Back to home pageFrench German 



The Kergoff Maquis

( Municipality of Tréouergat)




Parking GPS :
48°29'47.2 N 4°35'49.4 W





This commemorative stele which borders the road connecting Guipronvel to Tréouergat does not attract the eye. Yet it is one of the few testimonies to the violent fighting that took place in 1944 in the region during the Liberation. Because it is very close to there, in the woods and fields of Kergoff, that one of the most important maquis of Finistère was formed, gathering about 1200 fighters.

Access : From St-Renan, take the direction of Ploudalméseau. 2 km after crossing Lanrivoaré, turn right onto a small road until you reach the village of Tréouergat. Go around the church and follow the direction of Guipronvel. Located at the junction of a small road, the stele is 500 m on the right side.
If you follow this small road, you will reach, 2 km further on, the old Kergoff farmhouse, which has now been completely renovated.

GPS : 48°21'7.8 N 4°46'38.1 W



A formidable maquis

The military port of Brest, the banks of the Brest Channel and the entire coast of the Iroise Sea were densely fortified by the Germans during the Occupation. After the landing on June 6, 1944, this entire area was an important objective for American troops. But they needed help and called on the networks of local Resistance fighters.
Under the direction of the notary of Ploudalmézeau Henri Provostic, known as "Benoît", and the gendarme Joseph Grannec, known as "Joseph 351", a battalion of Maquis had been formed, constantly growing following the appeal for a general insurrection on August 3. He gathered volunteers from all over the region and was in contact with American troops...


A Resistance fighter collects intelligence
and transmits it to the Allies by radio.
Historical reconstruction presented
at the "Musée Mémoires-39-45" in Plougonvelin ( museum visit ).


In total, during the summer of 1944, 1074 men and women gathered at the Kergoff farm and its immediate surroundings, in the middle of nature, sheltered by thick woods far from the coast and important roads. A company of Russian Osttruppen1 soldiers, deserting the German army that had forcibly recruited them, joined the battalion on 8 August, bringing the total number of fighters to over 1200. They brought with them their individual weapons and ammunition, as well as about ten mortars and three 37 mm cannons.

In his book "1940-1944, La Résistance dans le canton de Saint-Renan" (cover photo below), its author Jo Gentil describes the members of the maquis of Tréouergat, when, in the morning of 17 August 1944, his Plouzané's group joins them :

"The show in Kergoff surprises them. Indeed, a thousand men are gathered in the courtyard and buildings of the farm.
Des véhicules de tous types, marqués des trois couleurs et de l'enseigne FFI2 avec la croix de Lorraine sont garés dans le champ voisin. The Resistance fighters, dressed in disparate uniforms or a work uniform, all wear the FFI standard armband. They are busy, checking their weapons or making morning coffee.
Closer, in a corner of the courtyard, two Resistance fighters, machine guns in hand, watch a group of hair shaved women, guilty of collaborating with the Germans. Not far from there, in a large shaded meadow, a company of Russians from Ukraine, rallied to the FFI thanks to the action of Madame Douillard, wife of an Admiral retired to Argenton, herself of Russian origin, made her horses drink from the stream below."


Several tons of weapons had already been parachuted into the Kergoff Maquis on August 2 by the Americans. Joining the other FFI units in Finistère, and alongside the 29th American infantry division and the 2dRangers battalion, these shadow fighters participated in all the fighting on the Atlantic Wall, from Aber Benoît to Brest, where the thousands of occupants of German fortifications had to be dislodged. The enemy was further reinforced by the arrival in Brest on 12 August of the 2dparachute division of the German General Ramcke who had fought in Libya in Marshal Rommel's Afrika Korps and who took over command of the entire garrison. Its experienced troops, under Hitler's order, defended Brest fiercely for 40 days until the final surrender on September 18.
The courage, enthusiasm and self-sacrifice of the Resistance Fighters were not without risks and many of them, whom the stele honours, lost their lives in battle or were deported. Gabriel Bizien, for example, an FFI agent with the "Quand Même" network in Ploudalmézeau, was arrested on August 6, tortured horribly and died in deportation, his eyes pierced by the Nazis.

