Back to home pageFrench    German    Spanish    



Notre-Dame de Liesse Church

( Municipality of Saint-Renan)





Parking GPS : 48°25'55.8 N   4°37'30.8 W




Vue latérale

Access : Park preferably in the car park on Place St-Herbot and walk to the church.

    Formely, at the emplacement of this church, there used to be a small chapel called Notre-Dame ( Our Lady ). It is necessary to go back to 1728 to see, added to this appellation, the precision "of Liesse" ( of jubilation ). A probable reference to the basilica of the same name, in Champagne, where the kings as well as many popular pilgrimages venerated the Black Virgin.
The chapel saw its bell tower collapse in 1768. It was then decided to rebuild and enlarge it. The new building, built entirely of local granite, was completed in 1772. Twenty years later, during the Revolution, the chapel was erected as a parish church, as being larger and more beautiful than the old Saint-Ronan church at the lower city. Notre-Dame de Liesse was then enlarged in 1869, 1891, then restored in 1905.
   


L'église vue de face

Le panneau descriptif

   The bell tower bears little resemblance to those of the surrounding parishes. Its square tower is extended, above the gallery and the chamber of bells, by a dome supporting a high lantern, while two polygonal turrets with stairs, one of which houses the clock, are adjacent.

Le clocher

    One will notice the original orientation of this church whose bell tower and porch are on the east and the chancel on the west so that its access is by the street rather than by the cemetery.
    The interior is very large. The barrel vault rests on pillars that determine six spans and two aisles. The 1869 extension added a chancel with seven neo-Romanesque arches, an ambulatory and three radiant chapels.

la nef et le chœur

    At right as you enter, a marble baptistery awaits newborns.

Baptistère

The ten round pillars of the arcades of the chancel form a semicircle. The first two are even quadruples. All support carved neo-Romanesque capitals.

Piliers

choeur

    Sculptures from the former St. Ronan's Church still adorn the altar's basement. They represent five of the twelve apostles. A restoration was carried out following a break at the top right, of which one guesses the trace.

choeur

    From the left are the apostles Peter, Andrew, John, Bartholomew and Simon. A sixth apostle, Thomas, once completed this ensemble. Recovered after the break, it is now part of the collections of the Musée du Ponant.

Thomas

    The work of 1891 consisted in building an immense gallery above the entrance.

Plan du vitrail

The stained-glass windows

    Large stained-glass windows illuminate the nave and aisles. They are true masterpieces, realized during the restoration of 1905 by the workshop of master glassmakers Haussaire and Payan1, in Paris.
It is an original exposition of the Breton saints who are venerated in the Iroise country.
These characters appear generally in episcopal dress. Were they really bishops? Historians prefer substitute the term "influence area" of a monk, hermit or abbot of a small religious Community for the term bishopric. Most of these monks would have lived at the beginning of the Merovingian era and the evangelization of Brittany is assigned to them.

It is necessary to go up in the gallery to discover for example on the left Saint Rivoaré, the patron saint of Lanrivoaré's parish, in company of his blind nephew Saint Hervé who keeps on a leash the wolf serving him as guide. The Saint Hervé hermitage is located in Lanrivoaré and can be visited freely. ( The hermitage of Saint Hervé ).

On the opposite wall Saint Yves is the patron saint of lawyers, but also the defender of the poor. He is venerated in several places of Iroise country, notably in Trébabu. He holds in his hands a code and a scroll attesting to his function as a judge. ( Trébabu).

St Rivoaré
Saint Rivoaré and his nephew Saint Hervé
St Yves
Saint Yves

    Around the nave, one discovers successively on the left, under the gallery:

St. Guinel ( or Gwénaël ), without a beard because he became bishop very young, is the patron saint of Plougonvelin. He would have born in 454 in Quimper and died in Vannes after having lived several years in Ireland.

