once located behind the road and which has been filled in.
Private houses decorated with such a gun, as can still be seen on some churches, are rare. But what is now a private house may have once contained a small defensive garrison. Would it be some kind of sign, or simply a decoy?

We will discover more.


************************************
5- Kermarchar's cannon in Plouarzel

GPS: 48°26'08.5 N   4°45'44.1 W




Access : Kermarc'har is located in the countryside, between the village of Plouarzel and the coast. Leave Plouarzel in the direction of Le Conquet and at the roundabout continue straight towards Trézien. 1.5 km after the wind turbines, turn right towards the church of Trézien and cross the village ( visit of the church ). At the crossroads, turn right, leave Trézien and continue straight ahead. Cross a road and 500 m further on turn left into the dead end and park in front of the Kermarc'har manor house. Be careful, the place is private, do not enter the domain.



You have to approach under the tree near the entrance and look up to discover this sculpture located at the corner of the roof. It's a granite cannon mouth, a crossette like in Lanildut. The tube does not have a circular, but an octagonal section. It is clear here that its ornamental function prevails over a true resemblance.
To fully understand the reason for its location at the entrance to this manor house, it should be noted that the residence is that of the family of Hervé de Portzmoguer ( 1475-1512), known as Primauguet, the famous captain of La Cordelière, the royal nave of duchess Anne de Bretagne. The sailor was probably born here. In 1512, during a violent naval battle outside Pointe St-Mathieu, and while his ship was clinging to the English flagship, he decided, it is said, to blow up the two ships rather than surrender. The explosion killed 2000 people and ended the naval battle.

Placed there, the granite gun is unlikely to be a decoy. Rather, it reminds the visitor that the estate is that of a sailors family, one of whom sacrificed himself in battle.

After all, in Lanildut, there is no evidence that the house of the obelisk was not also that of a heroic sailor.

Let's now head for Ploumoguer.


************************************
6 -6- The church of Ploumoguer





The name Ploumoguer has a certain analogy with that of Portzmoguer. But it is misleading because if we can translate Portzmoguer by the manor surrounded by walls, and we understand it well when we see the large moëllons of Kermarc'har, Ploumoguer translates into the parish on the walls, which would refer to Gallo-Roman ruins.
Its St-Pierre church has a bell tower dating from 1753. It has two galleries, but only the lower gallery has four stone cannons. Very rough and eroded, these ornaments could come from the bell tower of the old church.

Let's continue on our way to Le Conquet.


************************************
7- The Cannon of the Conquet

GPS : 48°21'41.8 N   4°46'19.2 W




Access : Park in the centre of Le Conquet and go down to the harbour via rue Lombard, which starts in front of the "Vents sucrés" bakery and pastry shop. At the bottom of this street, follow the quai du Drellac'h on the right until the end.
- If the sea is low, get down to the slipway and walk along the shore. Behind the house overlooking the shoreline, a cannon is placed at the top of an another slipway. It has been very visible since the shore. Warning: access to this private slipway is prohibited.
- If sea level prevents you from going down on the shore, follow the coastal path. After passing the house, you can see the cannon through the hedge.




  This is a 6-pound short marine gun that the former owner, when he bought it in the 1970s, discovered in the house's cellar. He carefully installed it at this location, accompanied by a mount and dummy cannonballs. These guns are quite frequently found in warship wrecks of the XVIIIth. They were gradually replaced in the XIXth by much more efficient models. From then on, these heavy bronze cannons were sold by weight in order to serve as ballast for cabotage sailboats such as the gabarres. As the cannon of the Drellac'h showed no sign of corrosion, it is likely that it did not remain underwater and was used as ballast.


************************************
8- The granite cannons of the Drellac'h wharf

  Let's retrace our steps, along Drellac'h wharf, and stop in front of this beautiful house whose imposing exterior staircase leads to the second floor.






At both ends of the roof, stone cannons can still be seen projecting above the street. However, this very old house is not like a fortified residence.




    As in Kermarc'har, it was decorative sticks of octagonal section that probably adorned the home of a captain of a warship who wanted to recall his activity and his exploits.




  But let us continue to retrace our steps and go up the Lombard street. On the right side stands the imposing English house ( the small castle of Le Conquet ).