The inscriptions on the stele



Some of the inscriptions on the stele have become barely legible. Here is their reading :



Later, a horizontal slab, also engraved, was layed. It is easier to read : "To our comrades killed in action or killed in deportation. FFI Ploudalmézeau, FFI St-Renan, in memoriam"
The names of :
G. BIZIEN, died for France on August 6, 1944, Charles JOURDE deported on July 9, 1943, and the inscription 1944 - 1994 indicating that the slab was deposited during the fiftieth anniversary of the Liberation.



The commemoration

What about the memory of these fights today?
As time goes by, it must be noted that the memory is fading.
The memory was obviously very vivid in the years following the Liberation. The population was grateful to the Resistance fighters who had joined the Americans in large numbers to participate in the coastal fighting and the siege of Brest. Those who had driven the occupier away remembered those exceptional days and their fallen comrades-in-arms.

But time has passed, the former Resistance fighters and all those who have experienced the horrors of the Occupation have become fewer and fewer. The following generations could not have such a vivid memory. The commemorations of the battles of this period are currently the duty of remembrance of Veterans' associations whose oldest members were still children at that time. During the ceremonies, under the hats and caps, white hair dominates...


The commemoration of 30 July 2017 in Tréouergat





  That the memory fades, even if it is regrettable, is a natural evolution. It is the mark of time and the progressive change of a past in History. Facts no longer belong to everyone's memories, but to knowledge and erudition. Researchers and historians have focused and will continue to focus on making these exceptional moments known through new publications. But they will need archives. It is now these documents, whatever they may be, that constitute our heritage to preserve.
The woods of Kergoff and the stele of the Maquis of Tréouergat, with all its touching inscriptions, are now part of it.



-1- The "Osttruppen", or troops from the East, were substitute soldiers who had fought the Germans on the Russian front. Taken prisoner, they had only obtained their lives saved if they served Germany on another front. Stationed in Saint-Pabu, Captain Vladimir Razoumovitch's 164 men joined the Resistance in Treouergat thanks to the negotiations undertaken by Nathalie Douillard, née Ouvarov (1911-2000), a Russian aristocrat who had taken refuge in Argenton since the Soviet Revolution.
After the Liberation, and in accordance with the Yalta agreements, the Russians of the Osttruppen were regrouped in Rennes and then delivered to Stalin by the Americans. It is not known what happened to them, and whether a sorting was made between those who had served the enemy to the end and those who had joined the Resistance. But it is likely that, all having betrayed their homeland, they were either executed or deported to the gulags.

-2- FFI: Forces Françaises de l'Intérieur.


Thanks to Jos Saliou, President of the "Musée du Ponant" of St-Renan for his loan of documents.

Yannick Loukianoff


***

READ MORE




Jacques ANDRE, impr. Le Grand, Brest 2003, 360p



Jo Gentil 2013
Ed. Delpresse, 1994, 118p




Jacques ANDRE & Jean-François CONQ
Ed. Le Télégramme, 2002, 192p



Hervé FARRANT. 2013
Ed. Label LN, 2012, 112p





QR code of this page :




Download this flashcode

Accueil

Le Maquis de Kergoff

( Commune de Tréouergat )




GPS du stationnement :
48°29'47.2 N 4°35'49.4 W





Cette stèle commémorative qui borde la route joignant Guipronvel à Tréouergat n'attire pas spécialement le regard. Elle est pourtant l'un des rares témoignages des violents combats qui se sont déroulés en 1944 dans la région, au moment de la Libération. Car c'est tout près de là, dans les bois et les champs de Kergoff, que s'est constitué l'un des plus importants maquis du Finistère, rassemblant pas moins de 1200 combattants.

Accès : A partir de St-Renan, prendre la direction de Ploudalméseau. 2 km après avoir traversé Lanrivoaré, prendre à droite une petite route jusqu'au bourg de Tréouergat. Contourner l'église et prendre la direction de Guipronvel. Située à la jonction d'une petite route la stèle se trouve à 500 m sur le côté droit.
Si l'on suit la petite route, on aboutit, 2 km plus loin, à l'ancienne ferme de Kergoff aujourd'hui complètement rénovée.

