Back to home pageFrench    German    Spanish    



The last menhirs of Kermorvan


Commune du Conquet





GPS of the isthmus car park :   48°21'50 N  4°46'31W






The peninsula of Kermorvan

The headland of Kermorvan, at Le Conquet, was in Neolithic times a hill with steep slopes overhanging undoubtedly meadows and swamps. Its configuration with two narrowed parts, now isthms, made it a particularly easy site to occupy and defend. With the rise in sea level, the value of this strategic position has further increased and it should come as no surprise that many prehistoric remains, megaliths and tombs of the Bronze Age, are adjacent with remains of military fortifications from all eras, up to the bunkers of the Second World War, having considerably upset the landscape.

Access :   Coming from Brest or Le Conquet, take the road between the inner port of Le Conquet and the pond of Kerjan, direction St-Renan, Plouarzel. Turn left at the first crossroads towards Ploumoguer-Plouarzel. At the next crossroads, turn left towards the Kermorvan peninsula and the Blancs Sablons beach.
   Coming from St-Renan on the D67, 1 km before Le Conquet, turn right at the crossroads just after the restaurant "Le Charldann". At the next crossroads, turn left towards Blancs Sablons beach.
   Coming from Ploumoguer on the D28, turn right towards the Blancs Sablons beach at a crossroads located in a wide bend. Parking in the isthmus at the end of the road.



  Today, for summer visitors and weekend residents of Brest, the headland of Kermorvan is a must for swimmers, hikers, windsurfers and paragliders. A long beach and a still wild peninsula attract many tourists.
  This small peninsula that separates the port of Le Conquet from Blancs Sablons beach has seen the peoples of the Neolithic erect dozens of megaliths including several dolmens. One of them, some of whose pillars are decorated with cups and engravings, has even been the object of casts that are kept at the Museum of Prehistory in Penmarc'h.   Le musée de Penmarc'h



Drawing by Jean-Yves André©

  Unfortunately, not much remains today, as agriculture and the military defence of the coast have always prevailed over the conservation of a heritage considered obsolete. However, it should be noted that in the middle of the war, in 1916, Captain G. du Plessix, when digging fortifications, discovered a large slab engraved with a dagger coming out of its sheath in the moors near the present campsite. He reported this discovery to Commander Alfred Devoir, who was an archaeologist. Albert Devoir bought the stone from the owner of the land and gave it to the Museum of Prehistory in Penmarc'h where the engraved slab is still on display. 1


Map prepared by archaeologist Alfred Devoir in 1909
One will notice the important number of megaliths still counted.
Only numbers 1, 2, 10, 11, 15 and 16, still visible today, are described below.


   Today, the walker can only discover six megaliths : two menhirs in the moor at the place called Maison Blanche, east of the car park, then two others of small size along the coastal path along the port, and finally the two stones rescued from a cromlech located on either side of the small road reserved for pedestrians after the barrier.



WHITE HOUSE MENHIRS

-1- The WEST menhir

Access: From the isthmus car park, walk back on the asphalt road and turn left, opposite a pedestrian crossing, onto a path heading towards the sea, whose entrance is framed by two large rocks. A few metres to the right you can see a small menhir in the ferns.

  This stone, very discreet, is easily covered by vegetation. Its height is only 1.10 m while its width reaches 1.25 m for a thickness of 0.65 m. It has not been cut and consists of granodiorite from Fox Point.


The West Menhir of the White House, above seen by the slice
and below showing its south face.




-2- The EAST menhir



Access : Continue the path that leads to the GR34 along the Anse des Blancs Sablons. Turn right towards the beach. At about fifty meters, a breach on the right in the slope makes it possible to see in the south the top rather distant from the second menhir among the ferns. From the GR34, the access is difficult in winter when the faded vegetation is however laid down by wind and rain. It is not at all recommended to try to achieve this in another season: brambles, very high ferns and possible presence of vipers.