    It's a fortified house. It may have been rebuilt following the destruction of the Conquet in the XVIth century by the English. And the cannon-shaped crossette that dominates a corner of the building at a height of twelve metres cannot have a simple decorative purpose. Too far from ground level and directed towards the harbour, only its silhouette stands out against the sky.



    The "Little Castle of Le Conquet", as this fortified house is sometimes called, does not hide its defensive character. We think this granite gun could be a decoy1. An architectural element of deterrence, in a way, for those who do not yet have a telescope2 to detail it.

    But this granite cannon may also have a warning function: "Be careful, here we have enough to defend ourselves! »

Now let's go to the church of Le Conquet.


************************************
9- Two out of four

Under the first gallery of the bell tower, four protruding sculptures can be seen. They're still not gargoyles. Those located at the corners of the facade represent animals. Only those on the opposite side show a cannon.









    How old are these sculptures? As can be read on our page dedicated to this church, the whole building has been moved to be transferred, stone by stone, from the hamlet of Lochrist located 2 km away, until here, in the centre of the town ( Sainte-Croix Church ). This titanic work took place from 1856 to 1858. The sculptures being very eroded, it is likely that the four cannons were already present on the old bell tower. And this one could well go back to the XVI th century, i.e. following the destruction and looting of the Conquet by the English in 1558.

Now let's take the coastal road to Pointe Saint-Mathieu. We will discover real cannons there.

10- The venerable cannons of Pointe Saint-Mathieu

GPS : 48°19'50.0 N   4°46'24.8 W


Access : Park in the large parking lot and walk to the cenotaph in memory of the sailors who perished at sea, which the path bypasses.

There are two old rusty cannons facing the ocean. But we have to get closer because they have things to tell us.





    On the chassis of one of them, we can still read "Schneider Le Creusot 1877". On one of the tubes "Tarbes AC 1882".
Well, they don't date back to the Second World War at all... or the First...
1877 , 1882 ! Almost a century and a half ! They were built after the War of 1870 !
It is easier to understand why steel has rusty a little here at the tip of Europe under the salt spray of the ocean.
Specialists will tell you that these are 95 mm guns, model Lahitolle 1875 and 1888, the first steel guns made in France. Equipped with a screw breech, but without a recoil brake, they were not very suitable for field artillery. The heaviest, with its armoured mask, weighs nearly 3 tons. It was better to fix them to the ground. Between the wars of 1870 and 1914, we learned at school that Germany was the great enemy of France, and that it was necessary to be constantly on guard and above all to protect the Brest harbour from the incursion of possible submarines... These guns were installed in the concrete cells of batteries attached to the large-calibre shore batteries.
From 1917, the defence of the coasts was transferred to the Navy, which installed these old parts to defend lighthouses, semaphores and small ports because these powerful guns could still deter a submarine from attacking these objectives.
To see them today in such a sorry state, it really doesn't look like they were able to send a 12 kg shell at a speed of 400 m/s !





    After a moving thought for the venerable artillerymen who served these rare witnesses of our coastal military heritage, let us take the road again towards Plougonvelin for a last stop near the shore.


************************************
11- The Rospects' naval guns

GPS : 48°19'49.6 N   4°45'35.3 W





Access : On the road to Plougonvelin, 500 m after the end of the St-Mathieu conurbation and in front of the German command post of Keromnès, take the first road on the right towards Les Rospects until you reach the parking area.




A barrier of boulders deposited there with remarkable aesthetic concern prevents vehicles from approaching the guns. But on foot, for an able-bodied person, there is no problem getting around the obstacle.
At 50 m, guarding access to a row of bunkers, two cannons await us.





These two weapons, one 57 mm calibre and the other 75 mm calibre, were anti-aircraft guns of the French Navy. Landed when the units on which they were fixed were disarmed, they were used by the GERBAM (Groupe d'Etudes et de Recherches en Balistique, Armes et Munitions) at its Gâvres site (Morbihan) for ballistic tests. But in 2010, this site, which was included in a Natura 2000 area, was decommissioned in order to restore the site in accordance with European directives. The gun depot was intended for scrap metal. Several municipalities, including Plougonvelin, then acquired certain pieces in order to expose them to the public. These two marine guns are part of it.