Further on, Saint Tugdual2 ( colloquially called Saint Pabu ), carries a gospel. Of Welsh origin, he would have landed on the peninsula of Kermorvan at Le Conquet. Patron saint of Trebabu, he was according to legend a fellow student of Saint Ildut and would have died in 564 after having been appointed bishop of Tréguier by King Childebert 1st and even having been pope for two years. But we have no historical evidence of that.

St Guinel
Saint Guinel
St Pabu
Saint Tugdual

Saint Peter, carrying the key to paradise and a scroll, is the patron saint of the churches of Ploumoguer and Lamber. ( Lamber).


St Pierre
Saint Peter

Saint Sané, bearing the Gospel, is the patron saint of Plouzané. Legend has it that he would have came from Ireland and reached the beach of Perzell in Plougonvelin. Companion of Saint Ronan, he would have founded the church of Locmaria-Plouzané and died in 485.

Saint Germain l'Auxerrois appears in the building because he owned an old chapel in the church. We know that he received from the Pope the mission to fight the heresy of pelagianism3. We see him here holding a dragon on a leash, which is never seen in his various representations. If the dragon obviously symbolizes paganism and heresies, we can think that this stained-glass attributes to the founder of the Auxerre's abbey the feat of another Saint Germain contemporary of the first. Indeed, Saint Germain à la Rouelle, which was baptized by the Auxerrois, is supposed to have evangelized part of Brittany and Normandy and unlike Saint Germain d'Auxerre, is still represented holding on a leash the dragon he would have captured in the Cotentin. Saint Germain l'Auxerrois died in 448.

St Sané
Saint Sané
St Germain
Saint Germain

The following four stained-glass windows are dedicated to the Blessed Virgin.

Saint Anne, grandmother of Christ, is the patron saint of all Brittany. With her husband Joachim, she teaches Mary the Holy Scriptures. Down, Ste-Anne's Basilica in Auray.
L'Assomption: Our Lady, the patron saint of this church like that of Locmaria-Plouzané, is carried to paradise by angels.
The Good Death : Mary confirms the extreme anointing administered by a priest to a dying person.
The Blessed Virgin brings souls from purgatory into heaven.

Then around the chancel, in honor's place :

Saint Corentin : he is the patron saint of the whole diocese of Quimper. According to legend he would have been the first bishop of it, towards the end of the Vth century. We see him here receiving this appointment from King Gradlon. The latter would have been amazed by a miracle performed by the saint : after a meal of fish, they would have miraculously come back to life.




Saint Corentin
One of the characters, on the left, recalls the miracle by brandishing a fish.


Paray-le-Monial: The Sacred Heart appears to Sainte Marguerite-Marie Alacoque.
The Sacred Heart : Devotion.

Saint Pol-Aurélien: Coming from Wales with 70 other monks, he would have reached the land around the year 480 in Lampaul on the island of Ouessant. Then he would have lived at Lampaul-Plouarzel, Lamber, and at Lampaul-Ploudalmézeau of which he is now the patron saint of the church. ( the church of Lampaul-Ploudalmézeau ). Then he would have gained St-Pol-de-Léon, center of the diocese which was entrusted to him by Childebert 1er in 530. He died on the island of Batz. We see him here received by the king. We notice that the kings are kneeling in the presence of the saints.


Saint Pol Aurélien

The following two very realistic stained-glass windows are dedicated to the Holy Family.

L'apprenti charpentier
Jesus, the apprentice carpenter
Mort de Saint Joseph
The death of Saint Joseph

Then come :

Saint Ronan . This saint of Irish origin crossed the English Channel in the 6th century in a stone trough and reached the Leonard shore. Gone back up the Aber Ildut river, he would have founded his hermitage at the place called Toul an Aon, not far from a spring, where today is the town hall of St-Renan. Later, he would have settled in Cornwall's country, at Locronan, probably on the emplacement of the present church which houses his tomb. Of course he is the patron saint of the St-Renan's parish, but also of Molène. ( The church of Molène ) . Saint Ronan appears in bishop's dress on this stained-glass window, casting out the demon from the body of a sick person. In Locronan, Saint Ronan is said to have resurrected his enemy's daughter, the woman Keben, who we see knocked down, at the far left.