GPS : 48°21'53 N   4°46'07 W



  It is a 1.83 m high stone with a width of 1.70 m and a thickness of 1.10 m at the base. Not a giant, then, but a big menhir who possesses the rare talent, for such a monument, to know how to disguise itself in a few years to go completely unnoticed in the landscape. You would guess a megalith, you, under this lost ivy hairstyle in the middle of an inextricable entanglement of ferns and brambles?


The East menhir of the White House, south face, in autumn 2014


The East menhir of the White House, North Face

   After the hairdresser, the stone is a little more presentable. Emerging from a thick bed of ferns, it was part of a group of three menhirs a few tens of metres apart, described from the time when no construction still existed on the tevenn, the dune. Made of granodiorite from the Fox Point, in Le Conquet, it was not cut at all.



A third menhir?

   In a 1903 publication, P. du Chatellier reported a third menhir 0.90m high, about sixty metres west of the first, and practically aligned with the other two. This stone, not found since, is not reported by Alfred Devoir in 1909. So it disappeared between those two dates.


THE TWO SMALL MENHIRS OF THE PORT



Access :   From the isthmus car park, walk across the barrier and up the unpaved path that runs alongside the port. After this hill, a series of large rock outcrops dot the path. As soon as they stop, a deep depression can be seen on the left of the path, and on the right a small passage through the brambles and ferns towards an isolated tree. The first little menhir is there, a few meters from the path, hidden in the ferns.

-1- The EAST Menhir:

GPS : 48°21'47.5 N   4°46'43 W



  This first menhir does not exceed 1 m above ground for an equal width and a thickness of 0.30 m. As the terrain is sloping and the layer of ferns thick, it is likely that its buried part is more important.




Drawing by Jean-Yves André©

-2- The WEST menhir

GPS : 48°21'47.4 N   4°46'43.2 W



  The second menhir, only 6 m away, is located slightly higher and to the west on the slope. Its shape is triangular, its height reaches 1.10 m and its width at the base 1.45 m for a thickness of 0.30 m.




Drawing by Jean-Yves André©
Menhirs often come in pairs.
These two stoic sentinels monitor the port of Le Conquet
for thousands of years.


CROMLECH RESCAPES

Classified Historic Monuments October 22, 1913




Access :   Return to the parking lot of the isthmus.It is necessary to go up the small asphalt road, west of the barrier, leading to the lighthouse of Kermorvan. The two megaliths are only 200 m away.

GPS : 48°21'50 N   4°46'52.9 W



The menhir n°1 of the cromlech

  The first, photo and drawing below, in gneiss, is a little back on the left of the road. It can be reached quite easily from the first field entry on the left after the stone. Emerging from brush, it measures 2.5 m in height and its base is 1.70 x 0.57 m. It is the largest stone - thus the least easy to remove - of a circle of menhirs which included at least thirteen.


The menhir n°1 of the cromlech


The menhir n°1 of the cromlech
Drawing by Jean-Yves André©



The menhir n°2 of the cromlech

GPS : 48°21'50.4 N   4°46'55.6 W



  This second menhir, smaller but stocky, ( photo and drawing below) is a few steps further at the edge of a cultivated plot to the northwest of the road. Consisting of gneissic granodiorite, it measures 1.78 m in height and width, with a thickness of 0.82 m at the base.


The menhir n°2 of the cromlech


The second menhir of the cromlech.
Drawing by Jean-Yves André©


  For several years, at the beginning of the XXth century, this menhir was incorporated into a small construction dependent on a neighbouring disappeared farm, a kind of barn or shelter for farm animals, in dry stones, of which the megalith constituted a part of the gable.


The second menhir of the cromlech in 1909. Photo Alfred Devoir

  In fact these two menhirs of Kermorvan were part of a cromlech in the shape of an ellipse which included, according to the authors, 12 or 13 megaliths.