************************************
12- The cannon of the Memory Museum 39-45

GPS: 48°20'07.5 N   4°45'45.2 W





On returning to the road to Plougonvelin, we will not miss the visit, just opposite, of the Memorial Museum 39-45 opened in 2017 in the former Kéromnès firing command post. It is the work of two brothers who were passionate about the history of the last war, who gave up their profession to present their important collection to the public. You will find an overview on our page dedicated to this museum whose upper terrace offers visitors an extraordinary panorama on the Iroise Sea. ( museum visit ). During the Occupation, this command post directed the fire of the powerful German defensive unit at Keringar, which had, among other things, three huge 280 mm guns that could fire 240 kg shells 30 km away ! These terrifying monsters have been dismantled and their gigantic concrete shelters are empty.
As you leave this terrace, you can see up close a 40 mm Bofors anti-aircraft towable gun, manufactured in Canada under Swedish licence, and used by the Allies at the Liberation.




To finish this journey, let's go back to the road to Brest and in the crossing of Kerfily, let's turn left towards Locmaria-Plouzané where we can park at the foot of the bell tower.

************************************
13- The stone cannons of Locmaria-Plouzané

Parking GPS : 48°22'28.8 N   4°38'35.8 W











    Once again the bell tower of a church shows with these stone cannons its maritime and defensive character. Notre-Dame Church, built in 1779, replaced an older building that already had to display these ornamentations. Of circular section, these 4 guns are placed like real gargoyles, at each corner, under the upper gallery.


    This concludes our journey, which shows how much the Pays d'Iroise is keen to preserve the memory of the battles that have marked its entire history. Discovering this ancient heritage means becoming aware of the importance of the Breton maritime border for our country as a whole. It is also to imagine the anguish, fears and heroism of a coastal population in such frequent insecurity that they wanted to engrave them as a message in stone.
And, of course, this message is for us....

***

-1- See on the internet the opinion of Michel Le Goffic, archaeologist of Finistère, on the stone guns.

  -2- The first telescopes date from the end of the XVIth century. Galileo perfected them in 1609. But providing an inverted image, they were only used in astronomy. Approach telescopes, land or sea, requiring an image straightener, are therefore older than 1609.



Thanks to Maj. Roger Coguiec, the association Brest-44 and Mr. Patrick Jaubert for their help and the accuracy of their information.

***

READ MORE


The "Memories 39-45" Museum in Plougonvelin

    About the Lanildut battery, we will find on the internet a more detailed documentation written by Jean-Yves Besselièvre and put online by the Cercle d'Histoire Locale de Lanildut :

La batterie de l'Aber
La restauration de la batterie de l'Aber Ildut
La batterie de l'Aber Ildut ( XVIIIe-XIXe)
Le canon de la batterie de l'Aber

***


QR code of this page :



Download this flashcode

Accueil

Les canons d'Iroise








   Les rivages de la mer d'Iroise furent de tout temps l'objet de soins particuliers pour les défendre contre d'éventuels débarquements. On pense bien entendu à la Seconde guerre mondiale qui a vu l'occupant construire une quantité de blockhaus abritant d'énormes canons. Le mur de l'Atlantique avait aussi pour objectif, dans notre région, de contrôler l'accès au port de Brest, haut-lieu stratégique avec sa base sous-marine allemande.
Mais bien avant cette époque nos rivages étaient déjà soigneusement défendus. Qu'en reste-t-il aujourd'hui ? Quelques redoutes du XIXe siècle et des traces de fortications remontant à l'époque de Colbert. Quant aux canons, il n'en subsiste que des souvenirs car ils ont été démontés et réemployés ailleurs.
   Toutefois tous n'ont pas complètement disparu et le promeneur prendra plaisir à en retrouver, comme ci-dessous sous une forme assez inattendue.
    Voici donc un itinéraire qui vous emmènera depuis Lampaul-Ploudalmézeau jusqu'à Plougonvelin à la recherche de ces fantômes d'un autre temps.
Nous partirons du parking de l'église de Lampaul-Ploudalmézeau..


