Back to home pageFrench    German    Spanish    



Invasive plants in the Pays d'Iroise

The Pampas grass





   With its majestic habit and pretty white feathers that sway in the wind, resistant to drought, this plant native to South America is the ideal vegetation to decorate a massif in a garden. Some municipalities have even reserved a prominent place for it on a roundabout or along the pedestrian walkway. Look closely, you see it everywhere. It is indeed very decorative as below in hedges to hide the wall of a street.


Le Conquet

   In addition, its very rapid growth is appreciated by amateur gardeners who are looking for a virtually immediate effect.



   However, it is known that asthmatics can be very sensitive to pollen from this plant.

But above all, it is the source of another annoyance.


Porspoder

   This boredom is the seeds that the pretty feathers will give to the wind. A wind that will carry them away, sometimes tens of kilometres away as they are so light. Each plant provides about ten million seeds ! These tiny dusts will probably sprout in the neighbour's garden, but also in nature, far from the garden or roundabout from which they have escaped.


Le Conquet, touristic road

   Thus new and equally prolific colonies of pampas grasses are formed very silently in meadows, in valleys, even along roadsides, whose rapid multiplication will inevitably lead to a change in the surrounding vegetation. Somewhat isolated areas, sheltered from human intervention, quickly become new nests of concentration from which this American grass will once again spread to the detriment of native vegetation. As it prefers recently disturbed lands, embankments, it is frequently seen colonizing slopes along railways or highways, especially in regions with a mild climate such as the Atlantic Pyrenees where it is so widespread that it is no longer an original decorative plant. Is this an effect of global warming ? We now see it developing rapidly along the Breton coast.


Le Conquet:  coastal path between Porsliogan and Le Bilou.
This pampas grass forest did not exist in 2014.
and was in great danger of colonizing the entire area.
Photos September 2015 .




   To avoid this incredible spread of seeds, it is obviously necessary to cut off the feathers before they mature, which takes place in autumn. However, this intervention is not easy to apply because in the middle of nature nobody really cares about it and in the gardens how to explain it to the owners who have planted these plantations precisely for the beauty of these pretty feathers? Each of us is tempted to keep them, without even considering the conséquences on the neighbouring garden and the environment. We close our eyes and let it... the Wind to do.


Brélès:  bent by wind and rain,
these stems seem not to be able to recover from the bad weather.
Don't get me wrong, at the first ray of sunshine they will straighten up,
finish ripening, and offer their microscopic seeds to the wind.
The plant, extremely resistant, created them for this purpose.


   Thus, an ornamental plant ends up becoming a real and extremely invasive botanical plague that becomes more and more difficult to eradicate every year.
  You have this pampas grass in your garden. To protect our environment, by any chance, you wouldn't also have a pruner ? But take some precautions when you come to cut the feathers at the end of the summer : the edges of the leaves are as sharp as razor blades. This may be another reason, if you have children, to permanently rid your garden of this invasive plant.

Yannick Loukianoff


All photos were taken in September 2015. Since then, interventions have been carried out, particularly in Le Conquet, to limit the extension of this plant.

READ MORE




Serge MULLER : "Plantes invasives en France"
Ed. Museum d'Histoire Naturelle 2006


On the Internet:
Conservatoire Botanique

See the website of the National Botanical Conservatory of Brest
from which we have extracted the following eradication advice :

Control or eradication methods

There are several ways to control the expansion of pampas grass :
 - Cutting of flower stems should be systematically considered before seed dispersal.
  - Depending on the extent of the problem, a more or less heavy mechanical treatment must be considered in order to remove the tufts. The machines used range from brush cutters to backhoe loaders. This technique is effective, especially when used sufficiently upstream, as it limits the spread of seeds in natural environments.
 -  Chemical treatment has been used locally ( the most commonly used herbicides are glyphosate-based ). However, the General Council of Finistère wishes to prohibit the use of phytosanitary products because of the risks to the environment and health.
 -  Information and awareness are a major strategic focus in the fight against this species. Eradication actions must be accompanied by a broader awareness-raising campaign to limit or better prohibit the use of this species on the periphery of natural areas as well as along community roads, roundabouts or green spaces. This phase of information to the public, administrations and economic actors ( nurserymen, landscape gardeners, natural area managers ) should make it possible to inform the population of the invasive nature of this species and the harmful effects it causes both ecologically and in terms of public health. A ministerial order to prohibit the spread of pampas grass is being prepared.


***


QR code of this page :



Download this flashcode

***

Retour à l'accueil



Plantes invasives du Pays d'Iroise

L'herbe de la pampa





   Avec son port majestueux et ses jolis plumets blancs qui se balancent au vent, résistante à la sécheresse, cette plante originaire d'Amérique du Sud constitue la végétation idéale pour orner un massif dans un jardin. Certaines communes lui ont même réservé une place prépondérante sur un rond-point ou encore en bordure d'allée piétonne. Regardez bien, vous la voyez partout. Elle est en effet très décorative comme ci-dessous en haie pour cacher le mur de la rue.


Le Conquet

   De plus sa croissance très rapide est appéciée des jardiniers amateurs qui recherchent un effet pour ainsi dire immédiat.



   Cependant il est avéré que les asthmatiques peuvent être très sensibles au pollen de cette plante.