St Ronan
Saint Ronan
St Arzel
Saint Arzel

Saint Arzel ( or Ourzal ): at the beginning of the VIth century, also would have crossed the Channel and founded a hermitage on the south bank of the Aber Ildut river, in Plouarzel. Then pursuing a wandering life in order to evangelize the population, he would have criss-crossed Brittany and several localities today bear his name. Legend has it that he defeated a dragon with only his stole and holy water as his weapons. This patron saint of the church of Plouarzel also shares with Saint Pol-Aurélien the patronage of the church of Ploudalmézeau. He is represented here as a bishop ( the church of Plouarzel: ).


Further on, here is Saint Matthieu. He was one of Christ's twelve apostles. With his pen, he writes a gospel. A legend4 claims that his relics were brought back from Egypt to the IVth century and deposited some time in the abbey of St-Mathieu headland of which depended the priory of St-Renan ( St. Matthew's Point Abbey ). Today they are kept in the cathedral of Salerno, Italy.

St Matthieu
Saint Matthew
La Sainte Croix
Holy Cross

The Holy Cross is the patron saint of the Conquet. Among them are from left to right Dom Michel Le Noblez and Father Julien Maunoir, Breton missionaries of the XVIIth century. The tomb of Dom Michel is inside the church of Le Conquet ( The church of Le Conquet ). His residence at Le Conquet is today a chapel ( Dom Michel Chapel ).


Saint Gouesnou would have been a companion of Saint Pol-Aurélien to whom he would have succeeded as bishop of Leon. It is said that he founded a monastery in Gouesnou and died in 675.

St Gouesnou
Saint Gouesnou
St Sébastien
Saint Sebastian

Saint Sébastien would have lived in IIIth century. Originally from Narbonne and centurion in the Roman army, he was reportedly denounced for his Christian faith and died a martyr under the arrows. Its representation on a stained-glass window recalls that an old chapel was dedicated to him in the city.

    The statues

In 1969, in application of the Second Vatican Council, many of the church's ornaments were removed, including statues that were placed in the Brest Religious Museum. But we kept some of them as the very beautiful statue of Saint Roch, which dates from the XVth century.

St Ronan
The saint, wounded, is represented here with his pilgrim stick
and accompanied by his dog, Roquet,
bringing him like every day a bread that he stole.


  

St Ronan
Saint Ronan

Notre-Dame des Victoires
Behind the altar, Notre-Dame des Victoires, acquired in 1804




Notre-Dame de Liesse
Notre Dame de Liesse, patron saint of the church.
Wooden statue of the XVIth century.



St Ronan
Surrounded by 7 cherubs painted on a panel,
it once welcomed the faithful under the entrance porch.


   The bells

Of course, for safety reasons, the public does not have access to the bell tower stairs. They lead to the gallery of the chamber of the two bells, through which one reaches the skylight which houses a third, smaller one.

St Ronan

   The originality of this church, the quality of its stained-glass windows and its beautiful statue of Saint Roch are particularly noteworthy. As for the choice of saints that it presents on its stained-glass windows, and which gives pride of place to certain Breton saints, we would have liked to see Saint Haude, Saint Samson, Saint-Ildut, Saint Ergat, Saint Budoc or Saint Egarec who sponsor other religious buildings in the Iroise country. But it must be understood that the initial choice was limited to the canton of St-Renan and that it has been completed or modified by that of the donors, among whom some priests or some families had ties out of the Iroise country. The gallery of saints is therefore neither exhaustive nor exclusively Breton, which may also reflect the desire to show a certain universality of faith.