************************************
-1- Les canons de pierre de Lampaul-Ploudalmézeau





La belle église de Lampaul-Ploudalmézeau interpelle le visiteur curieux qui détaille les ornements de son clocher. Sous chacun des angles de la grande galerie, on voit apparaître une sorte de gargouille en pierre, de forme tubulaire, jaillissant au-dessus du vide. Mais en réalité, ce ne sont pas des gargouilles destinées à évacuer l'eau de pluie : elles ne possèdent aucun orifice. En fait ce sont des sculptures représentant des canons. Et des canons, même en pierre, pour décorer un lieu de culte, cela paraît pour le moins étonnant.
On sait qu'au Moyen Age, bien des clochers ont été fortifiés et possèdaient créneaux et archères. De leur sommet, on pouvait voir venir le danger. En l'absence de château-fort, la population pouvait s'y réfugier en comptant sur la protection divine. Mais l'église de Lampaul-Ploudalmézeau n'est pas du tout médiévale. Elle date du XVIIe siècle.
Cependant elle a pris la place d'une église plus ancienne, bien médiévale celle-là. Il est donc probable que ces ornements en proviennent. Le plan de l'architecte ne les faisait d'ailleurs pas figurer et les canons de pierre lui ont été sans doute imposés.
On verra plus loin que ce cas n'est pas isolé.

Allons voir maintenant le clocher de Ploudalmézeau, situé seulement à 3 km.


************************************
-2- Une église super défendue



C'est en effet ici une batterie de huit canons de granite qui orne les angles des deux galeries.



Et l'on s'aperçoit que ces éléments n'ont pas été rapportés, mais s'incorporent parfaitement à la construction. L'église date de 1857 mais son clocher est plus ancien puisqu'il a été entièrement reconstruit de 1773 à 1776. L'église précédente datait de 1504. Il est donc très probable que les pierres de l'ancien clocher ont été réutilisées, et les canons aussi.

Dirigeons-nous maintenant vers Lanildut.


************************************
-3- La réplique de Lanildut

GPS du stationnement : 48°28'16.3 N   4°45'36.3 W




Accès : Sortir de Lanildut en direction de Porspoder et prendre la première route à gauche, vers le port. Stationner sur le grand terre-plein tout au bout de la route et suivre le sentier côtier. La batterie est à 200m.

Il s'agit là d'une réplique récente d'un canon de l'époque de Louis XV. Car après avoir remis au jour les restes des constructions militaires voisines ainsi que de la plate-forme de la batterie des gardes-côte, il fallait bien installer un canon afin que le public comprenne la signification de ces aménagements. L'affût a été confectionné par les élèves d'un collège de Brest, le canon lui-même a été coulé en fonderie dans un moule conçu à cet effet après une longue recherche documentaire.




Avant de poursuivre cet itinéraire, vous trouverez davantage de détails sur la page de notre site consacrée à la batterie côtière de Lanildut.

Mais revenons maintenant dans le bourg de Lanildut en direction du sud. Après les commerces, une réplique au 1/7e de l'obélisque de la Concorde trône sur un terre-plein le long du port. Stationnons là.


************************************
-4- Le canon de la maison de l'obélisque à Lanildut



Cette fois-ci, c'est à l'angle d'une maison particulière donnant sur le port que l'on aperçoit un canon. Il est possible de s'en approcher et de le voir depuis la grève.



A coup sûr, cette maison a traversé les siècles. Et son canon de pierre, très érodé malgré tout, se dresse toujours fièrement vers le fond du port qui était situé autrefois derrière la route et qui a été comblé.
Les maisons particulières ornées d'un tel canon, comme on en voit encore sur quelques églises, sont rares. S'agirait-il ici d'un leurre ?

Nous allons en découvrir d'autres.


************************************
-5- Le canon de Kermarc'har en Plouarzel

GPS: 48°26'08.5 N   4°45'44.1 W




Accès : Kermarc'har est situé dans la campagne, entre le bourg de Plouarzel et la côte. Sortir de Plouarzel en direction du Conquet et au rond-point continuer tout droit vers Trézien. 1,5 km après les éoliennes, tourner à droite vers l'église de Trézien et traverser le bourg. Au carrefour, prendre à droite, quitter Trézien et continuer tout droit. Traverser une route et 500 m plus loin tourner à gauche dans l'impasse et stationner devant le manoir de Kermarc'har. Attention, le lieu est privé, ne pas pénétrer dans le domaine.



