Back to home pageFrench    German    Spanish    



Bertheaume's area



( Municipality of Plougonvelin )







GPS : 48°20'14.4 N  4°42'09.4 W





Access :   In the village of Plougonvelin, go around the church and follow the direction of the fort of Bertheaume. About a hundred metres before the end of the road, turn right, facing the sea, into the picnic area.

   This viewpoint, located above the exit of the Brest harbor, allows you to see the ships that pass through it. Commercial ships, liners, sailboats or military ships, the parade is daily and we never get tired of it...


The Arctic Princess, a Norwegian large LNG carrier chartered by Total
has just unloaded its 150,000 tonnes of gas from the Barentz Sea in Brest.  © Photo Gérard Bosch


It is one of the most beautiful viewpoints of the Pays d'Iroise. To the south-east, beyond a semi-buried bunker, you can first see the fort of Bertheaume perched on its islet.




   But the view extends much further since, if the weather permits, the entire northern coast of the Crozon peninsula is revealed, to the west of the port of Camaret, which remains well hidden in its cove. Opposite is the Pointe du Toulinguet and further west is the Pointe de Penhir, which can be identified by the enormous rocks that extend into the sea and is known here as "Les Tas de Pois".



   But it is not over : behind these islets, still relatively close, it is the whole western part of the peninsula of Cap de la Chèvre that we discover with its semaphore located in the very south. You must have good eyes to see its white tower with the naked eye.


The semaphore of the French Navy at
Cap de la Chèvre.


   Finally, even further away, you can guess, blocking the horizon, a long coast that extends due west towards the sea. It is the extension of the southern shore of Douarnenez Bay, where the Cap Sizun reserve, the Van's tip and finally the famous tip of the Raz are located.



   The suite requires both a good view and excellent visibility conditions. Because after the Pointe du Raz, it is not unusual for us to also see the island of Sein, a small point skiming over the ocean, the very last land in Europe that is indicated on the horizon, before the great open sea, by the famous Ar Men lighthouse.

***




QR code of this page :



Download this flashcode


***

Retour à l'accueil



L'aire de Bertheaume



( Commune de Plougonvelin)







GPS : 48°20'14.4 N  4°42'09.4 W





Accès :   Dans le bourg de Plougonvelin, contourner l'église et suivre la direction du fort de Bertheaume. Une centaine de mètres avant la fin de la route, s'engager à droite, face à la mer, dans l'aire de pique-nique.

   Ce belvédère situé au-dessus de la sortie de l'avant-rade de Brest permet d'apercevoir les navires qui y transitent. Bateaux de commerce, paquebots, voiliers ou navires militaires, le défilé est quotidien et on ne s'en lasse jamais...


L'Arctic Princess, grand méthanier norvégien affrété par Total,
vient décharger à Brest ses 150000 tonnes de gaz
en provenance de la mer de Barentz.  © Photo Gérard Bosch


C'est l'un des plus beaux points de vue du Pays d'Iroise. Au sud-est, par delà un blockhaus semi-enterré, on aperçoit d'abord, juché sur son îlot, le fort de Bertheaume.




   Mais la vue s'étend bien plus loin puisque, si le temps le permet, c'est toute la côte nord de la presqu'île de Crozon qui se dévoile, à l'ouest du port de Camaret qui reste bien caché dans son anse. On distingue, en face, la pointe du Toulinguet et plus à l'ouest la pointe de Penhir que l'on reconnaît aux énormes roches qui la prolongent en mer et que l'on nomme ici « les Tas de Pois ».



   Mais ce n'est pas fini : derrière ces îlots, encore relativement proches, c'est tout l'ouest de la presqu'île du cap de la Chèvre que l'on découvre avec son sémaphore situé tout au sud. Il faut déjà avoir de bons yeux pour apercevoir sa tour blanche à l'œil nu.


Le sémaphore de la Marine nationale
au cap de la Chèvre.


   Enfin, plus loin encore, on devine, barrant l'horizon, une longue côte qui s'étend plein ouest vers le large. C'est le prolongement de la rive sud de la baie de Douarnenez, où se situent la réserve du Cap Sizun, la pointe du Van et enfin la célèbre pointe du Raz.



   La suite requiert à la fois une bonne vue et d'excellentes conditions de visibilité. Car après la pointe du Raz, il n'est pas exceptionnel que l'on aperçoive aussi l'île de Sein, petit point rasant l'océan, toute dernière terre d'Europe que signale à l'horizon, avant le grand large, le célèbre phare d'Ar Men.

***




QR code de cette page :



Télécharger ce flashcode


***