  A very free reconstruction of this cromlech was made in 2005 for the shooting of the TV film "Dolmen" on the Kermorvan peninsula. This decor was later dismantled.



  Captain Christophe-Paulin de la Poix, Chevalier de Fréminville, wrote in 1832 in " Antiquités du Finistère " :

..." I arrived at the sanctuary or Cromlec'h composed of twelve stones planted standing in the ground so as to form an elliptical enclosure one hundred eighty-five feet long by one hundred twenty feet in its widest width. The highest stons of this Cromlec'h is that of the eastern end : it has eight feet of elevation. Facing the west side and diametrically opposite is a stone six feet high; all the others are smaller. »

The foot corresponding in France to 0.324 m, the dimensions of this ellipse were about 60 x 39 m.

We often hear, at Le Conquet, that the cromlech was destroyed by the Germans during the Second World War to let through cannons intended for the defence of Kermorvan Point. There is obviously confusion since the author of the above quotation adds :

...« Such are the Druidic monuments of the peninsula of Kermorvan, or rather, such they were, for I was very sorry to know that they had recently been completely destroyed, and their stones deplanted, broken and cut to be used in modern constructions."

His book having been published in 1834, the destruction of the cromlech is thus located between 1832 and 1834 and it is french troops, at the time, which cleared a ground of a military area. The confusion comes from the fact that German troops destroyed other megaliths on the peninsula.


MISSING MEGALITHS


The menhir n°12 on Alfred Devoir's map established in 1909 has completely disappeared.
It must have been near the farm, south of the cromlech.


This menhir was separated from the cromlech by two large dolmens ( n°13 and n°14 on the map Devoir) classified since October 22, 1913.




One can imagine how much these monuments, cromlech, dolmens and menhirs could have constituted a prehistoric high place. This whole thing doesn't exist today.

The postcards of Le Conquet still show us other structures that have disappeared.









Preserved intact by all the generations during about fifty centuries - it is not nothing - these megaliths of Kermorvan did not resist the human unconsciousness since 150 years...

***

-1-G.du Plessix :
"Discovery of a carved stone in the Kermorvan's moors"
Bulletin de la Société Archéologique de Nantes, 1918, tome 58, p.3 à 11.



"Menhir" of the Tévenn of Kermorvan, classified historical monument,
currently on display inside the Museum of Prehistory in Penmarc'h.
The engraving in relief would represent a dagger leaving its sheath.
The stone, discovered lying down, could be a middle Neolithic menhir,
later re-used as a grave slab.


Yannick Loukianoff


***

QR code of this page


Download this flashcode

Accueil

Les derniers menhirs de Kermorvan


( Commune du Conquet )





GPS du parking de l'isthme : 48°21'50 N  4°46'31W






  La pointe de Kermorvan, au Conquet, était à l'époque néolithique une colline aux flancs abrupts surplombant sans doute prairies et marécages. Sa configuration avec deux parties resserrées, aujourd'hui des isthmes, en faisait un site particulièrement facile à occuper et à défendre. Avec la montée du niveau de la mer, cette positon stratégique s'est encore accrue et il ne faut pas s'étonner si de nombreux vestiges préhistoriques, mégalithes et tombes de l'âge du bronze, voisinent avec des restes de fortifications militaires de toutes les époques, jusqu'aux blockhaus de la Seconde guerre mondiale, ayant considérablement bouleversé le paysage.

Accès :  Venant de Brest ou du Conquet, prendre la route entre l'arrière-port du Conquet et l'étang de Kerjan, direction St-Renan, Plouarzel. Obliquer à gauche au premier carrefour en direction de Ploumoguer-Plouarzel. Au carrefour suivant, prendre à gauche vers la presqu'île de Kermorvan et la plage des Blancs Sablons.
  Venant de St-Renan par la D67, tourner à droite au carrefour juste après le restaurant "Le Charldann". Au carrefour suivant, tourner à gauche vers la plage des Blancs Sablons.
  Venant de Ploumoguer par la D28, tourner à droite vers la plage des Blancs Sablons à un carrefour situé dans un large virage.Parking dans l'isthme situé au bout de la route.



