Back to home pageFrench    German    Spanish    



The peninsula of the Fishpond

Municipality of Landunvez






Parking GPS : 48°31'10" N   4°45'45" W






Access :   Leave St-Renan by the Ploudalmézeau road and continue straight to the sea. You arrive in Argenton, in the commune of Landunvez. The peninsula of the Fishpond borders the left bank of the port. To get there, turn left towards Porspoder and take the first road on the right. Park in the car park and discover the peninsula on foot.


Argenton port and the houses of the Fishpond peninsula

    This peninsula is made up of an old island that was naturally connected to the land by a tombolo1 covered with a dune cord. On the right, the pretty port of Argenton, completely uncovered at low tide, extends over a considerable area. On the left is the large fine sandy beach of Porspoder, which is closed by the St. Lawrence peninsula.
  Beautiful properties occupy almost the entire area and it is necessary to follow small paths to discover the well hidden charms of this site.

The top of the peninsula
GPS:  48°31'15.9 N  4°46'07.4 W



  The road splits in two. At the end of the left lane is the gate of the Ifremer station, whose fishpond gave its name to the entire peninsula. A path on the right leads the visitor to the highest point. The top of the peninsula is unfortunately inaccessible to the disabled because of the rocks that outcrop in the path. However, it offers a magnificent view. On the far left, Porspoder aligns its houses behind the beach.



  Then it's the fishpond of Ifremer's station. It opens onto the port of Porspoder and faces the protected site of the St. Lawrence Peninsula.




To the right, towards north, it is the fore-port of Argenton and the tip of Beg ar Garo
which announces the magnificent wild coast of Landunvez.


  Facing the point and extending the peninsula offshore, it is the island of Yoc'h, uninhabited and a natural reserve of the S.E.P.N.B. 2   It can only be reached on foot during the lowest tides and with great care. It is better to take advantage of the guided tours organised by the Tourist Office than to take them alone. On this ancient cape of the continent there are still remains of the Neolithic and the Iron age.



  On a sunny day, the view is superb over the Argenton Rocks that dot the ocean. Other large boulders emerge from the vegetation behind the visitor. This chaos of stone takes on rather surprising forms.





  You will return to the car park keeping the memory of these landscapes, but also, in the summer, the Mediterranean scents exhaled by all the surprising plantations of this small part of the world preserved from the onslaught of the offshore wind.

-1- When an island is close to the coast, the waves and sea currents that surround it pile up pebbles that gradually connect the island to the continent. The tombolo is this cordon of pebbles and sand.

-2- Society for the Study and Protection of Nature in Brittany.




***


QR code of this page :



Download this flashcode


***

Retour à l'accueil



La presqu'île du Vivier

( Commune de Landunvez )






GPS du stationnement : 48°31'10" N   4°45'45" W






Accès :   Sortir de St-Renan par la route de Ploudalmézeau et continuer tout droit jusqu'à la mer. On arrive à Argenton, sur la commune de Landunvez. La presqu'île du Vivier borde la rive gauche du port. Pour y parvenir, tourner à gauche vers Porspoder et prendre la première route à droite. Stationner au parking et découvrir la presqu'île à pied.


Le port d'Argenton et les maisons de la presqu'île du Vivier

    Cette presqu'île est formée d'une ancienne île qui a été naturellement reliée à la terre par un tombolo1 recouvert d'un cordon dunaire. A droite, le joli port d'Argenton, complètement découvert à marée basse, s'étend sur une surface considérable. A gauche s'étire la grande plage de sable fin de Porspoder que ferme la presqu'île St-Laurent.
  De belles propriétés occupent la quasi-totalité de l'espace et il faut s'engager dans de petits chemins pour découvrir les charmes bien cachés de ce site.

Le sommet de la presqu'île
GPS:  48°31'15.9 N  4°46'07.4 W



  La route fait une fourche. A l'extrémité de la voie de gauche se trouve le portail de la station d'Ifremer dont le vivier a donné son nom à toute la presqu'île. Un chemin, à droite, mène le visiteur au point culminant. Le sommet de la presqu'île est malheureusement inaccessible aux personnes peu valides à cause des roches qui affleurent dans le chemin. Il offre cependant une vue magnifique. Tout à gauche, Porspoder aligne ses maisons derrière la plage.



  Puis c'est le vivier de la station d'Ifremer. Il s'ouvre sur le port de Porspoder et fait face au site protégé de la presqu'île St-Laurent.




A droite, vers le nord, c'est l'avant-port d'Argenton et la pointe de Beg ar Garo
qui annonce la magnifique côte sauvage de Landunvez.


  Face à la pointe et prolongeant la presqu'île vers le large, c'est l'île d'Yoc'h, inhabitée et réserve naturelle de la S.E.P.N.B. 2   On ne peut la rejoindre à pied que lors des plus grandes marées et avec d'infinies précautions. Mieux vaut profiter des visites guidées qu'organise l'Office de Tourisme plutôt que de s'y engager seul. Sur cet ancien cap du continent se trouvent encore des vestiges du néolithique et de l'âge du fer.



  Par beau temps, la vue est superbe sur les Roches d'Argenton qui parsèment l'océan. D'autres gros blocs rocheux émergent de la végétation derrière le visiteur. Ce chaos de pierre prend des formes assez étonnantes.





  On regagnera le parking en conservant le souvenir de ces paysages, mais aussi, à la belle saison, des senteurs méditerranéennes qu'exhalent toutes les surprenantes plantations de ce petit bout du monde étonnamment préservé des assauts du vent du large.

-1- Lorsqu'une île est proche de la côte, les vagues et les courants marins qui la contournent entassent des galets qui peu à peu vont relier l'île au rivage. Le tombolo est ce cordon de galets et de sable.

-2- Société d'Etudes et de Protection de la Nature en Bretagne.




***


QR code de cette page :



Télécharger ce flashcode


***