Il faut s'approcher sous l'arbre situé près de l'entrée et lever les yeux pour découvrir cette sculpture située à l'angle de la toiture. C'est une bouche de canon en granite, une crossette comme à Lanildut. Le tube n'a pas une section circulaire, mais octogonale.
Pour bien comprendre la raison de son implantation à l'entrée de ce manoir, il faut savoir que la demeure est celle de la famille d'Hervé de Portzmoguer ( 1475-1512 ), dit Primauguet, le célèbre capitaine de La Cordelière, la nef royale d'Anne de Bretagne. Le marin est sans doute né ici. En 1512, au cours d'un violent combat naval devant la pointe St-Mathieu, et alors que sa nef était accrochée au navire amiral anglais, il décida, dit-on, de faire sauter les deux navires plutôt que de se rendre. L'explosion fit 2000 victimes et mit fin à la bataille navale.

Placé à cet endroit, le canon de granite a peu de chances d'être un leurre. Il rappelle plutôt au visiteur que le domaine est celui d'une famille de marins dont l'un s'est sacrifié au combat.

Après tout, à Lanildut, rien ne prouve que la maison de l'obélisque n'a pas aussi été celle d'un marin héroïque.

Dirigeons-nous maintenant vers Ploumoguer.


************************************
-6- L'église de Ploumoguer





Le nom de Ploumoguer revêt à première vue une certaine analogie avec celui de Portzmoguer. Mais elle est trompeuse car si l'on peut traduire Portzmoguer par le manoir entouré de murs, et on le comprend bien en voyant les gros moëllons de Kermarc'har, Ploumoguer se traduit par la paroisse aux murs, ce qui se rapporterait à des ruines gallo-romaines.
Son église St-Pierre comporte un clocher datant de 1753. Il possède deux galeries, mais seule la galerie inférieure est dotée de quatre canons de pierre. Très frustes et érodés, ces ornements pourraient provenir du clocher de l'ancienne église.

Poursuivons notre route vers Le Conquet.


************************************
-7- Le canon du Conquet

GPS : 48°21'41.8 N   4°46'19.2 W




Accès : Stationner dans le centre du Conquet et descendre vers le port par la rue Lombard qui commence devant la boulangerie-pâtisserie "Vents sucrés". Au bas de cette rue, suivre à droite le quai du Drellac'h jusqu'au bout.
- Si la mer est basse, descendre sur la cale et longer la grève. Derrière la maison qui domine le rivage, un canon se trouve placé en haut d'une cale privée. Il est très visible depuis la grève. Attention: accès interdit sur la cale.
- Si le niveau de la mer empêche de descendre sur la grève, suivre le sentier côtier au-dessus de la cale. Après avoir dépassé la maison, on aperçoit à travers la haie le canon.




 Il s'agit d'un canon de marine court de 6 livres que l'ancien propriétaire, lors de son achat dans les années 1970, a découvert dans la cave de la maison. Il l'a installé à cet emplacement avec soin, en l'accompagnant d'un affût et de boulets factices. Ces canons sont assez fréquemment retrouvés dans les épaves de navires de guerre du XVIIIe. Ils furent progressivement remplacés au XIXe par des modèles beaucoup plus performants. Dès lors, devenus hors d'usage, ces lourds canons de bronze étaient vendus au poids afin de servir de lest aux voiliers de cabotage comme les gabarres. Le canon du Drellac'h ne présentant aucune trace de corrosion, il est probable qu'il n'a pas séjourné sous l'eau et qu'il a servi de lest.


************************************
-8- Les canons de granite du quai du Drellac'h

  Revenons sur nos pas, quai du Drellac'h, et arrêtons-nous devant cette belle maison dont l'imposant escalier extérieur permet d'accéder à l'étage.






Aux deux extrémités de la toiture, on aperçoit encore des canons de pierre, en saillie au-dessus de la rue. Or cette maison très ancienne n'a rien d'une demeure fortifiée.




      Comme à Kermarc'har, ce sont des crossettes décoratives ornant sans doute le domicile d'un capitaine de navire de guerre qui a voulu rappeler ainsi son activité et ses exploits.