***

Léon Payan designed and made the stained-glass windows of a large number of churches and chapels in Brittany. For more information on this artist and his work, see the very documented website dedicated to him. ( site Léon Payan )
-2- Read on the internet the page entitled "Saint Tugdual" written by Jean-Pierre Clochon, historian of Le Conquet ( Saint Tugdual ). He relates the arrival of Saint Tugdual in the peninsula of Kermorvan and explains the origin of his nickname Saint Pabu.
3- Pelagianism is a Christian doctrine spread at the end of the IVth century in the Roman Empire by the monk Pelagius, born in Great Britain. In opposition to Saint Augustine, Pelagius denied original sin and divine pardon. He considered that man had his free will and gained paradise or hell directly according to the acts accomplished in his life. Baptism losing its meaning, the Council of Carthage in 418 and Pope Zozime have condemned this doctrine as heresy.
4- The story of this legend appears in "La translation des reliques de Saint Mathieu", booklet published by "Les Amis de Saint Mathieu" and available at the "Musée de la Pointe St-Mathieu", in Plougonvelin. A critical analysis of this legend by the historian Joseph Loth can be found on the internet. ( The analysis ) .

Thanks to Mr. Jos Saliou and the association "Musée du Ponant" which he co-chairs, for their help and loan of documents.

Yannick Loukianoff

***

QR code of this page:



Download this flashcode

Accueil

L'église Notre-Dame de Liesse

( Commune de Saint-Renan )





GPS du stationnement place Saint-Herbot : 48°25'55.8 N   4°37'30.8 W




Vue latérale

Accès: Stationner de préférence sur le parking de la place St-Herbot et rejoindre l'église à pied.

    A l'emplacement de cette église, l'ancienne chapelle Notre-Dame de Liesse avait vu son clocher s'écrouler en 1768. On décida alors de la reconstruire et de l'agrandir. Le nouvel édifice, entièrement bâti en granite local, fut achevé en 1772. En 1792, sous la Révolution, Notre-Dame de Liesse a été érigée en église paroissiale, comme étant plus grande et plus belle que l'ancienne église Saint-Ronan du bas de la ville. Notre-Dame de Liesse fut ensuite agrandie en 1869, 1891, puis restaurée en 1905.
   Il faut remonter à 1728 pour voir, ajoutée à l'ancienne dénomination de "Notre-Dame" de la chapelle, la précision "de Liesse". Une référence probable à la basilique du même nom, en Champagne, où les rois ainsi que de nombreux pélerinages populaires vénéraient la Vierge noire.


L'église vue de face

Le panneau descriptif

  Le clocher ressemble peu à ceux des paroisses environnantes. Sa tour carrée est prolongée, au-dessus de la galerie et de la chambre des cloches, par un dôme supportant un haut lanternon, tandis que deux tourelles polygonales à escaliers, dont l'une héberge l'horloge, lui sont accolées.

Le clocher

   On remarquera l'orientation originale de cette église dont le clocher et le porche se trouvent à l'est et le chœur à l'ouest afin que son accès se fasse par la rue plutôt que par le cimetière.
   L'intérieur est très vaste. La voûte en berceau repose sur des piliers qui déterminent six travées et deux bas-côtés. L'agrandissement de 1869 y ajouta un chœur à sept arcades néo-romanes, un déambulatoire et trois chapelles rayonnantes.

la nef et le chœur

   A droite en entrant, un baptistère en marbre attend les nouveaux-nés.

Baptistère

Les dix piliers ronds des arcades du chœur forment un demi-cercle. Les deux premiers sont même quadruples. Tous supportent des chapiteaux néo-romans sculptés.

Piliers

choeur

   Des sculptures de l'ancienne église ornent encore le soubassement de l'autel. Elles représentent 5 des 12 apôtres. L'un d'eux a dû être restauré.

choeur

   Les travaux de 1891 consistèrent à édifier une immense tribune au-dessus de l'entrée.

