Back to home pageFrench German 



Saint-Paul-Aurélien Church

(Municipality of Lampaul-Plouarzel)





GPS : 48°26'51.6 N   4°45'37.1 W



Le mur-clocher

Access :
Park at the entrance of the village, on the church square.


L'église de Lampaul-Plouarzel

First of all, it should be known that this church was originally a chapel called San Sebastian Chapel. The St-Paul-Aurélien parish church was located closer to the sea and to all the houses in the XVIth century. However, poorly maintained and built on sandhills, it disappeared under the sands a little more with each storm and ends up being totally abandoned and so forgotten, that today its location1 is still unknown. From then on, in 1774, the St. Sebastian chapel, restored and enlarged, had been promoted to parish church and henceforth bore the name of St. Paul-Aurélien church.

Why that name? The tradition wants that in the VIth century, coming from Wales, Saint Paul - or Pol - Aurélien, after having landed Ouessant Island, would have reached the continent at Porspaul, the port of Lampaul-Plouarzel. There he founded a monastery, or oratory, which he placed under the direction of one of his companions, since known as Saint Kar or Saint Egarec. Paul-Aurélien would then have reached Lampaul-Ploudalmézeau, and then Batz island where it is said that he would have rid the population of a terrible dragon. We know that King Childebert Ist appointed him bishop and offered him the bishopric of Castel-Paol, the present St-Pol-de-Léon.
Saint Paul-Aurélien is considered as one of the seven holy founders of Brittany, whom the pilgrims of the Middle Ages worshipped during their 'Tro Breizh', the Tour of Brittany.

Le mur-clocher

From its past as a simple chapel, as can be seen in the Saint-Egarec chapel, the church has preserved its bell-tower wall. Very sober, it presents at the top three openings occupied by the bells. Its only ornamentation is a stone bearing a cross engraved in relief in a frame and placed well above the portal, which could sign its construction by a noble of the XVIIth century.

Croix gravée


Near the entrance porch is an interpretation panel in french, which must be read to fully understand the building's current architecture.

Le panneau explicatif
C.C.P.I. Design and production: jezequel-publicite.com

Plan

Indeed, the population of the commune having largely increased, great works were undertaken in 1970 in order to still extend the building. But the presence of streets and houses left no choice but to build in the north, in the cemetery. It was therefore moved further west, near the present town hall. Then the facade opposite the road was pull down and a large building was built which doubled the total surface of the church. The chancel once located to the east, turned 90° to the north, giving the whole nave a new orientation.


The nave

After crossing the porch and passing in front of the large built-in stoup near the entrance, the visitor enters the nave. He is immediately surprised, as much by the size of the nave as by the contrast between an exterior architecture of the XVIIth and a very modern interior. The nave, practically square, is both very large and unusual.

La nef


Thanks to an elegant lattice vault that rests on the walls, no pillar clutter the space. The absence of stained-glass is compensated by a central glass roof and a series of small openings in the side walls. The decoration and all the furniture are particularly sober.

L'autel


The altar in the shape of a curved tomb and decorated with the Paschal Lamb comes from one of the previous places of worship and fits perfectly into this ensemble. The same is true of the granite baptismal basin decorated with gadroons and the ex-voto, to which is added a recent Way of the Cross. This juxtaposition of ancient and modern elements does not shock.

La cuve baptismale


L'ex-voto


Le chemin de croix


The statues


St-Paul-Aurélien


Saint Paul-Aurélien thrones near the entrance. He is always represented trampling the dragon of Batz island, which he would have compelled to throw itself into the sea. This statue of the XVIth century probably comes from the silted church which was dedicated to him.

To the left of the altar, we discover San Sebastian, riddled with the arrows of his martyrdom, This beautiful statue of the XVIth century already patronized this building when it was only a modest chapel.

St Sébastien


To the right of the entrance, an ancient statue is enigmatic.

