Back to home pageFrench    German    Spanish    



The museum spaces of the Iroise country



Caution: During periods of confinement the museums are closed.
When they reopen, their schedules may have been modified. Please inquire.



















Click on the picture




The Ponant Museum
in St-Renan




The Drummond-Castle Museum
in Molène Island




The exhibition on the Iroise Sea
au Conquet




The House of the Environment
in Molène




The Seaweed House
in Lanildut




The Museum "Memories 39-45 "
in Plougonvelin



Heritage cannot always be revealed in the open air : old-fashioned objects, reconstructions, photos, detailed explanations are essential to recount the facts, perpetuate the memory of the past and enhance it. Museographic spaces have been patiently created for this purpose.
Some of them have a general nature, such as the Musée du Ponant, and thus become essential stops. Others are specialized in maritime surveillance, a particular mansion, an abbey, a shipwreck, rescue at sea, the national memory of all seafarers who perished in the sea, the exploitation of seaweeds or the depths discovery of a marine natural Park. This list is not exhaustive because there are also ephemeral exhibitions that it would be a pity to miss. The purpose of this site is also to report them to the public.



Located in the centre of St-Renan, the Ponant Museum is the museum of history and folk art in the Iroise country to visit. Its collections, patiently collected and displayed by a team of volunteers, cover a wide range of fields, but reflect the passion to preserve, present and explain to visitors of all ages what makes the roots of this country so interesting.





In Molène, the sinking of the Drummond Castle, more than a century ago, had such an impact that a small museum is totally dedicated to it. Its visit is essential.









In Le Conquet, it is in the premises located above the Harbour Master's Office that the Iroise Marine Natural Park has chosen to make known the secrets of the marine expanse that surrounds our coasts. An astonishing new world is opening up for those who push its door.








Also in Molène, the Natural Marine Park of Iroise has renovated a house in the village. He has turned it into a Maison de l'Environnement ( House of the Environment ) where the visitor discovers the unsuspected marine riches of the archipelago.






In Lanildut, Europe's leading seaweed port, tourists see tons of seaweed unloaded on the quays in semi-trailers, while a few steps away everything is being done to provide them with the information they want about this activity. The Seaweed House is there to explain everything about the seaweed harvested and their interest for our economy.






In the town of Plougonelin, 500 m from Pointe St-Mathieu, an extraordinary museum dedicated to the 1939-1945 war has recently been open in our region. Its originality ? All of its showcases and presentations are displayed inside the maze of concrete corridors and platforms forming the former firing command post of the most powerful German battery in all of western Brittany. A cultural visit as well as a place of memory not to be missed.


Discover all these exhibitions that have been set up for you.

Accueil

Les espaces muséographiques du Pays d'Iroise












Cliquez sur l'image



Le musée du Ponant à St-Renan



Le musée du Drummond Castle
à Molène




L'exposition sur la mer d'Iroise
au Conquet




La Maison de l'Algue
à Lanildut




Le musée "Mémoires 39-45"
à Plougonvelin



Le patrimoine ne peut pas toujours se dévoiler en plein air : des objets d'autrefois, des reconstitutions, des photos, des explications détaillées sont indispensables pour relater les faits, perpétrer le souvenir du passé et le valoriser. Des espaces muséographiques ont été patiemment constitués à cette fin.
Certains ont un caractère général, comme le Musée du Ponant, et deviennent ainsi des étapes incontournables. D'autres sont spécialisés dans la surveillance maritime, un manoir particulier, une abbaye, un naufrage, le sauvetage en mer, la mémoire nationale, même, de tous les marins péris en mer, l'exploitation des algues ou la découverte des profondeurs d'un Parc naturel marin. Cette liste n'est pas limitative car il existe aussi des expositions éphémères qu'il serait dommage de manquer. Le but de ce site, qui se complète petit à petit, est aussi de les signaler au public.



Situé en plein centre de St-Renan, le Musée du Ponant est le musée d'histoire et d'art populaire du Pays d'Iroise à visiter absolument. Ses collections, patiemment rassemblées et mises en vitrines par une équipe de bénévoles, concernent une quantité de domaines différents, mais témoignent de la passion de conserver, présenter et expliquer aux visiteurs de tous âges ce qui fait l'intérêt des racines de ce pays.







A Molène, le naufrage du Drummond Castle, voici plus d'un siècle, a tellement marqué les esprits qu'un petit musée y est totalement consacré. Sa visite est incontournable.







Au Conquet, c'est dans le local situé au-dessus de la Capitainerie du port que le Parc naturel marin d'Iroise a choisi de faire connaître les secrets de l'étendue marine baignant nos côtes. Un monde nouveau étonnant s'offre à qui en pousse la porte.







A Lanildut, 1er port goémonier d'Europe, les touristes voient sur le port décharger des tonnes d'algues dans des semi-remorques tandis qu'à quelques pas tout est mis en œuvre pour leur apporter les renseignements qu'ils désirent. La Maison de l'Algue est là pour tout vous expliquer sur les algues récoltées et leur intérêt pour notre économie.







Sur la commune de Plougonelin, à 500 m de la pointe St-Mathieu, vient de s'ouvrir un extraordinaire musée consacré à la guerre 1939-1945 dans notre région. Son originalité ? Toutes ses vitrines, toutes ses présentations sont exposées à l'intérieur du labyrinthe de couloirs de béton et de plates-formes formant l'ancien poste de commandement de tir de la plus puissante batterie allemande de tout l'ouest de la Bretagne. Une visite culturelle autant qu'un lieu de mémoire à ne pas manquer.






Découvrez toutes ces expositions qui ont été constituées à votre intention.