  Mais continuons à revenir sur nos pas et remontons la rue Lombard. Sur le côté droit se dresse l'imposante maison des Anglais.



   C'est une maison fortifiée. Elle pourrait avoir été reconstruite à la suite de la destruction du Conquet au XVIe siècle par les Anglais. Et la crossette en forme de canon qui domine un angle de l'édifice à une hauteur de douze mètres ne peut pas avoir un simple but décoratif. Trop éloignée du niveau du sol et dirigée vers le port, seule sa silhouette se découpe sur le ciel.



   Le "petit château du Conquet", comme on nomme parfois cette maison forte, ne cache pas son caractère défensif. On pense que ce canon de granite pourrait être un leurre1. Un élément architectural de dissuasion, en quelque sorte, pour qui ne disposerait pas encore d'une lunette2 permettant de le détailler.

    Mais ce canon de granite revêt peut-être aussi une fonction d'avertissement : "Attention, ici l'on se défend ! "

Dirigeons-nous maintenant vers l'église du Conquet.


************************************
-9- Deux sur quatre

Sous la première galerie du clocher, on remarque bien quatre sculptures en saillie. Ce ne sont toujours pas des gargouilles. Celles situées aux angles de la façade représentent des animaux. Seules celles de la face opposée figurent un canon.









   De quand datent ces crossettes ? Ainsi qu'on peut le lire sur notre page consacrée à cette église, tout l'édifice a été déménagé pour être transféré, pierre à pierre, du hameau de Lochrist situé à 2 km, jusqu'ici, au centre de la commune. Ce travail de titan s'est passé de 1856 à 1858. Les sculptures étant très érodées, il est vraisemblable que les quatre crossettes étaient déjà présentes sur l'ancien clocher. Et celui-ci pourrait bien remonter au XVIe siècle, c'est-à-dire à la suite de la destruction et du pillage du Conquet par les Anglais en 1558.

Prenons à présent la route côtière vers la pointe Saint-Mathieu. Nous allons y découvrir de vrais canons.

-10- Les véritables canons de la Pointe Saint-Mathieu

GPS : 48°19'50.0 N   4°46'24.8 W


Accès : Stationner dans le grand parking et se diriger à pied vers le cénotaphe à la mémoire des marins péris en mer, que le chemin contourne.

Deux vieux canons rouillés font face à l'océan. Mais il faut s'en approcher car ils ont des choses à nous dire.

>



    Sur le chassis de l'un d'eux, on lit encore "Schneider Le Creusot 1877". Sur l'un des tubes "Tarbes AC 1882"
Tiens, ils ne datent pas du tout de la Seconde Guerre mondiale... ni de la Première d'ailleurs...
1877 , 1882 ! Presque un siècle et demi ! Ils ont été construits après la guerre de 70 !
On comprend mieux pourquoi l'acier a un peu rouillé, ici, à la pointe de l'Europe sous les embruns salés de l'océan.
Les spécialistes vous diront que ce sont des canons de 95 mm, modèle Lahitolle 1875 et 1888, les premiers canons en acier fabriqués en France. Dotés d'une culasse à vis, mais sans frein de recul, ils étaient peu adaptés à l'artillerie de campagne. Le plus lourd, avec son masque blindé, pèse près de 3 tonnes. Il valait mieux les fixer au sol. Entre la guerre de 70 et celle de 14, on apprenait à l'école que l'Allemagne était le grand ennemi, et qu'il fallait perpétuellement être sur ses gardes et surtout protéger la rade de Brest de l'incursion d'éventuels sous-marins... Ces canons étaient installés dans les alvéoles bétonnées de batteries annexes aux batteries de côte de gros calibre.
A partir de 1917, la défense des côtes est passée à la Marine qui installera ces pièces anciennes pour assurer la défense des phares, sémaphores et petits ports car ces canons puissants pouvaient encore dissuader un sous-marin d'attaquer ces objectifs.
A les voir aujourd'hui dans un si piteux état, on ne dirait vraiment pas qu'ils étaient capables d'envoyer un obus de 12 kg à la vitesse de 400 m/s !





    Après une pensée émue pour les vénérables artilleurs qui servaient ces rares témoins de notre patrimoine militaire côtier, reprenons la route en direction de Plougonvelin pour une dernière étape proche du rivage.