Mais elle est surtout la source d'un autre ennui.


Porspoder

   Cet ennui, ce sont ses graines que les jolis plumets vont offrir au vent. Un vent qui va les emporter au loin, parfois à des dizaines de kilomètres tant elles sont légères. Chaque plant fournit environ dix millions de graines ! Ces poussières minuscules vont s'empresser d'aller germer chez le voisin sans doute, mais aussi dans la nature, loin du jardin ou du rond-point dont elles se sont échappées.


Le Conquet, route touristique

   Ainsi se forment très silencieusement dans les prés, dans les vallons, même au bord des routes, de nouvelles colonies d'herbes de la pampa tout aussi prolifiques, dont la multiplication rapide va entraîner immanquablement une modification de la végétation environnante. Les endroits un peu isolés, à l'abri des interventions humaines, deviennent vite de nouveaux nids de concentration à partir desquels la plante américaine va de nouveau se répandre au détriment de la végétation autochtone. Comme elle affectionne les terrains récemment remués, les remblais, on la voit fréquemment coloniser les talus le long des voies ferrées ou des autoroutes, particulièrement dans les régions au climat doux comme dans les Pyrénées Atlantiques où elle est si répandue qu'elle n'a plus rien d'une plante originale décorative. Est-ce un effet du réchauffement climatique ? On la voit maintenant se développer rapidement le long des côtes bretonnes.


Le Conquet:  sentier côtier entre Porsliogan et Le Bilou.
Cette forêt d'herbes de la pampa n'existait pas en 2014.
et risquait fort de coloniser tout le secteur.
Photos septembre 2015 .




   Pour éviter cette dissémination incroyable des graines, il faut évidemment couper les plumets avant leur maturation qui a lieu en automne. Cependant cette intervention n'est pas facile à faire appliquer car en pleine nature personne ne s'en préoccupe vraiment et dans les jardins comment l'expliquer aux propriétaires qui ont effectué ces plantations justement pour la beauté de ces jolis plumets ? Chacun de nous est tenté de les conserver, sans même envisager les conséquences sur le jardin voisin et l'environnement. On ferme les yeux et on laisse faire... le vent.


Brélès:  courbés par le vent et la pluie,
ces plumets semblent ne pas pouvoir se remettre des intempéries.
Détrompez-vous, au premier rayon de soleil ils vont se redresser,
finir de mûrir, et offrir leurs graines microscopiques au vent.
La plante, extrêmemnt résistante, les a créés dans ce but.


   C'est donc ainsi qu'une plante ornementale finit par devenir une vraie peste botanique extrêmement envahissante qu'il devient chaque année de plus en plus difficile d'éradiquer.
  Vous avez chez vous cette herbe de la pampa. Pour protéger notre environnement, par hasard, vous n'auriez pas aussi un sécateur ? Mais prenez quelques précautions en venant couper les plumets à la fin de l'été : les bords des feuilles sont aussi coupants que des lames de rasoir. C'est peut-être une raison supplémentaire, si vous avez des enfants, pour débarrasser définitivement votre jardin de cette plante invasive.

Yannick Loukianoff


Toutes les photos ont été prises en septembre 2015. Depuis cette date, des interventions ont été effectuées, notamment au Conquet, dans le but de limiter l'extension de cette plante.

EN SAVOIR PLUS




Serge MULLER : "Plantes invasives en France"
Ed. Museum d'Histoire Naturelle 2006


Sur internet :
Conservatoire Botanique

Voir le site du Conservatoire Botanique National de Brest
dont nous avons extrait les conseils d'éradication ci-dessous :

Méthodes de contrôle ou d'éradication

Il existe plusieurs moyens de lutte contre l'expansion de l'herbe de la pampa :
 - La coupe des tiges florales doit être envisagée systématiquement avant la dissémination des graines.
  - Selon l'ampleur du problème, un traitement mécanique plus ou moins lourd doit être envisagé en vue d'un arrachage des touffes. Les engins utilisés vont de la débroussailleuse au tracto-pelle. Cette technique est efficace, surtout lorsqu'on l'utilise suffisamment en amont, car elle permet de limiter la dissémination des graines dans les milieux naturels.
 -  Le traitement chimique a localement été employé ( les herbicides les plus couramment utilisés sont à base de glyphosate ). Cependant, Le Conseil général du Finistère souhaite proscrire l'usage des produits phytosanitaires en raison des risques pour l'environnement et la santé.
 -  L'information et la sensibilisation constituent un axe stratégique majeur dans la lutte contre cette espèce. Les actions d'éradication doivent en effet être accompagnées d'une action plus large de sensibilisation en vue de limiter, ou mieux d'interdire, l'utilisation de cette espèce en périphérie des espaces naturels ainsi que le long des routes, ronds-points ou espaces verts des collectivités. Cette phase d'information du public, des administrations et des acteurs économiques ( pépiniéristes, paysagistes, gestionnaires d'espaces naturels ) doit permettre d'informer la population du caractère invasif de cette espèce et des nuisances qu'elle engendre aussi bien au plan écologique qu'au plan de la santé publique. Un arrêté ministériel visant à interdire la diffusion de l'herbe de la pampa est en cours d'élaboration.


***


QR code de cette page :



Télécharger ce flashcode

***