Back to home pageFrench    German    Spanish    



The retting pool of Lanhalla

(Municipality of Plouarzel)








Retting is an operation involved in the treatment of flax. It is called 'rouissage' in french and the basin used for retting is named 'rouissoir'. The word 'poullin' (or poul-lin) in Breton is more expressive because it means 'flax pool'. The one of Lanhalla is signposted and an interpretation panel has been installed by the Community of Municipalities with the help of the association Tre Arzh of Plouarzel.


Conception: Com1nom@de et Jézéquel Publicité 2015

Access : From Plouarzel, follow the D28 road towards Brélès. At 3.5 km from the village, turn right ('Lanhalla' signs). Go past the dovecote on the left and park along the wide path that leads right to the retting pool located a hundred meters away.

Parking GPS : 48°27'28.9 N 4°43'50.8 W

  At first glance, you may mistake this large basin for a lavoir. It was completely buried in the vegetation, but it has been cleared by the members of the association Tre Arzh. However it does not have any paved perimeter intended for possible washerwomen. It is only a basin surrounded by a low wall made of large stones.



   A natural source feeds it and we can see that a simple stone lock makes it possible to control the level of the water.





To understand the interest of this basin, it is necessary to know that during centuries the culture of flax was very widespread in Brittany. Among all the textile plants in the world, this plant is the first that has been exploited by man. After treatment, its stems provide thread to make canvas (especially to make the sails of boats) and tissue, tow and stuffing. Its crushed seeds give oil used in soap factories and to make paint. Until synthetic textiles dethroned it, flax covered Brittany with a beautiful blue colour when it was in bloom for only a few days in June.



   At the end of August, the stems having reached 60 cm to 1 m become dry. They are then cut and spread on the ground so that they absorb moisture and the micro-organisms begin to detach the fibres. This process can also be accelerated by soaking the stems in water for a few days. This requires a large basin, the 'rouissoir'.



  After staying in this pool, the flax was scutched to separate the fibres from the wood. Depending on the length of the stems, the yarn obtained was used to produce thread for weaving sails and bedsheets, or to make oakum for paper pulp or caulking the hull of boats. 1 hectare of cultivation can yield 30 quintals of yarn and 15 quintals of seeds.

Today, even though flax cultivation is growing slightly, there is no longer any use of retting pools in the countryside. Lanhalla's is therefore a testimony to an activity that was, without pun intended, particularly flourishing and which must not be forgotten.

Yannick Loukianoff


READ MORE



One can find very detailed information on flax, its cultivation and its various transformations by consulting the Wikipedia site which devoted a whole study to it.

QR code of this page :



Download this flashcode

Accueil

Le rouissoir, ou poullin, de Lanhalla

( Commune de Plouarzel )








Le terme de "rouissoir" vient du verbe rouir, une opération intervenant dans le traitement du lin. Le mot "poullin" ( ou poul-lin ) en breton est plus expressif puisqu'il veut dire "bassin à lin". Celui de Lanhalla fait l'objet d'un fléchage ainsi que d'un panneau d'interprétation installé par la Communauté de communes grâce au concours de l'association Tre Arzh de Plouarzel


Conception: Com1nom@de et Jézéquel Publicité 2015

Accès : A partir de Plouarzel, suivre la D28 en direction de Brélès. A 3,5 km du bourg, tourner à droite ( fléchage Lanhalla ). Dépasser le colombier que l'on voit sur la gauche et stationner en bordure du large chemin qui mène, à droite, au rouissoir situé à une centaine de mètres.

GPS du stationnement : 48°27'28.9 N 4°43'50.8 W

  Au premier abord, on peut prendre ce grand bassin pour un lavoir. Enfoui complètement dans la végétation, il a été défriché par les adhérents de l'association Tre Arzh. Cependant il ne dispose d'aucun pourtour dallé destiné à d'éventuelles lavandières. Ce n'est qu'un bassin entouré d'un muret constitué de grosses pierres.



  Une source naturelle l'alimente et on peut observer qu'une vanne rudimentaire constituée d'une pierre permet de contrôler le niveau de l'eau.





Pour comprendre l'intérêt de ce bassin, il faut savoir que pendant des siècles la culture du lin était très répandue en Bretagne. Parmi toutes les plantes textiles du monde, cette plante est la première qui ait été exploitée par l'homme. Ses tiges, après traitement, fournissent du fil pour fabriquer de la toile et du tissu, de la filasse et de l'étoupe, tandis que ses graines écrasées donnent de l'huile utilisée dans les savonneries et pour confectionner les peintures. Jusqu'à ce que les textiles synthétiques le détrônent, le lin couvrait la Bretagne d'une belle couleur bleue lorsqu'il était en fleur pendant quelques jours seulement au mois de juin.



  A la fin août, les tiges ayant atteint de 60 cm à 1m deviennent sèches. On les coupe alors et on les étend sur le sol afin qu'elles s'imprègnent d'humidité et que les micro-organismes commencent à en détacher les fibres. On peut aussi accélérer ce processus en faisant tremper quelques jours les tiges dans l'eau. Cela nécessite de disposer d'un grand bassin, le rouissoir.



 Après avoir séjourné dans ce poullin, le lin subissait le teillage pour séparer les fibres du bois. Selon la longueur des tiges on obtenait alors la filasse destinée à la production de fil pour tisser les voiles et les draps, ou l'étoupe utilisée pour faire de la pâte à papier ou encore pour calfater la coque des bateaux. 1 hectare de culture peut donner 30 quintaux de filasse et 15 quintaux de graines.

Aujourd'hui, même si la culture du lin connaît une légère progression, on n'utilise plus de rouissoirs dans la campagne. Celui de Lanhalla est donc un témoignage d'une activité qui fut, sans jeu de mots, particulièrement florissante et qui ne doit pas être oubliée.

Yannick Loukianoff

EN SAVOIR PLUS



On peut trouver des informations très détaillées sur le lin, sa culture et ses différentes transformations en consultant le site Wikipédia qui y a consacré toute une étude.

QR code de cette page :



Télécharger ce flashcode

Patrimoine civil du Pays d'Iroise

Retour à l'accueil

Plan du site