Back to home pageFrench    German    






The Memory Museum 39-45

( Municipality of Plougonvelin)



The tour has 5 levels.
Only one is accessible at ground level for people with reduced mobility.


GPS : 48°20'07.5 N   4°45'45.2 W





We can see them from afar, these large concrete platforms dating from the last World War. They were built in July 1940 by the occupier and were part of a vast defensive system designed to prevent Allied ships from entering the port of Brest. Here, in Kéromnès, in a huge bunker, it is the battery's fire command post Graf Spee1 which extended from Kéringar to the coast. The most formidable German battery in all of western Brittany, occupying 22 hectares, and of which Kéromnès was the centre. The remains of this post, which are still in good condition, have recently been transformed into a museum. And not just any one : a museographic success in an exceptional concrete labyrinth !

Access : The "Mémoires 39-45" museum is located on the D 85 road between Le Conquet and Plougonvelin, 500 m after Pointe St-Mathieu, in the direction of Plougonvelin. A large parking lot allows all types of vehicles to park.

Open daily from April 1st to November 11th from 10 am to 6.30 pm, and from 10 am to 6 pm during the Christmas and winter holidays except on public holidays.
Entrance : Adults : 7,50 €   Children : 5,50 €   Groups : 6,50 €
Individual annual pass : 20 €
Phone : 02 29 02 84 56



The Kéromnès firing command post in September 1944
Fragment of the model exhibited in the museum



Verteidigungsbereich Marine Küsten Batterie GRAF SPEE
Kriegsmarine Coastal Defensive Complex Graf Spee



  After entering the large car park, visitors must pass between two former concrete gatehouses that are sure to intrigue them. They were not part of the site but came from Brest where they kept access to an anti-aircraft battery near the Arsenal. Each has three loopholes through which the sentinel, well protected by an enormous thickness of concrete, could repel an attack. Forgotten among rubble, they were recovered a few weeks before the museum opened.



  Similarly, on the lawn, there is a real 1944 landing craft. We can imagine the soldiers crammed together and hidden at the bottom in order to shelter from the shots behind the thick metal hull before being washed up on the beach.



  As soon as you enter the reception room, a first window gives an overview of the richness of the military elements displayed below. These are collectibles worthy of a Prévert style inventory from the various armies that fought in the West.



  As soon as the visitor has left the ticket office, he sinks into the depths of this super-bunker. It reaches the lower level, type M151, reserved for the German garrison cantonment of this command post. A sign reminds us of the motto: "Five minutes before the hour, it's the soldier's punctuality".



  Several bedrooms are located in this basement. But we don't just see empty bunks : models dressed in uniforms are there, in scenes of daily life of the most impressive effect. One of them shaves in front of a long sink, others play cards. Thanks to a host of accessories from the time, this concrete universe seems to come alive and already transmits to the visitor humanitarian values that are independent of the colour of the uniform.



The next two floors were devoted to the sleeping quarters of the officers, the technical rooms and the rooms for calculating firing coordinates. Today, we discover large display cases where models dressed in various allied uniforms or civilian clothing take part in scenes of occupation, parachuting, the Resistance, or passive defence.




A Resistance fighter welcomes an allied fighter who has just been parachuted in

  Panels explain to visitors the power of the Keringar battery, whose 4 main 280 mm SKL 40 guns were capable of firing 240 kg shells from a distance of 30 km. Normally, 250 soldiers served it. However, during shooting exercises, it had accommodate hundreds of others from different batteries. Its multiple blockhouses and barracks were spread along the coast as well as inland.


Plan of the Keringar battery according to Jo Gentil:
"1940-1944 La Résistance dans le canton de St-Renan", Ed. Delpresse, 1994.


However, what interests the inhabitants of the region most are the many testimonies, anecdotes and short stories collected from witnesses, most of whom have now disappeared. Various facts, but also letters from prisoners, executions of civilians for acts of resistance, while under Pétain's regime the population was urged to side with the german occupier.





  A passive defence shelter has even been reconstructed. You have to enter the interior to live, sitting in a cellar among jaded inhabitants, and for twelve long minutes, on 112th bombing the city of Brest. A memorable moment, in sound and light, not to be missed.



The tour continues in the top two floors, which enjoy a magnificent panoramic view. We learn of the quite exceptional circumstances in which this position, which was said to be impregnable, fell on September 9, 1944 with the help of the Maquis in the hands of the G.I. of the 2nd and 5th American Rangers. ( click here for more informations on the Kergoff Maquis ). The extraordinary victory of a small patrol of four foolhardy men, including the leader, Bob Edlin, with a detonated grenade in his hand, won the unconditional surrender of the entire Graf Spee battery, which was about 800 men strong.