St Jacques


Its base no longer bears any name. And no attribute helps the visitor to identify it. It is perhaps Saint Egarec, in Gothic chasuble, already represented with mitre and bishop's crosier in the chapel of the same name.


Two Virgins with Child are also ancient statues.

Vierge-1 Vierge-2



As we leave the building, we will not fail to take a look at the confessional located near the entrance. Built to measure in this space, it probably dates from the transformation of the chapel into a church.

Confessionnal



And outside, it is also advisable to observe the calvary erected on the wall of the enclosure. The cross of the XVIth century in kersanton stone supports two twinned statues of Saint Paul-Aurélien and his dragon.

Calvaire



-1- There is still a street called in Breton Hent an Ilis, Church street, between Porscave road and the sea. But this place seems too far from Lampaul Goz, the old Lampaul. This one, located south of Porspaul street, comprises a district named Kerbeleyen, the village of the priests, which seems better to suit the emplacement of the previous church.

Yannick Loukianoff


READ MORE


"Nouveau répertoire des églises et chapelles"
René Couffon, Alfred Le Bars, Diocese of Quimper and Leon, Quimper, Diocesan Association, 1988, 551 p




QR code of this page:



Download this flashcode

Retour à l'accueilAnglais Allemand 



L'église Saint-Paul-Aurélien

(Commune de Lampaul-Plouarzel)





GPS : 48°26'51.6 N   4°45'37.1 W



Le mur-clocher

Accès:
Stationner à l'entrée du bourg, sur la place de l'église.


L'église de Lampaul-Plouarzel

Il faut d'abord savoir que cette église était à l'origine une chapelle qui portait le nom de chapelle Saint-Sébastien. L'église paroissiale St-Paul-Aurélien était située plus près de la mer et de l'ensemble des habitations au XVIeme siècle. Cependant, mal entretenue et bâtie dans les dunes, elle disparaissait sous les sables un peu plus à chaque tempête et finit par être totalement abandonnée et tellement oubliée qu'aujourd'hui on ignore toujours son emplacement1. Dès lors, en 1774, la chapelle St-Sébastien, restaurée et agrandie, fut promue église paroissiale et porta désormais le nom d'église St-Paul-Aurélien.

Pourquoi ce nom ? La tradition veut qu'au VIeme siècle, venu du Pays de Galles, Saint Paul - ou Pol - Aurélien, après avoir débarqué à Ouessant, aurait abordé le continent à Porspaul, le port de Lampaul-Plouarzel. Il y aurait fondé un monastère, ou un oratoire, qu'il aurait placé sous la direction de l'un de ses compagnons, connu depuis sous le nom de Saint Kar ou Saint Egarec. Paul-Aurélien aurait ensuite gagné Lampaul-Ploudalmézeau, puis l'île de Batz où l'on dit qu'il débarrassa la population d'un terrible dragon. On sait que le roi Childebert 1er le nomma évêque et lui offrit l'évéché de Castel-Paol, l'actuel St-Pol-de-Léon.
Saint Paul-Aurélien est considéré comme l'un des sept saints fondateurs de la Bretagne, que les pélerins du Moyen Age vénéraient au cours de leur Tro Breizh, le Tour de Bretagne.

Le mur-clocher

De son passé de simple chapelle, comme on peut le voir à la chapelle Saint-Egarec, l'église a conservé son mur-clocher. Très sobre, il présente au sommet trois ouvertures occupées par les cloches. Sa seule ornementation est une pierre portant une croix gravée en relief dans un cadre et placée très au-dessus du portail, qui pourrait signer sa construction par un noble mécène du XVIIeme siècle.

Croix gravée


Près du porche d'entrée se trouve un panneau d'interprétation dont la lecture est indispensable pour bien comprendre l'architecture actuelle du bâtiment.