Plan du vitrail

Les vitraux

   Eclairant largement la nef et les bas-côtés, de grands vitraux ornent cette église. Ce sont de véritables chefs-d'œuvre, réalisés lors de la restauration de 1905 par l'atelier de maîtres-verriers Haussaire et Payan1, à Paris.
Leur originalité : c'est une galerie des saints bretons vénérés dans le Pays d'Iroise.
D'une manière générale, les saints bretons figurent en tenue épiscopale. Ont-ils réellement été évêques ? Les historiens préfèrent substituer au terme d'évéché celui de "zone d'influence" d'un moine, ermite ou encore abbé d'une petite communauté religieuse. La plupart vivaient au début de l'époque mérovingienne et on leur attribue l'évangélisation de la Bretagne.

Il faut monter dans la tribune pour découvrir par exemple à gauche Saint Rivoaré, le patron de la paroisse de Lanrivoaré, en compagnie de son neveu aveugle Saint Hervé qui tient en laisse le loup lui servant de guide. L'ermitage de Saint Hervé se trouve à Lanrivoaré et se visite librement.

Sur le mur opposé, Saint Yves, est le patron des avocats, mais aussi le défenseur des pauvres. On le vénère dans plusieurs lieux du Pays d'Iroise, notamment à Trébabu. Il tient en mains un code et un parchemin attestant sa fonction de juge.

St Rivoaré
Saint Rivoaré et son neveu Saint Hervé
St Yves
Saint Yves


   Autour de la nef, on découvre successivement en partant à gauche, sous la tribune :

Saint Guinel ( ou Gwénaël ), sans barbe parce que devenu évêque très jeune, qui est le patron de Plougonvelin. Il serait né en 454 à Quimper et mort à Vannes après avoir vécu plusieurs années en Irlande.

Plus loin, Saint Tugdual2 ( appelé familièrement Saint Pabu ), porte un évangile. D'origine galloise, il aurait débarqué dans la presqu'île de Kermorvan. Patron de Trébabu, il fut selon la légende un compagnon d'études de Saint Ildut et serait mort en 564 après avoir été nommé évêque de Tréguier par le roi Childebert 1er et avoir même été pape pendant deux années. Mais on n'en a aucune preuve historique.

St Guinel
Saint Guinel
St Pabu
Saint Tugdual

Saint Pierre, portant la clé du paradis et un parchemin, est le patron des églises de Ploumoguer et de Lamber.


St Pierre
Saint Pierre

Saint Sané, portant l'Evangile, est le patron de Plouzané. La légende prétend que, venu d'Irlande, il aurait débarqué sur la plage de Perzell, à Plougonvelin. Compagnon de Saint Ronan, il aurait fondé l'église de Locmaria-Plouzané et serait mort en 485.

Saint Germain l'Auxerrois figure ici car il était titulaire d'une ancienne chapelle de l'église. On sait qu'il reçut du pape la mission de combattre l'hérésie du pélagianisme3. Or on le voit tenant en laisse un dragon, ce qui n'est jamais le cas. Si le dragon symbolise évidemment le paganisme et les hérésies, on peut penser qu'il s'agit de l'attribution au fondateur de l'abbaye d'Auxerre de l'exploit d'un autre Saint Germain contemporain du premier. En effet, Saint Germain à la Rouelle, qui fut baptisé par l'Auxerrois, est censé avoir évangélisé une partie de la Bretagne et de la Normandie et contrairement à Saint Germain d'Auxerre, est toujours représenté tenant en laisse le dragon qu'il aurait capturé dans le Cotentin. Saint Germain l'Auxerrois est mort en 448

St Sané
Saint Sané
St Germain
Saint Germain

Les quatre vitraux suivants sont consacrés à la Vierge.

Sainte Anne, grand-mère du Christ, est la patronne de toute la Bretagne. Avec son mari Joachim, elle enseigne à Marie les Saintes Ecritures. En bas, la basilique Ste-Anne d'Auray.
L'Assomption: Notre-Dame, la patronne de cette église comme celle de Locmaria-Plouzané, est emportée au paradis par des anges.
La Bonne mort: Marie confirme l'extrême onction administrée par un prêtre à un mourant.
La Vierge Marie fait entrer au paradis des âmes venant du purgatoire.