 Aujourd'hui, pour les estivants ainsi que pour les Brestois du week-end, la presqu'île de Kermorvan est le rendez-vous incontournable des baigneurs, des randonneurs, des amateurs de planche à voile ou de parapente. Une longue plage et une presqu'île encore sauvage y attirent de nombreux touristes.
  Cette petite péninsule qui sépare le port du Conquet de l'anse des Blancs Sablons a vu les peuples du néolithique y ériger des dizaines de mégalithes dont plusieurs dolmens. L'un d'eux, dont certains piliers sont ornés de cupules et de gravures a même fait l'objet de moulages qui sont conservés au Musée de Préhistoire de Penmarc'h :


Dessin de Jean-Yves André ©

 Malheureusement il n'en reste plus grand chose aujourd'hui, l'agriculture ainsi que la défense militaire de la côte prévalant de tous temps sur la conservation d'un patrimoine considéré comme obsolète. Toutefois, il faut signaler qu'en pleine guerre, en 1916, le capitaine G. du Plessix, lors du creusement de fortifications, a découvert dans les landes proches de l'actuel terrain de camping une grande dalle gravée d'un poignard sortant de sa gaine. Il a signalé cette découverte au commandant Alfred Devoir, qui était archéologue. Celui-ci a acheté la pierre au propritaire du terrain et l'a offerte au Musée de Préhistoire de Penmarc'h où la dalle gravée est toujours exposée1.


Carte établie par l'archéologue Alfred Devoir en 1909
On remarquera le nombre important de mégalithes encore recensés.
Seuls les n°1, 2, 10, 11, 15 et 16, toujours visibles aujourd'hui, sont décrits ci-dessous.


   Le promeneur ne peut découvrir aujourd'hui que six mégalithes : deux menhirs dans la lande au lieu-dit "Maison Blanche, à l'Est du parking, deux autres de petite taille, le long du sentier côtier longeant le port et enfin les deux rescapés d'un cromlech, de part et d'autre de la petite route goudronnée réservée aux piétons après la barrière située au bout de l'isthme qui étrangle la presqu'île.



LES MENHIRS DE MAISON BLANCHE

-1- Le menhir OUEST

Accès: A partir du parking de l'isthme, revenir à pied sur la route goudronnée et prendre à gauche, face à un passage pour piétons, un sentier se dirigeant vers la mer et dont l'entrée est encadrée par deux grosses roches. A quelques mètres on aperçoit dans les fougères, sur la droite, un petit menhir.

 Cette pierre, très discrète, est facilement recouverte par la végétation. Sa hauteur n'est que de 1,10m tandis que sa largeur atteint 1,25m pour une épaisseur de 0,65m. Elle n'a pas été taillée et est constituée de granodiorite issue de la Pointe des Renards.


Le menhir Ouest de Maison Blanche, ci-dessus vu par la tranche
et ci-dessous montrant sa face Sud.




-2- Le menhir EST



Accès: Continuer le sentier qui débouche sur le GR34 longeant l'Anse des Blancs Sablons. Tourner à droite en direction de la plage. A une cinquantaine de mètres, une brèche à droite dans le talus permet d'apercevoir au sud le sommet assez éloigné du second menhir parmi les fougères. A partir du GR34, l'accès est difficile en hiver lorsque la végétation fanée est pourtant couchée par le vent et la pluie. Il n'est pas du tout recommandé de tenter d'y parvenir en une autre saison : ronces, très hautes fougères et présence possible de vipères.