Le panneau explicatif
C.C.P.I. Conception et réalisation : jezequel-publicite.com

Plan

En effet, la population de la commune ayant largement augmenté, de grands travaux furent entrepris en 1970 afin d'agrandir encore l'édifice. Mais la présence des rues et des habitations ne laissait d'autre choix que de bâtir au nord, dans le cimetière. Celui-ci fut donc déplacé plus loin à l'ouest, près de l'actuelle mairie. Puis on abattit la façade opposée à la route et l'on construisit un vaste bâtiment qui doubla la surface totale de l'église. Le chœur, autrefois situé à l'est, pivota de 90° vers le nord, donnant ainsi à toute la nef une nouvelle orientation.


La nef

Après avoir franchi le porche et être passé devant le gros bénitier encastré près de l'entrée, le visiteur pénètre dans la nef. Il est immédiatement surpris, autant par la taille de la salle que par le contraste entre une architecture extérieure du XVIIeme et un intérieur très moderne. La nef, pratiquement carrée, est à la fois très vaste et peu banale.

La nef


Grâce à une élégante charpente en croisillons qui s'appuie sur les murs, aucun pilier n'encombre l'espace. L'absence de vitraux est compensée par une verrière centrale et une série de petites ouvertures dans les murs latéraux. La décoration ainsi que tout le mobilier sont particulièrement sobres.

L'autel


L'autel en forme de tombeau galbé et orné de l'Agneau pascal provient de l'un des précédents lieux de culte et s'harmonise parfaitement à cet ensemble. Il en est de même de la cuve baptismale en granite décorée de godrons et de l'ex-voto auxquels s'ajoute un récent chemin de croix. La juxtaposition d'éléments anciens et modernes ne choque pas.

La cuve baptismale


L'ex-voto


Le chemin de croix


Les statues


St-Paul-Aurélien


Saint Paul-Aurélien trône près de l'entrée. Il est toujours représenté foulant aux pieds le dragon de l'île de Batz qu'il aurait forcé à se jeter dans les flots. Cette statue du XVIeme siècle provient vraisemblablement de l'église ensablée qui lui était dédiée.

A gauche de l'autel, on découvre Saint Sébastien, criblé des flèches de son martyre, Cette belle statue du XVIeme siècle patronnait déjà cet édifice quand celui-ci n'était qu'une modeste chapelle.

St Sébastien


A droite de l'entrée, une statue ancienne est énigmatique.

St Jacques


Son socle ne porte plus aucun nom. Et aucun attribut n'aide le visiteur à l'identifier. Il s'agit sans doute de Saint Egarec, en chasuble gothique, déjà représenté avec mitre et crosse d'évêque dans la chapelle du même nom.


Deux Vierges à l'Enfant sont aussi des statues anciennes.

Vierge-1 Vierge-2



En quittant l'édifice, on ne manquera pas de jeter un œil sur le confessionnal situé près de l'entrée. Construit sur mesure dans cet espace, il date vraisemblablement de la transformation de la chapelle en église.

Confessionnal



Et à l'extérieur, il convient aussi d'observer le calvaire érigé sur le mur de l'enclos. La croix du XVIeme siècle en kersanton supporte sur son croisillon deux statues géminées de Saint Paul-Aurélien et de son dragon.

Calvaire



-1- Il existe encore une voie portant le nom de Hent an Ilis, route de l'Eglise, entre la route de Porscave et la mer. Mais ce lieu semble trop éloigné de Lampaul Goz, le vieux Lampaul. Celui-ci, situé au sud de la rue de Porspaul, comporte un quartier du nom de Kerbeleyen, le village des prêtres, qui paraît mieux convenir à l'emplacement de l'église précédente.

Yannick Loukianoff


EN SAVOIR PLUS


"Nouveau répertoire des églises et chapelles"
René Couffon, Alfred Le Bars, Diocèse de Quimper et de Léon, Quimper, Association diocésaine, 1988, 551 p




QR code de cette page :



Télécharger ce flashcode