************************************
-11- Les canons de marine des Rospects

GPS : 48°19'49.6 N   4°45'35.3 W





Accès : Sur la route de Plougonvelin, 500 m après la fin de l'agglomération de St-Mathieu et face au poste de commandement allemand de Keromnès, prendre la première route à droite vers Les Rospects jusqu'à l"aire de stationnement.




Une barrière de blocs rocheux déposés là avec un remarquable souci esthétique interdit aux véhicules de s'approcher des canons. Comme il arrive souvent, on n'a pas non plus pensé à laisser un espace suffisant pour le passage d'une poussette ou d'un fauteuil roulant. Mais à pied, pour une personne valide, il n'y a aucun problème.
A 50 m, gardant l'accès à une rangée de blockhaus, deux canons nous attendent.

>



Ces deux armes, l'une de calibre 57 mm et l'autre de 75 mm, étaient des canons antiaériens de la Marine nationale. Débarqués lors du désarmement des unités sur lesquelles ils étaient fixés, ils furent utilisés par le GERBAM ( Groupe d'Etudes et de Recherches en Balistique, Armes et Munitions ) sur son site de Gâvres ( Morbihan ) pour des essais de balistique. Mais en 2010, ce site, qui était inclus dans une zone Natura 2000, a été désaffecté afin de remettre en état les lieux conformément aux directives européennes. Le dépôt de canons était destiné à la ferraille. Plusieurs communes, dont celle de Plougonvelin, ont alors acquis certaines pièces afin de les exposer au public. Ces deux canons de marine en font partie.

************************************
-12- Le canon du Musée "Mémoires 39-45"

GPS: 48°20'07.5 N   4°45'45.2 W





En revenant sur la route de Plougonvelin, on ne manquera pas la visite, juste en face, du Musée "Mémoires 39-45" récemment ouvert dans l'ancien poste de commandement de tir de Kéromnès. Il est l'œuvre de deux frères passionnés d'histoire de la dernière guerre, qui ont abandonné leur métier pour se lancer dans la présentation au public de leur importante collection. On en trouvera un aperçu sur notre page consacrée à ce musée dont la terrasse supérieure offre au visiteur un extraordinaire panorama sur la mer d'Iroise.
En quittant cette terrasse, on peut voir de près un canon antiaérien tractable de 40 mm Bofors, fabriqué au Canada sous licence suédoise, et utilisé par les Alliés à la Libération.



    Ainsi s'achève notre périple qui montre combien le Pays d'Iroise tient à conserver le souvenir des combats jalonnant toute son histoire. Découvrir ce patrimoine ancien, c'est prendre conscience de l'importance que revêt la frontière maritime bretonne pour tout notre pays. C'est aussi imaginer les angoisses, les frayeurs et l'héroïsme d'une population côtière en si fréquente insécurité qu'elle a tenu à les graver comme message dans la pierre.
Et, bien sûr, c'est à nous que ce message est destiné...

***

-1- Voir sur internet l'avis de Michel Le Goffic, archéologue du Finistère, sur les canons de pierre.

  -2- Les premières lunettes datent de la fin du XVIe siècle. Galilée les perfectionna en 1609. Mais fournissant une image renversée, elles ne furent utilisées qu'en astronomie. Les lunettes d'approche, terrestres ou maritimes, nécessitant un redresseur d'image, sont donc postérieures à 1609.



Merci au Cdt Roger Coguiec, à l'association "Brest-44" et à M. Patrick Jaubert pour leur aide et la précision de leurs informations.

***

EN SAVOIR PLUS


   Au sujet de la batterie de Lanildut, on trouvera sur internet une documentation plus détaillée écrite par Jean-Yves Besselièvre et mise en ligne par le Cercle d'Histoire Locale de Lanildut :

La batterie de l'Aber
La restauration de la batterie de l'Aber Ildut
La batterie de l'Aber Ildut ( XVIIIe-XIXe )
Le canon de la batterie de l'Aber
Le Musée "Mémoires 39-45" de Plougonvelin

***

QR code de cette page :



Télécharger ce flashcode


Patrimoine militaire du Pays d'Iroise

Retour à l'accueil

Plan du site