GPS : 48°21'53 N   4°46'07 W



 C'est une pierre de 1,83 m de hauteur pour une largeur de 1,70 m et une épaisseur de 1,10m à la base. Pas un géant, donc, mais un gros menhir qui possède le rare talent, pour un tel monument, de savoir se travestir en peu d'années pour passer complètement inaperçu dans le paysage. Vous devineriez un mégalithe, vous, sous cette coiffure de lierre perdue au milieu d'un inextricable enchevêtrement de fougères et de ronces ?


Le menhir EST de Maison Blanche, face sud, en automne 2014.


Le menhir EST de Maison Blanche, face nord

  Après le passage du coiffeur, la pierre est un peu plus présentable. Emergeant d'un épais lit de fougères, elle a fait partie d'un groupe de trois menhirs éloignés les uns des autres de quelques dizaines de mètres, décrit du temps où aucune construction n'existait encore sur le tevenn ( la dune ). Constituée de granodiorite de la Pointe des Renards, au Conquet, elle n'a pas du tout été taillée.

Un troisième menhir ?

  Dans une publication de 1903, P. du Chatellier signalait un troisième menhir de 0,90m de hauteur, situé à une soixantaine de mètres à l'ouest du premier, et pratiquement aligné avec les deux autres. Cette pierre, non retrouvée depuis, n'est pas signalée par Alfred Devoir en 1909. Elle a donc disparu entre ces deux dates.


LES DEUX PETITS MENHIRS DU PORT



Accès : A partir du parking de l'isthme, franchir à pied la barrière et monter le sentier non goudronné qui longe le port. Après cette côte, une série d'importants affleurements rocheux parsème le chemin. Dès qu'ils cessent, on aperçoit à gauche du chemin une profonde dépression et à droite un petit passage dans les ronces et les fougères en direction d'un arbre isolé. Le premier petit menhir est là, à quelques mètres du chemin, dissimulé dans les fougères.

-1- Le menhir Est :

GPS : 48°21'47.5 N   4°46'43 W



 Ce premier menhir ne dépasse pas 1m hors sol pour une largeur égale et une épaisseur de 0,30m. Comme le terrain est en pente et la couche de fougères épaisse, il est probable que sa partie enterrée soit plus importante.




Dessin de Jean-Yves André ©

-2- Le menhir OUEST

GPS : 48°21'47.4 N   4°46'43.2 W



 Le second menhir, distant de seulement 6m, est situé légèrement plus haut et à l'Ouest sur la pente. Sa forme est triangulaire, sa hauteur atteint 1,10m et sa largeur à la base 1,45m pour une épaisseur de 0,30m.




Dessin de Jean-Yves André ©
Il est fréquent que les menhirs aillent par paire.
Ces deux sentinelles stoïques surveillent ainsi le port du Conquet
depuis des millénaires.


LES RESCAPES DU CROMLECH

Classés Monuments historiques le 22 octobre 1913




Accès :  Revenir au parking de l'isthme. Il faut remonter la petite route goudronnée, à l'ouest de la barrière, menant au phare de Kermorvan. Les deux mégalithes se trouvent à 200m à peine.

GPS : 48°21'50 N   4°46'52.9 W



Le menhir n°1 du cromlech

 Le premier, photo et dessin ci-dessous, en gneiss, se trouve un peu en retrait sur la gauche de la route. Emergeant des broussailles, il mesure 2,5m de hauteur et sa base fait 1,70 x 0,57m. C'est la plus grosse pierre - donc la moins facile à enlever - d'un cercle de menhirs qui en comportait au moins treize.


Le menhir n°1 du cromlech


Le menhir n°1 du cromlech
Dessin de Jean-Yves André ©



Le menhir n°2 du cromlech

GPS : 48°21'50.4 N   4°46'55.6 W



 Ce second menhir, plus petit mais trapu, ( photo et dessin ci-dessous ) se trouve quelques pas plus loin à la limite d'une parcelle cultivée au NO de la route. Constitué d'une granodiorite gneissique, il mesure 1,78m, en hauteur comme en largeur, pour 0,82m d'épaisseur à la base.


