Back to home pageFrench    German    Spanish    



Seaweeds lower than the foreshore









You will discover seaweeds at low tide. But then, the sea goes up again.
Caution: for 6 hours the sea goes up at different speeds !


Whether it rises or falls, the tide always respects the rule of twelfths.
Remember: 1-2-3-3-2-1

1st hour : 1 twelfth, 2nd hour : 2 twelfths,
3rd and 4th hour : 3 twelths,
5th hour : 2 twelfths, 6th hour : 1 twelfth




Tide times today : click on the link below :

SHOM



   The seaweeds described on this page are those that are permanently covered by the sea and that form a real forest up to about thirty metres deep under the waters of Iroise.



   The saccharin seaweed ( laminaria saccharina ) or royal kombu is a brown alga whose tufts are attached by a crampon to the rock. Its long blades embossed over their entire length and with corrugated edges can reach 7 m. When dry, a white and sweet dust appears on their surface. This seaweed is rich in iodine. It is used in cooking, but also in cosmetics.


Of considerable length, this saccharin seaweed
is however far from being among the largest.


   Two other species of kelp inhabit underwater forests and constitute the Breton tali that professional seaweed harvesters seek. They are seen at the port of Lanildut when ships are unloading, but they are only partially seen at low tide, and only the days of the more large tide.

Below, the horsetail kelp ( laminaria digitata ) or tali moan in Breton can be identified by its crampon fixed to the rock by kinds of fingers and by its short, smooth and flexible shaft stipe. On average 1 m to 1.50 m long, it can live five years to a depth of 6 m on rocky bottoms with little wave action. It is the one that emerges in some places during the lowest tides. It is very rich in iodine: about 70 mg per 100 g, which gets it the most sought-after seaweed. In the old days, cut from the boat with a guillotine, a kind of long-handled billhook, its harvest was greatly improved thanks to the invention of the « scoubidou » by Yves Colin, a Porspoder's seaweed harvester. Today, the seaweedpickers fleet, which is looking for it, is equipped with hydraulic scoubidous. In 2011, 25,000 tonnes of this seaweed were landed in this port.




The scoubidou is a kind of large corkscrew operated by an articulated arm. By turning on itself in a field of seaweeds, it rolls up and tears them off the bottom and then deposits them in the boat by turning in the opposite way.
Drawing : Parc Naturel Marin d'Iroise



   The rough kelp ( laminaria hyperborea) or tali pennin Breton owes its name to the rougher feel of its long stipe. It can reach a length of 3.50 m and a lifetime of 15 years. It is very abundant on the plateau bordering the island of Molène and likes deeper areas, up to 30 m below the surface. As with trees, age can be determined by counting the visible rings when cutting the stipe. In winter, it stops growing and resumes its growth in spring. Curiously, a new tuft of blades then grows at the end of the stipe and replaces the old one which comes off and will run aground on the shore.
The rough kelp is harvested using the « Norwegian comb » dragged by the boat and scraped off the rock. In 2011, 10,000 tons of hyperborea were unloaded in Lanildut. Since 2013, the seaweed harvesters who are looking for it have equipped their boats with geolocation beacons in order to optimize harvest management. Scientific monitoring is carried out because it is essential for the preservation of fish and crustacean resource, not to permanently damage the seabed that provides shelter for larvae and fry.




The Norwegian comb is a 1.50 m wide dredger.
It is towed and pulls kelp between its teeth.

Drawing : Parc Naturel Marin d'Iroise


These two kelps are unloaded in Lanildut and transported by truck to the Lannilis and Landerneau processing plants, which extract the alginates called E401 to E405 in the food industry.

The deepest kelp forests are still composed of another seaweed called bulbous kelp ( sacchorhyza polyschides) because it has a very characteristic strong yellowish bulb-shaped clamp with multiple protuberances.



   This stipe that connects the spike to the large blades is long and flattened like a sword. It can reach up to 2 m.



   Thus, a whole vegetation flourishes under the Iroise Sea. It is grazed by a small fauna of molluscs and serves as a refuge for fry of a variety of species. For humans, it is also an important resource for a large number of families. In this respect, it is a heritage that must be preserved.

To know everything about seaweeds, don't miss visiting the Seaweed House on the port of Lanildut. Free admission.
The Seaweed House

***


QR code of this page :



Download this flashcode

***

Retour à l'accueil



Les algues situées plus bas que l'estran









Vous allez découvrir les algues à marée basse. Mais la mer remonte ensuite.
Prudence : pendant 6 heures la mer monte à des vitesses différentes !