GPS : 48°21'7.8 N 4°46'38.1 W



Un formidable maquis

Le port militaire de Brest, les rives du Goulet et tout le littoral de la mer d'Iroise étaient densément fortifiés par les Allemands pendant l'Occupation. Après le débarquement du 6 juin 1944, toute cette zone a constitué un objectif important pour les troupes américaines. Mais elles avaient besoin d'aide et ont fait appel aux réseaux de Résistants locaux.
Sous la direction du notaire de Ploudalmézeau Henri Provostic, dit "Benoît", et du gendarme Joseph Grannec, dit "Joseph 351", un bataillon de maquisards s'était constitué, grossissant sans cesse à la suite de l'appel à l'insurrection générale du 3 août. Il réunissait des volontaires originaires de toute la région et était en liaison avec les troupes américaines..


Un Résistant recueille des renseignements pour les transmettre par radio aux Alliés.
Reconstitution présentée au Musée "Mémoires-39-45" de Plougonvelin.


Au total, pendant l'été 1944, on a compté 1074 hommes et femmes regroupés à la ferme de Kergoff et aux alentours immédiats, en pleine nature, abrités par les bois épais et éloignés du littoral ainsi que des routes importantes. Une compagnie de soldats russes des Osttruppen1, désertant l'armée allemande qui les avait enrôlés de force, s'est jointe au bataillon le 8 août, portant ainsi l'effectif total des combattants à plus de 1200. Ils apportaient avec eux leurs armes individuelles et leurs munitions, ainsi qu'une dizaine de mortiers et trois canons de 37 mm.

Dans son ouvrage "1940-1944, La Résistance dans le canton de Saint-Renan" ( ( photo de couverture ci-dessous ), son auteur Jo Gentil décrit ainsi le maquis de Tréouergat lorsqu'au matin du 17 août 1944 les Résistants de son groupe originaire de Plouzané le rejoignent :

Le spectacle à Kergoff les surprend. En effet, un millier d'hommes sont rassemblés dans la cour et les bâtiments de la ferme.
Des véhicules de tous types, marqués des trois couleurs et de l'enseigne FFI
2 avec la croix de Lorraine sont garés dans le champ voisin. Les Résistants, revêtus d'uniformes disparates ou d'un bleu de travail, portent tous le brassard FFI réglementaire. Ils s'affairent, vérifiant leurs armes ou préparant le café du matin.
Plus près, dans un coin de la cour, deux Résistants, mitraillette au poing, surveillent un groupe de femmes tondues, coupables d'avoir "collaboré" avec les Allemands. Non loin de là, dans un grand pré ombragé, une compagnie de Russes d'Ukraine, ralliés aux FFI grâce à l'action de Madame Douillard, épouse d'un Amiral en retraite à Argenton, elle-même d'origine russe, fait boire ses chevaux dans le ruisseau en contrebas."


Plusieurs tonnes d'armes avaient déjà été parachutées aux maquisards de Kergoff le 2 août par les Américains. Se joignant aux autres unités FFI du Finistère, et aux côtés de la 29e division d'infanterie américaine ainsi que du 2e bataillon de Rangers, ces combattants de l'ombre participèrent à tous les combats du mur de l'Atlantique, depuis l'Aber Benoît jusqu'à Brest, où il fallait déloger les milliers d'occupants des fortifications allemandes. L'ennemi était, de plus, renforcé par l'arrivée à Brest le 12 août de la 2e division parachutiste du général allemand Ramcke qui avait combattu en Libye dans l'Afrika Korps du maréchal Rommel et qui prit en charge le commandement de toute la garnison. Ses troupes aguerries, sur l'ordre d'Hitler, défendirent Brest avec acharnement pendant 40 jours jusqu'à la capitulation finale le 18 septembre.
Le courage, l'enthousiasme et l'abnégation des maquisards n'étaient pas sans risques et plusieurs d'entre eux, que la stèle honore, ont perdu la vie au combat ou furent déportés. Gabriel Bizien par exemple, agent FFI du réseau "Quand Même" sur Ploudalmézeau, fut arrêté le 6 août, torturé atrocement et mourut en déportation, les yeux crevés par les nazis.