Puis viennent autour du chœur, en place d'honneur :

Saint Corentin: C'est le patron de tout le diocèse. Il fut vers la fin du Ve siècle, selon la légende, le premier évêque de Quimper. On le voit ici recevant ce titre des mains du roi Gradlon. Ce dernier aurait été émerveillé par un prodige accompli par le saint : après un repas de poissons ceux-ci auraient repris vie miraculeusement.

Paray-le-Monial: Le Sacré-Cœur apparaît à Sainte Marguerite-Marie Alacoque.
Le Sacré-Cœur : La dévotion.

Saint Pol-Aurélien: Venant du Pays de Galles en compagnie de 70 autres moines, il aurait débarqué aux alentours de l'an 480 à Lampaul dans l'île d'Ouessant. Il aurait séjourné ensuite à Lampaul-Plouarzel et à Lampaul-Ploudalmézeau dont il est le patron de l'église. Puis il aurait gagné St-Pol-de-Léon, centre du diocèse qui lui fut confié par Childebert 1er en 530. Il mourut dans l'île de Batz. On le voit ici reçu par le roi. On remarque que sur ces deux vitraux les rois sont agenouillés en présence des saints.

St Corentin
Saint Corentin
St Pol-Aurélien
Saint Pol-Aurélien

Les deux vitraux suivants, très réalistes, sont dédiés à la Sainte Famille.

L'apprenti charpentier
Jésus apprenti charpentier
Mort de Saint Joseph
La mort de Saint Joseph

Puis viennent:
Saint Ronan. Ce saint d'origine irlandaise aurait traversé la Manche au VIIe siècle dans une auge en pierre et aurait abordé le rivage léonard. Remontant l'Aber Ildut, il aurait fondé son ermitage au lieu-dit Toul an Aon, non loin d'une source, là où se trouve aujourd'hui la mairie de St-Renan. Il se serait plus tard installé en Cornouaille, à Locronan, sans doute à l'emplacement de l'église actuelle qui héberge son tombeau. Il est évidemment le patron de la paroisse de St-Renan, mais aussi de Molène. Saint Ronan figure en costume d'évêque sur ce vitrail, chassant le démon du corps d'un malade. A Locronan, Saint Ronan aurait ressuscité la fille de son ennemie, la Keben, que l'on aperçoit, terrassée, au fond, à gauche.

Saint Arzel ( ou Armel ). Au début du VIe siècle, il aurait lui aussi traversé la Manche et fondé un ermitage sur la rive sud de l'aber Ildut, en Plouarzel. Poursuivant ensuite une vie errante afin d'évangéliser la population, il aurait sillonné la Bretagne et plusieurs localités portent aujourd'hui son nom. La légende retient qu'il aurait terrassé un dragon avec pour seules armes son étole et de l'eau bénite. Le patron de l'église de Plouarzel partage aussi avec Saint Pol-Aurélien le patronnage de celle de Ploudalmézeau. Il est représenté ici en évêque.

St Ronan
Saint Ronan
St Arzel
Saint Arzel

Saint Matthieu fut l'un des douze apôtres du Christ. Armé de sa plume, il rédige un évangile. Une légende4 prétend que ses reliques auraient été ramenées d'Ethiopie au IVe siècle et déposées quelque temps à l'abbaye de la pointe St-Mathieu dont dépendait le prieuré de St-Renan. Elles sont aujourd'hui conservées dans la cathédrale de Salerne, en Italie.

La Sainte Croix est la patronne du Conquet. Auprès d'elle figurent de gauche à droite Dom Michel Le Noblez et le père Julien Maunoir, missionnaires bretons du XVIIe siècle. Le tombeau de Dom Michel se trouve à l'intérieur de l'église du Conquet. Sa demeure au Conquet est aujourd'hui une chapelle.