Le menhir n°2 du cromlech


Le menhir n°2 du cromlech.
Dessin de Jean-Yves André ©


 Pendant plusieurs années, au début du XXe siècle, ce menhir fut incorporé dans une petite construction dépendant d'une ferme voisine disparue, une sorte de grange ou d'abri à animaux d'élevage, en pierres sèches, dont le mégalithe constituait une partie du pignon.


Le menhir n°2 du cromlech en 1909. Photo Alfred Devoir

  En fait ces deux menhirs de Kermorvan faisaient partie d'un cromlech en forme d'ellipse qui comportait, selon les auteurs, 12 ou 13 mégalithes.



  Une reconstitution très libre de ce cromlech a été fabriquée en 2005 pour le tournage du téléfilm "Dolmen" sur la presqu'île de Kermorvan. Ce décor a été démonté par la suite.



  Le capitaine Christophe-Paulin de la Poix, Chevalier de Fréminville, écrit en 1832, dans "Antiquités du Finistère" :

..."j'arrivai au sanctuaire ou Cromlec'h composé de douze pierres plantées debout en terre de manière à former une enceinte elliptique longue de cent quatre-vingt-cinq pieds sur cent vingt pieds dans sa plus grande largeur. La plus haute des pierres de ce Cromlec'h est celle de l'extrémité orientale : elle a huit pieds d'élévation. Vis-à-vis du côté de l'occident et diamétralement à l'opposite est une pierre haute de six pieds; toutes les autres sont de dimensions inférieures".

Le pied correspondant en France à 0,324 m, les dimensions de cette ellipse étaient d'environ 60 x 39 m.

On entend souvent dire, au Conquet, que le cromlech fut détruit par les Allemands au cours de la Seconde guerre mondiale pour faire passer des canons destinés à la défense de la Pointe de Kermorvan. Il y a évidemment une confusion puisque l'auteur de la citation ci-dessus ajoute :

..."Tels sont les monuments druidiques de la presqu'île de Kermorvan, ou plutôt, tels ils étaient, car j'ai appris avec peine qu'ils avaient été depuis peu entièrement détruits, et leurs pierres déplantées, brisées et taillées pour être employées à des constructions modernes."

Son ouvrage ayant été publié en 1834, la destruction du cromlech se situe donc entre 1832 et 1834 et ce sont nos propres troupes, à l'époque, qui ont dégagé un terrain de manœuvres militaires. La confusion vient du fait que les troupes allemandes ont détruit d'autres mégalithes sur la presqu'île.


DES MEGALITHES DISPARUS


Le menhir n°12 de la carte d'Alfred Devoir établie en 1909 a complètement disparu.
Il devait se trouver non loin de la ferme, au sud du cromlech.


Ce menhir était séparé du cromlech par deux grands dolmens ( n°13 et n°14 sur la carte Devoir ) classés depuis le 22 octobre 1913.




On imagine combien ces momuments, cromlech, dolmens et menhirs ont pu constituer un haut lieu préhistorique. Tout cet ensemble a disparu.

Les cartes postales du Conquet nous montrent encore d'autres structures aujourd'hui disparues.









Conservés intacts par toutes les générations pendant une cinquantaine de siècles - ce n'est pas rien - ces mégalithes de Kermorvan n'ont pas résisté à l'inconscience humaine depuis 150 ans...

***

-1-G.du Plessix : " Découverte d'une pierre gravée dans les landes de Kermorvan"
Bulletin de la Société Archéologique de Nantes, 1918, tome 58, p.3 à 11.



"Menhir" du Tévenn de Kermorvan, classé monument historique,
actuellement exposé à l'intérieur du Musée de Préhistoire de Penmarc'h.
La gravure en relief représenterait un poignard.sortant de sa gaine.
La pierre, découverte en position couchée, pourrait être un menhir du néolithique moyen
réemployé plus tard en dalle de sépulture.


Yannick Loukianoff


***

QR code de cette page