Back to home pageFrench    German    Spanish    



The headland of Corsen


Municipality of Plouarzel






GPS : 48°24'56.7 N   4°47'39.6 W



   It is a very recent orientation table, created by the Community of Municipalities at the extreme tip of mainland France in order to offer walkers an exceptional view of the sea, covering more than 180°.



Access :   Leave the village of Plouarzel by the road of Le Conquet and at the roundabout take the direction of Trézien whose lighthouse can be seen on the right, 3.4 km further on. After passing the lighthouse, take the 2ndroad to the left. At the end, turn right. The road bypasses CROSS Corsen 1,the maritime surveillance and rescue centre of northern Brittany. Facing a large lifeboat, take the small road and park in front of the sea.


   This site is a rocky headland that has two particularities :

- It is the westernmost place in mainland France. Even further west than the internationally known Pointe du Raz ! It is not the westernmost point of continental Europe because Spain and Portugal are extending west much further. You are only at one end of France.

- And it is also the place where the sea changes its name. Facing this point, the Atlantic Ocean ends and the English Channel begins. If you see a difference, it's because you have a lot of imagination. In fact, the headland of Corsen, this small cape of Europe, serves as a geographical limit and nothing more. To the north, the Breton tip gently curves eastwards, it is already the shore of the English Channel.

   The orientation table is easily accessible by a wide path of a masonry floor, along which, as at the Kéramézec's belvedere, you are asked questions about ceramic bollards. Questions whose answers, written backwards, are not always obvious. If there are several of you, you will enjoy making it a game and you will probably increase your knowledge.



   In good weather, the view extends far away. Opposite is the Molène archipelago with, from south to north, the islands of Béniguet, Litiry, Quéménès, Triélen and Molène. Ushant Island, the northernmost island, is distinguished by its imposing height. It is separated from the other islands by a strait, named Fromveur. Île-Molène and Ouessant are municipalities in their own right. All the other islands belong to the municipality of Le Conquet.
  You will only very rarely see large ships pass by. In addition to fishing vessels, only vessels of the French Navy and authorized passenger vessels may navigate in the Four Channel in front of you. This has been the case since the sinking of the tanker Amoco Cadiz in 1978, which caused catastrophic pollution along the coast. As a result, the very intense maritime traffic takes place offshore, far from the reefs, behind the archipelago and along a very precise maritime route that is monitored day and night by the CROSS Corsen military seamen.



   Before you leave, take a look at the ruined buildings along the road. These are those of a former Lighthouses and Beacons depot where buoys that are anchored at sea to mark maritime corridors were stored and repaired.
  In the background, you can see the buildings and the large pylon of the CROSS Corsen, whose antennas allow the controllers to talk to all the ships. The CROSS is also responsible for organizing marine rescue services for all boats and individuals.


1- CROSS : Regional Operational Centre for Surveillance and Rescue.   Several CROSS share the surveillance of french coasts. CROSS Corsen is responsible for the entire area from Mont St-Michel to the headland of Penmarc'h and part of the A2 area of the North-East Atlantic.


...

QR code of this page :



Download this flashcode

***

Retour à l'accueil



La pointe de Corsen


( Commune de Plouarzel )






GPS : 48°24'56.7 N   4°47'39.6 W



   C'est une table d'orientation toute récente, réalisée par le Communauté de communes à la pointe extrême de la France continentale afin de faire profiter les promeneurs d'un exceptionnel point de vue sur la mer, couvrant plus de 180°.



Accès :   Sortir du bourg de Plouarzel par la route du Conquet et au rond-point prendre la direction de Trézien dont on aperçoit le phare, sur la droite, 3,4 km plus loin. Après avoir dépassé le phare, prendre la 2e route à gauche. Tout au bout, tourner à droite. La route contourne le CROSS1 Corsen, centre de surveillance et de secours maritime de la Bretagne nord. Face à un grand canot de sauvetage, prendre la petite route et stationner au parking terminal face à la mer.


   Ce site est une pointe rocheuse qui possède deux particularités :

- C'est l'endroit de la France continentale situé le plus à l'ouest. Plus à l'ouest encore que la pointe du Raz pourtant internationalement connue ! Ce n'est pas la pointe la plus occidentale de l'Europe continentale car l'Espagne et le Portugal s'enfoncent bien davantage vers l'Ouest. Vous êtes seulement à une extrémité de la France.

- Et c'est aussi l'endroit où la mer change de nom. Face à cette pointe, l'océan Atlantique s'achève et la Manche commence. Si vous voyez une différence, c'est que vous avez beaucoup d'imagination. En fait, la pointe de Corsen, ce petit cap de l'Europe, sert de limite géographique et rien de plus. Vers le nord la pointe bretonne s'incurve doucement vers l'Est, c'est déjà le rivage de la Manche.

   On accède facilement à la table d'orientation par un large chemin au sol maçonné, le long duquel, comme au belvédère de Kéramézec, des questions vous sont posées sur des bornes de faïence émaillée. Des questions dont les réponses, écrites à l'envers, ne sont pas toujours évidentes. Si vous êtes plusieurs, vous aurez plaisir à en faire un jeu et vous augmenterez sans doute vos connaissances.



   Par beau temps, la vue s'étend très loin. En face, c'est l'archipel de Molène avec, du sud au nord, les îles de Béniguet, Litiry, Quéménès, Triélen et Molène. L'île d'Ouessant, la plus au nord, se distingue par sa hauteur imposante. Elle est séparée de l'archipel par un bras de mer, le Fromveur. Île-Molène ainsi que Ouessant sont des communes à part entières. Toutes les autres îles appartiennent à la commune du Conquet.
  Vous ne verrez que très rarement passer de gros navires. Outre les bateaux de pêche, seuls les bâtiments de la Marine nationale et les navires de passagers autorisés peuvent naviguer dans le chenal du Four situé devant vous. Cela depuis le naufrage du pétrolier Amoco Cadiz qui entraîna en 1978 une pollution catastrophique sur toute la côte. Dès lors, la circulation maritime, très intense, se déroule au large, bien loin des écueils, derrière l'archipel et le long d'une route maritime bien précise que surveillent jour et nuit les militaires du CROSS Corsen.



   Avant de repartir, jetez un coup d'œil sur les bâtiments en ruines le long de la route. Ce sont ceux d'un ancien dépôt des Phares et Balises où étaient stockées et réparées les bouées que l'on mouille en mer pour baliser les couloirs maritimes.
  Au fond, vous apercevez les bâtiments et le grand pylône du CROSS Corsen dont les antennes permettent aux contrôleurs de parler avec tous les navires. Le CROSS a aussi la charge d'organiser les secours en mer concernant toutes les embarcations ainsi que les individus.


1- CROSS : Centre Régional Opérationnel de Surveillance et de Sauvetage.   Plusieurs CROSS se partagent la surveillance de nos côtes. Le CROSS Corsen a la responsabilité de toute la zone s'étendant du Mont St-Michel à la pointe de Penmarc'h ainsi qu'une partie, la zone A2, de l'Atlantique du Nord-Est.


...

QR code de cette page :



Télécharger ce flashcode

***