Back to home pageFrench    German    Spanish    



Porspaul's orientation table

Municipality of Lampaul-Plouarzel






GPS : 48°26'43.4" N   4°46'58.7" W






Access :   Leave St-Renan by the Plouarzel road (D5) and at the entrance of this town turn right at the roundabout in the direction of Lampaul-Plouarzel. Go through the centre of the town and, at the fork in front of the library, turn left towards Porspaul, the port of Lampaul-Plouarzel. When you arrive, take the small road on the right, heading towards the campsite and the Beg ar Vir peninsula. Continue to go around the port and at the sign indicating the orientation table turn right towards the isolated house.



    Perched on a mound, this original orientation table has the particularity of resembling the bow of a ship. At high tide, leaning over this rail and the sea at your feet, spreading your arms horizontally, you will split the waves aboard the Titanic !



  The batayoles1 of the railing sink into a concrete platform where pebbles skilfully reproduce the contours of the shoreline.



  It is on this rail that the orientation table is fixed. Engraved on a narrow metal strip, the names of the landscape elements in front of us are indicated. You will notice that the Breton toponymy, which brings a plus to this orientation table, is well respected. Beg ar Vir, for example, is the point where you turn to enter the port. Ar forc'h vihan are the rocks called the Small Forks. And if you can easily guess the meaning of Beg finig, then look also for the meaning of Porz Uhel, knowing that the adjective uhel is the opposite of izel ( low, downstream ).





  In good weather, the view is superb. The Molène archipelago is visible on the horizon, with the islands of Béniguet, Litiry and Quéménès, Triélen, Molène and Ouessant, while all the details of the continental shoreline can be seen, with the small island of Ségal only being separated at high tide.


To the south, we can see the tip of Corsen
, and the lighthouse of Trézien on the town of Plouarzel.

To the north, the landscape extends as far as Aber Ildut river, where the pretty sea port of Lanildut is located.




To the east, the port of Porspaul is a natural Shelter
in a cove isolated from storms
by the tip of Beg ar Vir and its dune cordon.


  On the way back to the port, we will not fail to take a look at the old seaweed ovens that dot the dune.

-1- Batayoles are the vertical uprights of a ship's rail.


***


QR code of this page :



Download this flashcode


***

Retour à l'accueil



La table d'orientation de Porspaul

( Commune de Lampaul-Plouarzel )






GPS : 48°26'43.4" N   4°46'58.7" W






Accès :   Sortir de St-Renan par la route de Plouarzel ( D5 ) et à l'entrée de cette commune tourner à droite au rond-point en direction de Lampaul-Plouarzel. Traverser le centre de l'agglomération et, à la fourche devant la bibliothèque, prendre à gauche vers Porspaul, le port de la commune. En arrivant, prendre la petite route à droite se dirigeant en biais vers le terrain de camping et la pointe de Beg ar Vir. Continuer pour contourner le port et à la pancarte signalant la table d'orientation tourner à droite vers la maison isolée.



    Perchée sur une butte, cette table d'orientation originale a la particularité de ressembler à la proue d'un navire. A marée haute, debout à ce bastingage et la mer à vos pieds, écartant les bras à l'horizontale, vous fendrez les flots à bord du Titanic !



  Les batayoles1 de la rambarde s'enfoncent dans une plate-forme en béton où des galets reproduisent habilement les contours du rivage.



  C'est sur ce bastingage qu'est fixée la table d'orientation. Gravés sur une étroite bande de métal, les noms des éléments du paysage que l'on a sous les yeux sont indiqués. Vous remarquerez que la toponymie bretonne, qui apporte un plus à cette table d'orientation, est bien respectée. Beg ar Vir, par exemple, est la pointe où l'on vire pour entrer dans le port. Ar forc'h vihan sont les roches appelées les Petites fourches. Et si vous devinez facilement le sens de Beg finig, cherchez donc aussi le sens de Porz Uhel, sachant que l'adjectif uhel est le contraire de izel ( bas, aval).





  Par beau temps, la vue est superbe. L'archipel de Molène se dessine à l'horizon, avec les îles de Béniguet, Litiry et Quéménès, Triélen, Molène et Ouessant, tandis que l'on distingue tous les détails du rivage continental dont la petite île Ségal n'est séparée qu'à marée haute.


Vers le sud, on aperçoit la pointe de Corsen,
et le phare de Trézien sur la commune de Plouarzel.

Au nord, le paysage s'étend jusqu'à l'Aber Ildut où se loge le joli port goémonier de Lanildut.




A l'est, le port de Porspaul est un abri naturel dans une anse isolée des tempêtes
par la pointe de Beg ar Vir et son cordon dunaire.


  Au retour vers le port, on ne manquera pas de jeter un coup d'œil sur les anciens fours à goémon qui parsèment la dune.

-1- Les batayoles sont les montants verticaux du bastingage d'un navire.


***


QR code de cette page :



Télécharger ce flashcode


***