Les inscriptions de la stèle



Certaines inscriptions de la stèle sont devenues à peine lisibles. Voici leur lecture :



Plus tard, une dalle horizontale, gravée elle aussi, a été déposée. Sa lecture est plus facile : "A nos camarades tués au combat ou morts en déportation. FFI Ploudalmézeau, FFI St-Renan, in memoriam"
Suivent les noms de :
G. BIZIEN, mort pour la France le 6 août 1944, Charles JOURDE déporté le 9 juillet 1943, et l'inscription 1944 - 1994 indiquant que la dalle a été déposée lors du cinquantenaire de la Libération.



La commémoration

Qu'en est-il, aujourd'hui, du souvenir de ces combats ?
Au fur et à mesure que le temps passe, il faut bien constater que la mémoire s'estompe.
Le souvenir fut évidemment très vivace dans les années qui ont suivi la Libération. La population était reconnaissante aux Résistants qui s'étaient joints, nombreux, aux Américains pour participer aux combats du littoral et au siège de Brest. Ceux qui avaient chassé l'occupant se souvenaient de ces jours exceptionnels ainsi que de leurs compagnons d'armes disparus.

Mais le temps a passé, les anciens Résistants et tous ceux qui ont connu les affres de l'Occupation sont devenus de moins en moins nombreux. Les générations suivantes ne pouvaient pas entretenir un souvenir aussi vif. Les commémorations des combats de cette période sont actuellement le devoir de mémoire des associations d'Anciens Combattants dont les membres les plus âgés étaient encore enfants à cette époque. Lors des cérémonies, sous les calots et les casquettes, les cheveux blancs dominent...


La commémoration du 30 juillet 2017 à Tréouergat





  Que le souvenir s'estompe, même si l'on peut le regretter, constitue une évolution naturelle. C'est la marque du temps et du basculement progressif d'un passé dans l'Histoire. Les faits n'appartiennent plus aux souvenirs de chacun, mais au savoir, à la connaissance et à l'érudition. Chercheurs et historiens se sont attachés et s'attacheront encore à faire connaître ces moments exceptionnels grâce à de nouvelles publications. Mais ils auront besoin d'archives. Ce sont maintenant ces documents, quels qu'ils soient, qui constituent notre patrimoine à préserver.
Les bois de Kergoff et la stèle du maquis de Tréouergat, avec toutes ses émouvantes inscriptions, en font aujourd'hui partie.



-1- Les "Osttruppen", ou troupes de l'Est, étaient des supplétifs de la Wehrmacht qui avaient combattu les Allemands sur le front russe. Faits prisonniers, ils n'avaient obtenu la vie sauve qu'à la condition de servir l'Allemagne sur un autre front. Cantonnés à Saint-Pabu, les 164 hommes du capitaine Vladimir Razoumovitch ont rejoint les Résistants de Tréouergat grâce aux tractations entreprises par Nathalie Douillard, née Ouvarov (1911-2000), une aristocrate russe réfugiée à Argenton depuis la Révolution soviétique.
Après la Libération, et conformément aux accords de Yalta, les Russes des Osttruppen furent regroupés à Rennes puis livrés à Staline par les Américains. On ignore ce qu'ils sont devenus, et si un tri a été fait entre ceux qui avaient servi l'ennemi jusqu'à la fin et ceux qui s'étaient ralliés à la Résistance. Mais il est vraisemblable que, tous ayant trahi leur patrie, ils furent soit exécutés, soit déportés dans les goulags.


-2- FFI : Forces Françaises de l'Intérieur.


Merci à Jos Saliou, Président du Musée du Ponant de St-Renan pour son prêt de documents.

Yannick Loukianoff


***

EN SAVOIR PLUS




par Jacques ANDRE, impr. Le Grand, Brest 2003, 360p



par Jo Gentil 2013
Ed. Delpresse, 1994, 118p




par Jacques ANDRE et Jean-François CONQ
Ed. Le Télégramme, 2002, 192p



par Hervé FARRANT. 2013
Ed. Label LN, 2012, 112p





QR code de cette page :


***

Patrimoine militaire du Pays d'Iroise

Retour à l'accueil

Plan du site