Back to home pageFrench German 



The missing sundial of Tréouergat




Photo d'archive


This sundial, which was fixed on the south gable of the transept of the old Saint-Gouescat church in Tréouergat, is no longer visible today. The dial has been dismantled at the beginning of the XXth century when the old church was demolished to make way for the present building. It was then waiting to be fixed on the new church. But this was no longer useful because a clock was installed during the construction of the bell tower in 1925. The sundial, abandoned and obsolete, continued to wait... until its disappearance was noticed.
Since then, it has not been found.


    It was a vertical south-facing dial1 of the 18th century, engraved on a circular brown slate plate.
The first image shows that the stone had been chipped, probably when it was removed from the fixing pitons. This dial was quite similar to that of Lanrivoaré, below, which is the work of the same engraver Hamon Le Hir.


The sundial of Lanrivoaré

  The shadow of an inclined metallic style, parallel to the axis of rotation of the Earth, moved on the lower semicircle. We can guess on the first photo the fixing holes of this rod.
The hours from 6 to 12 were worn in the left quarter while those from 1 to 6 appeared on the right. The hour lines were in relief.

The ornamentation:

The central band bore the name of the then rector, C. L'Hostis, and that of the dial maker Hamon Le Hir as well as the date of manufacture of his work, 1742 :


M(Messire):C:l'HOSTIS R(Recteur)      F(Fait):P(Par):H(Hamon):LEHIR-1742

Above the central rose window, the craftsman had carefully engraved various elements illustrating the Passion of Christ2 :

In the left part, the hand of the soldier who slapped Christ, six denarii out of the thirty who would have paid Judas, the tray stretched out to Pons Pilate with the pot containing water for his hands to wash, two crossed spears, the sword of Saint Peter who wanted to defend Christ at his arrest and the ear of the high priest Malchus that he involuntarily cut, the crown of thorns, the spear planted in the sponge soaked in vinegar. Then, to the right of the cross, the ladder of the Descent of the Cross, the 3 nails, the hammer and the pincers, the whip of the flogging, the column to which Jesus was attached to receive the forty blows, the cock of the Denial of Peter, and the lantern of the guards who arrested Christ in the garden of the olive trees.
    The dial of Tréouergat, like many others of same time, was intended to associate images of faith with the essential public function of giving solar time. It was not until the following century and the invention of the railway that, gradually, the solar hour was replaced everywhere by the imposed legal hour 3.


idée !

CALLING USERS:


This sundial witch disappeared several years ago must still exist. Perhaps does it decorates today a house or a manor? It could also be in an attic or an antique store.
Thanks to the Internet and social networks, we can find him. It is not a question of denouncing its current owner, who probably does not know its origin, but of ensuring that this part of the heritage of a small municipality could amicably return to its former home. The details of its ornamentation allow it to be formally identified.
Let us know by email (at the top of this page, "Any information / Contact" button) if you think you have found it. All the inhabitants of Tréouergat will be grateful!





-1- A dial is called 'meridional' when it is a vertical South-facing one.
-2- For the meaning of religious emblems, read on the Internet Yves-Pascal Castel's study
-3- See more detailed explanations on the correspondence between solar time and legal time on our page describing the sundials.


Documentation provided by Pierre Labat-Ségalen, co-author of the book:

 "Cadrans solaires de Bretagne" , Ed. Skol Vreizh  2010.

***

QR code of this page :


Download this flashcode

Retour à l'accueil



Le cadran solaire disparu de Tréouergat




Photo d'archive


Ce cadran solaire qui était fixé sur le pignon sud du transept de l'ancienne église Saint-Gouescat, à Tréouergat, n'est plus visible actuellement. Au début du XXe siècle, lorsque le bâtiment fut démoli pour faire place à l'édifice actuel, le cadran a été démonté et attendait d'être fixé sur la nouvelle église. Mais il n'était plus indispensable : lorsque le clocher fut érigé en 1925, c'est une horloge qui fut installée. Délaissé et devenu obsolète, le cadran solaire continua d'attendre... jusqu'à ce que l'on constate sa disparition.
Depuis, il n'a pas été retrouvé.