Qu'elle monte ou qu'elle descende, la marée respecte toujours la règle des douzièmes. Retenez : 1-2-3-3-2-1



Les horaires des marées aujourd'hui: cliquez sur le lien ci-dessous :

SHOM



   Les algues décrites sur cette page sont celles que la mer recouvre en permanence et qui forment une véritable forêt jusqu'à une trentaine de mètres de profondeur sous les eaux d'Iroise.



   La laminaire saccharine ( laminaria saccharina ) ou kombu royal est une algue brune dont les touffes sont accrochées par un crampon à la roche. Ses longues lames gaufrées sur toute leur longueur et aux bords ondulés peuvent atteindre 4 m. Lorsqu'elles sont sèches, une poussière blanche et sucrée apparaît à leur surface. Cette algue est riche en iode. Elle est utilisée en cuisine.


D'une longueur appréciable, cette laminaire saccharine
est pourtant loin de figurer parmi les plus grandes.


   Deux autres espèces de laminaires peuplent les forêts sous-marines et constituent le tali que recherchent les goémoniers professionnels. On les aperçoit au port de Lanildut lors du déchargement des navires, mais on ne les voit que très partiellement à marée basse, et seulement les jours de grande marée.

Ci-dessous, la laminaire digitée ( laminaria digitata ) ou tali moan se reconnaît à son crampon fixé à la roche par des sortes de doigts et à sa hampe, son stipe, court, lisse et flexible. Longue en moyenne de 1 m à 1,50 m, elle peut vivre cinq ans jusqu'à 6 m de profondeur sur des fonds rocheux peu brassés par les vagues. C'est elle que l'on voit émerger à certains endroits lors des plus grandes marées. Autrefois coupée depuis le bateau à la guillotine, sorte de serpe à long manche, sa récolte fut grandement améliorée grâce à l'invention du « scoubidou » par Yves Colin, goémonier de Porspoder. Aujourd'hui, la flottille goémonière de Lanildut qui la recherche est équipée de scoubidous hydrauliques. En 2011, ce sont 25000 tonnes de cette algue qui ont été débarquées dans ce port.




Le scoubidou est une sorte de grand tire-bouchon actionné par un bras articulé. En tournant sur lui-même dans un champ d'algues, il les enroule et les arrache du fond puis les dépose dans le bateau en tournant dans l'autre sens.
Dessin: Parc Naturel Marin d'Iroise



   La laminaire rugueuse ( laminaria hyperborea ) ou tali penn doit son nom au toucher plus rude de son long stipe. Pouvant atteindre une longueur de 3 m et une durée de vie de 15 ans, elle est très abondante sur le plateau molénais et affectionne des zones plus profondes, jusqu'à 30 m sous la surface. Elle est récoltée à l'aide du « peigne norvégien ». En 2011, 10000 tonnes d'hyperborea ont été déchargées à Lanildut. Depuis 2013, les goémoniers qui la recherchent ont équipé leurs bateaux de balises de géolocalisation afin de d'optimiser la gestion de la récolte. Un suivi scientifique est assuré car il est capital, pour la ressource en poissons et crustacés, de ne pas dégrader durablement des fonds marins qui servent d'abri aux larves et aux alevins.




Le peigne norvégien est une drague large de 1,50 m.
Elle est tractée et arrache les algues entre ses dents.

Dessin: Parc Naturel Marin d'Iroise


Ces deux laminaires sont déchargées à Lanildut et transportées par camion aux usines de transformation de Lannilis et de Landerneau qui en extraient les alginates appelés E401 à E405 dans l'industrie alimentaire.

Les forêts de laminaires les plus profondes sont encore composées d'une autre algue appelée laminaire bulbeuse ( sacchorhyza polyschides ) car elle est dotée d'un fort crampon très caractéristique en forme de bulbe jaunâtre orné de multiples protubérances.



   Ce stipe qui relie le crampon aux grandes lames est long et aplati comme un sabre.



   Ainsi, toute une végétation s'épanouit sous la mer d'Iroise. Elle est broutée par une petite faune de mollusques et sert de refuge aux alevins d'une quantité d'espèces. Pour l'homme, c'est aussi une ressource importante faisant vivre un grand nombre de familles. A ce double titre, c'est un patrimoine qui doit être préservé.

Pour tout savoir sur les algues, ne manquez pas de visiter la Maison de l'Algue sur le port de Lanildut. Entrée libre.
La Maison de l'Algue

***


QR code de cette page :



Télécharger ce flashcode

***