With a grenade in his hand, Rangers Lieutenant Bob Edlin
obtains from Colonel Fürst the surrender of the powerful Graf Spee battery.


  A large rangefinder occupies the last room after which one can climb onto the terrace to contemplate the panorama.
And it is understandable why, with such a view of the Iroise Sea at over 180°, the German occupier was so keen to maintain and strengthen this incredible position.

Leaving this terrace, the visitor meets a 40 mm anti-aircraft allied gun whose plates indicate the date of construction. It is undoubtedly the only one in the whole of the Pays d'Iroise that is still in good condition. ( follow here a itinerary to visit the canons of Iroise ).


-1- The name "Graf Spee" comes from the name of the German battleship Admiral Graf Spee. This ship had preferred to scuttle in December 1939 in Montevideo rather than surrender to the British fleet. The four 280mm guns of the Keringar battery came from the battery at Fort Graf Spee, Germany, on the Isle of Wangerooge, not far from Wilhemshaven.

***



READ MORE




R.Heinz Zimmermann.Munich.1999.


Marcia Moen & Margo Heinen
Meadowlark Publishing. 2002.



Colonel Robert W. Black.
Stackpole Military History Series. 2013.





Jean CHEVILLOTTE


Alain LE BERRE
in "39-45 Magazine" n°43



J.ANDRE & JF CONQ.
Ed. Le Télégramme



Patrick ANDERSEN BÔ.
Ed. Ouest-France



Alain FLOC'H & Christian LE CORRE.
Ed. Ouest-France



Christian BOUGEARD.
Ed. Gisserot



Mister KIT & Serge SAINT-MICHEL
OREP Editions
( comic strip)




QR code of this page :




Download this flashcode

Accueil



Le Musée "Mémoires 39-45"

( Commune de Plougonvelin )



La visite comporte 5 niveaux.
Un seul est accessible de plain-pied pour les personnes à mobilité réduite.


GPS: 48°20'07.5 N   4°45'45.2 W





On les aperçoit de loin, ces grandes plates-formes bétonnées datant de la dernière guerre mondiale. Elles ont été construites dès juillet 1940 par l'occupant et faisaient partie d'un vaste système défensif destiné à interdire aux navires alliés l'accès au port de Brest. Il s'agit ici, à Kéromnès, dans un énorme bunker, du poste de commandement de tir de la batterie "Graf Spee1" qui s'étendait de Kéringar jusqu'à la côte. La plus importante batterie allemande de tout l'ouest de la Bretagne, occupant 22 hectares, et dont Kéromnès était le centre. Les vestiges encore en bon état de ce poste ont été récemment transformés en musée. Et pas n'importe lequel : une réussite muséographique dans un exceptionnel labyrinthe de béton !

Accès : Le musée "Mémoires 39-45" est situé sur la D 85 entre Le Conquet et Plougonvelin, 500 m après la pointe St-Mathieu, dans la direction de Plougonvelin. Un grand parking permet à tous les types de véhicules de stationner.

Ouvert tous les jours du 27 mai au 11 novembre, de 10 h à 18 h 30.
Entrée : Adultes 7,50 €   Enfants : 5,50 €   Groupes : 6,50 €
Téléphone : 02 29 02 84 56



Le poste de commandement de tir de Kéromnès en septembre 1944. Fragment de la maquette exposée au musée


Verteidigungsbereich Marine Küsten Batterie GRAF SPEE
Ensemble défensif côtier de la Marine "Graf Spee"



  Après son entrée dans le vaste parking, le visiteur doit passer entre deux anciennes guérites de béton qui ne manquent pas de l'intriguer. Elles ne faisaient pas partie du site mais proviennent de Brest où elles gardaient l'accès à une batterie anti-aérienne proche de l'Arsenal. Chacune est dotée de trois meurtrières par lesquelles la sentinelle, bien abritée par une énorme épaisseur de béton, pouvait repousser une attaque. Oubliées parmi des gravats, elles ont été récupérées quelques semaines avant l'ouverture du musée.



  A peine le visiteur a-t-il quitté la billetterie qu'il s'enfonce dans les profondeurs de ce super-bunker. Il accède au niveau inférieur, de type M151, réservé au cantonnement de la garnison allemande de ce poste de commandement. Un panneau rappelle la devise : "Cinq minutes avant l'heure, c'est la ponctualité du soldat".



  Plusieurs chambrées sont aménagées dans ce sous-sol. Mais on ne se contente pas de voir des couchettes vides : des mannequins habillés d'uniformes sont là, dans des scènes de la vie quotidienne du plus impressionnant effet. L'un d'eux se rase devant un long lavabo, d'autres jouent aux cartes. Grâce à une foule d'accessoires de l'époque, cet univers de béton semble s'animer et transmet déjà au visiteur des valeurs humanitaires indépendantes de la couleur de l'uniforme.



