Back to home pageFrench    German    Spanish    



The Gard'Sign ( or Garchine) orientation table

Municipality of Porspoder






GPS : 48°30'20.2 N  4°46'23.0" W






   It is an orientation table that has already been in existence for a quarter of a century. It was built on the headland of Gard'Sign (or Garchine) in order to offer walkers a 180° view of the sea.



Access : In the village of Porspoder, pass between the church and the pub « Chez Arzel », then turn left and follow the road to Gard'Sign. After 700 m, turn right onto the path that runs alongside the grounds of the French Navy, which can be recognised by its 34 m high observation tower, and park after the picnic table.


The inauguration, in 1991, by former mayor Charles Pavot.

   This draft orientation table was unanimously approved by all elected officials.
An enormous granite slab of the Aber Ildut from the former Calès quarry was first donated by Mrs Rosalie Léaustic and entrusted to Claude Conq, stonemason in Brélès. The orientation table was designed by the painter Anne Cadiou. Her work was enamelled by Philippe Lalys on Volvic lava not frozenable 1 at the Henriot faience factory in Quimper. The installation was carried out by Louis Provost, Porspoder's first assistant, in a traditional way using a tripod saw-horse.


Enamelled plates coming out of the oven at Henriot's.
© Photo Jean-Charles Huitorel




   From this location, the southern shore of the peninsula named St. Laurent can be easily distinguished. Further on, the Argenton Rocks appear most often crowned with foam and the lighthouse of the Four signals the dangerous presence of its reefs. Using binoculars, you can observe in detail the islands of the Molène archipelago. Ushant, facing west, is the highest. You can recognize the tip of the Stiff and its lighthouse overlooking the port where the landing stage for the continent is located. The Kéréon lighthouse, a little further south, marks the passage of the Fromveur. Then, always further south, it is successively the islands of Bannec, Balanec and Molène. Finally Trielen, Quéménès, Litiry and Beniguet complete this string of islands in the distance, which is aligned in the direction of Pointe St-Mathieu and is part of the Parc Régional d'Armorique.



   The view does not only extend to the sea. On the land side, you discover how the pretty village of Porspoder developed at the bottom of a cove on the coast.





   And if you have a good view, you may discover in the distance the menhir of Kergadiou, one of the highest megaliths in the Pays d'Iroise.




-1- The adjective « gélif, gélive » means frost-sensitive. A stone that is not frozen cannot burst because of the cold.


***

QR code of this page :



Download this flashcode

***

Retour à l'accueil



La table d'orientation de Gard'Sign ( ou Garchine )

( Commune de Porspoder )






GPS : 48°30'20.2 N  4°46'23.0" W






   C'est une table d'orientation qui affiche déjà un quart de siècle d'existence. Elle a été érigée sur la pointe de Gard'Sign ( ou Garchine ) afin de faire profiter les promeneurs d'un point de vue sur la mer, couvrant 180°.



Accès : Dans le bourg de Porspoder, passer entre l'église et le café «Chez Arzel», puis tourner à gauche et suivre la route de Gard'Sign. A 700 m, prendre à droite le chemin carrossable qui longe le terrain de la Marine nationale reconnaissable à sa tour d'observation haute de 34 m, et stationner après la table de pique-nique.


L'inauguration, en 1991, par l'ancien maire Charles Pavot.

   Ce projet de table d'orientation avait fait l'unanimité auprès de tous les élus.
Une énorme dalle en granite de l'Aber Ildut provenant de l'ancienne carrière de Calès a d'abord été offerte par Mme Rosalie Léaustic et confiée à Claude Conq, tailleur de pierres à Brélès. La table d'orientation a été dessinée par l'artiste peintre Anne Cadiou. Son œuvre a été émaillée par Philippe Lalys sur lave de Volvic non gélive 1 à la faïencerie Henriot de Quimper. La pose fut effectuée par Louis Provost, premier adjoint de Porspoder, de façon artisanale à l'aide d'un trépied-chèvre.


Plaques émaillées sortant du four chez Henriot.
© Photo Jean-Charles Huitorel




   Depuis cet emplacement, on distingue sans mal le rivage sud de la presqu'île St-Laurent. Plus loin, les Roches d'Argenton apparaissent le plus souvent couronnées d'écume et le phare du Four signale la dangereuse présence de ses brisants. A l'aide de jumelles, on peut observer en détail les îles de l'archipel de Molène. Ouessant, en face vers l'ouest, est la plus élevée. On reconnaît la pointe du Stiff et son phare dominant le port où se situe l'embarcadère pour le continent. Le phare de Kéréon, un peu plus au sud, balise le passage du Fromveur. Puis, toujours plus au sud, ce sont successivement les îles de Bannec, Balanec et Molène. Enfin Trielen, Quéménès, Litiry et Beniguet achèvent au loin ce chapelet qui s'aligne dans la direction de la pointe St-Mathieu et fait partie du Parc Régional d'Armorique.



   La vue ne s'étend pas seulement sur la mer. Côté terre, on découvre comment le joli bourg de Porspoder s'est développé en se nichant au fond d'une anse de la côte.





   Et si vous avez une bonne vue, vous découvrirez peut-être au loin le menhir de Kergadiou, l'un des plus hauts mégalithes du Pays d'Iroise.




-1- L'adjectif « gélif, gélive » signifie sensible au gel. Une pierre non gélive ne peut donc pas éclater à cause du froid.


***

QR code de cette page :



Télécharger ce flashcode

***