    Il s'agissait d'un cadran vertical méridional1 du 18e siècle, gravé sur une plaque circulaire de schiste ardoisier de couleur brune.
On constate sur la première image que la pierre avait été ébréchée, sans doute lors de son enlèvement hors des pitons de fixation. Ce cadran était assez semblable à celui de Lanrivoaré, ci-dessous, qui est l'œuvre du même graveur Hamon Le Hir.


Le cadran solaire de Lanrivoaré

  L'ombre d'un style métallique incliné, parallèle à l'axe de rotation de la Terre, se déplaçait sur le demi-cercle inférieur. On devine sur la première photo les trous de fixation de cette tige.
Les heures de 6 à 12 étaient portées dans le quart gauche tandis que celles de 1 à 6 apparaissaient à droite. Les traces horaires étaient en relief.

L'ornementation :

Le bandeau central portait le nom du recteur de l'époque, C. L'Hostis, et celui du cadranier Hamon Le Hir ainsi que la date de confection de son œuvre, 1742 :


M(Messire):C:l'HOSTIS R(Recteur)      F(Fait):P(Par):H(Hamon):LEHIR-1742

Au-dessus de la rosace centrale, l'artisan avait soigneusement gravé divers éléments illustrant la Passion du Christ2 :

Dans la partie gauche, la main du soldat qui gifla le Christ, 6 deniers sur les 30 qui auraient payé Judas, le plateau tendu à Pons Pilate avec la cruche contenant l'eau pour qu'il se lave les mains, deux lances croisées, le glaive de St-Pierre qui voulut défendre le Christ lors de son arrestation et l'oreille du grand prêtre Malchus qu'il coupa involontairement, la couronne d'épines et la lance piquée sur l'éponge imbibée de vinaigre. Puis, à droite de la Croix, l'échelle pour la Descente de Croix, les 3 clous, le marteau et les tenailles, le fouet de la flagellation, la colonne à laquelle Jésus fut attaché pour recevoir les quarante coups, le coq du Reniement de Pierre, et la lanterne des gardesayant arrêté le Christ au Jardin des Oliviers.
    Le cadran de Tréouergat, comme bien d'autres à son époque, avait pour but d'associer des images de la foi à la fonction publique indispensable de donner l'heure solaire. Il faut attendre le siècle suivant et l'invention du chemin de fer pour que progressivement, à l'heure solaire, se substitue partout l'heure légale imposée 3.


idée !

APPEL AUX INTERNAUTES :


Ce cadran solaire disparu depuis plusieurs années doit toujours exister. Peut-être orne-t-il aujourd'hui une maison ou un manoir ? Peut-être se trouve-t-il dans un grenier ou chez un antiquaire ?
Grâce à Internet et aux réseaux sociaux, on peut le retrouver. Il ne s'agit pas de dénoncer son actuel détenteur qui ignore sans doute son origine, mais de faire en sorte que cet élément du patrimoine d'une petite commune regagne à l'amiable son ancien domicile. Les détails de son ornementation permettent de l'identifier de manière formelle.
Prévenez-nous par mail ( en haut de cette page, bouton « informations / contact » ) si vous pensez l'avoir retrouvé. Tout Tréouergat vous en sera reconnaissant !





-1- Un cadran est dit méridional lorsqu'il est placé face au sud.
-2- Sur la signification des emblèmes religieux, lire sur internet l'étude d'Yves-Pascal Castel
-3- Voir des explications plus détaillées sur la correspondance entre heure solaire et heure légale sur notre page décrivant les cadrans solaires.


Documentation fournie par Pierre Labat-Ségalen, co-auteur de l'ouvrage :

 "Cadrans solaires de Bretagne" , Ed. Skol Vreizh  2010.

***

QR code de cette page :


Télécharger ce flashcode