Les deux étages suivants étaient consacrés au couchage des gradés, aux locaux techniques et aux salles de calcul des coordonnées de tir. On y découvre aujourd'hui de grandes vitrines où des mannequins habillés de divers uniformes alliés ou de vêtements civils participent à des scènes de l'occupation, de parachutage, de la Résistance, ou de la défense passive.




Un Résistant accueille un combattant allié venant d'être parachuté

 Des panneaux expliquent aux visiteurs la puissance de la batterie de Kéringar dont les 4 canons principaux SKL 40 de 280 mm étaient capables de tirer des obus de 240 kg à une distance de 30 km. En temps normal, 250 soldats la servaient. Cependant, lors des exercices de tir, elle pouvait en accueillir des centaines d'autres qui provenaient de différentes batteries. Ses multiples blockhaus et ses casernements étaient répartis aussi bien le long de la côte qu'à l'intérieur des terres.


Plan de la batterie de Kéringar d'après Jo Gentil
"1940-1944 La Résistance dans le canton de St-Renan", Ed. Delpresse, 1994.


Toutefois, ce qui intéresse le plus les habitants de la région, ce sont les nombreux témoignages, les anecdotes, les petites histoires recueillies auprès de témoins pour la plupart aujourd'hui disparus. Des faits divers, mais aussi des lettres de prisonniers, des exécutions de civils pour faits de résistance, tandis que sous le régime de Pétain on exhortait la population à se ranger du côté de l'occupant.





 Un abri de la Défense Passive a même été reconstitué. Il faut pénétrer à l'intérieur pour vivre, assis dans une cave parmi des habitants blasés, et pendant douze longues minutes, le 112e bombardement de la ville de Brest. Un moment mémorable, en son et lumière, à ne pas manquer.



La visite se poursuit dans les deux derniers étages qui jouissent d'un magnifique panorama. On y prend connaissance des circonstances tout à fait exceptionnelles dans desquelles cette position que l'on disait imprenable tomba le 9 septembre 1944 avec l'aide des maquisards aux mains des G.I. des 2e et 5e Rangers américains. L'extraordinaire victoire d'une petite patrouille de 4 hommes d'une folle témérité, dont le chef, Bob Edlin, une grenade dégoupillée à la main, obtint la reddition sans condition de toute la batterie Graf Spee, alors qu'elle était forte d'environ 800 hommes.


Une grenade à la main, le lieutenant de Rangers Bob Edlin
obtient du colonel Fürst la reddition de la puissante batterie Graf Spee.


 Un grand télémètre occupe la dernière salle après laquelle on peut monter sur la terrasse contempler le panorama.
Et l'on comprend pourquoi avec une telle vue à plus de 180° sur la mer d'Iroise, l'occupant allemand tenait tant à conserver et à fortifier cette incroyable position.

En quittant cette terrasse, le visiteur côtoie un canon allié antiaérien de 40 mm dont les plaques indiquent la date de construction. C'est sans doute le seul, dans tout le Pays d'Iroise, à être encore en bon état. Vous le découvrirez en suivant le parcours indiqué sur notre page Les canons d'Iroise où il figure avec d'autres, hélas moins bien conservés, mais très surprenants.


-1- Le nom "Graf Spee" vient de celui du cuirassé allemand "Admiral Graf Spee". Ce navire avait préféré se saborder en décembre 1939 à Montevideo plutôt que de se rendre à la flotte britannique. Les 4 canons de 280mm de la batterie de Keringar provenaient de la batterie du fort "Graf Spee", en Allemagne, sur l'île de Wangerooge, non loin de Wilhemshaven.

***



EN SAVOIR PLUS




par R.Heinz Zimmermann.Munich.1999.


par Marcia Moen et Margo Heinen
Meadowlark Publishing. 2002.



par le Colonel Robert W. Black.
Stackpole Military History Series. 2013.





par Jean CHEVILLOTTE


par Alain LE BERRE
in "39-45 Magazine" n°43



par J.ANDRE et JF CONQ.
Ed. Le Télégramme



par Patrick ANDERSEN BÔ.
Ed. Ouest-France



par Alain FLOC'H et Christian LE CORRE.
Ed. Ouest-France



par Christian BOUGEARD.
Ed. Gisserot



Une BD par Mister KIT et Serge SAINT-MICHEL
OREP Editions




QR code de cette page :


***

Patrimoine militaire du Pays d'Iroise

Retour à l'accueil

Plan du site