St Matthieu
Saint Matthieu
La Sainte Croix
La Sainte Croix

Saint Gouesnou était un compagnon de Saint Pol-Aurélien auquel il aurait succédé comme évêque du Léon. Il fonda un monastère à Gouesnou et serait mort en 675.

Saint Sébastien aurait vécu au IIIe siècle. Originaire de Narbonne et centurion dans l'armée romaine, il aurait été dénoncé pour sa foi chrétienne et serait mort en martyr sous les flèches. Sa représentation sur un vitrail rappelle qu'une ancienne chapelle lui était consacrée dans la ville.

St Gouesnou
Saint Gouesnou
St Sébastien
Saint Sébastien

   Les statues

En 1969, en application du concile Vatican II, beaucoup d'ornements de l'église furent supprimés, notamment des statues qui furent déposées au Musée religieux de Brest. Mais on en a gardé quelques-unes comme la très belle statue de Saint Roch, qui date du XVe siècle.

St Ronan
Le saint, blessé, est représenté ici avec son bâton de pélerin
et accompagné de son chien, Roquet,
qui lui apporte comme chaque jour un pain qu'il a dérobé.


  

St Ronan
St Ronan

Notre-Dame des Victoires
Derrière l'autel, Notre-Dame des Victoires, acquise en 1804
Notre-Dame de Liesse
Notre-Dame de Liesse, patronne de l'église.
Statue du XVIe siècle

  

On retiendra donc surtout de cette église son originalité, la qualité de ses vitraux et sa jolie statue de Saint Roch. Quant au choix des saints qu'elle présente sur ses vitraux, et qui fait la part belle à certains saints bretons, on aurait aimé y voir aussi Sainte Haude, Saint Samson, Saint-Ildut, Saint Ergat, Saint Budoc ou encore Saint Egarec qui patronnent d'autres édifices religieux du Pays d'Iroise. Mais il faut bien comprendre que le choix initial était limité au canton de St-Renan et qu'il fut complété ou modifié par celui des donateurs, parmi lesquels certains prêtres ou certaines familles avaient des attaches étrangères au Pays d'Iroise. La galerie des saints n'est donc ni exhaustive ni exclusivement bretonne, ce qui peut traduire aussi le désir de montrer une certaine universalité de la foi.

***

-1- Léon Payan a dessiné et confectionné les vitraux d'un grand nombre d'églises et de chapelles en Bretagne. Pour plus de renseignements sur cet artiste et sur son œuvre, voir le site internet très documenté qui lui est consacré.
-2- Lire sur internet la page intitulée Saint Tugdual écrite par Jean-Pierre Clochon, historien du Conquet. Il y relate l'arrivée de Saint Tugdual dans la presqu'île de Kermorvan et explique l'origine de son surnom de Saint Pabu.
-3- Le pélagianisme est une doctrine chrétienne répandue à la fin du IVe siècle dans l'empire romain par le moine Pélage, né en Grande Bretagne. S'opposant à Saint Augustin, Pélage niait le péché originel et la grâce divine. Il considérait que l'homme avait son libre arbitre et gagnait le paradis ou l'enfer directement selon les actes accomplis dans sa vie. Le baptême perdant alors son sens, le concile de Carthage en 418 et le pape Zozime condamnèrent cette doctrine comme une hérésie.
-4- Le récit de cette légende figure dans "La translation des reliques de Saint Mathieu", livret édité par "Les Amis de Saint Mathieu" et disponible au musée de la pointe St-Mathieu, à Plougonvelin. On peut lire sur internet la critique de l'historien Joseph Loth concernant cette légende.

Merci à M. Jos Saliou et à l'association "Musée du Ponant" qu'il préside, pour leur aide et leur prêt de documents.

Yannick Loukianoff

***

QR code de cette page :



Télécharger ce flashcode