Back to home pageFrench    German    Spanish    



Saint-Gouescat church

( Municipality of Tréouergat)





Parking GPS : 48°29'47.5 N   4°36'13 W




Vue latérale

Access : From St-Renan, take the D168 towards Ploudalmézeau and cross Lanrivoaré. About 500m after leaving the village, turn right towards Tréouergat. When the road forks, continue left then turn right at the next crossroads. In Tréouergat, preferably park in the shady car park of the village and walk to the church.

    The commune of Tréouergat is an old truce of the surrounding parishes. Its present name is the deformation, over time, of the name Treffgouescat that can be found in acts of the XIVth century. The church is placed under the patronage of Saint Gouescat, also known as Saint Ergat. A Breton saint, probably contemporary with missionaries from Ireland and Wales, who evangelized Armorica from Vth to VIIth centuries1. But history is silent about him. Saint Ergat is also venerated in Cornouaille and its name could be at the origin of that of several communes as Pouldergat in the south of Douarnenez.
A St-Ergat fountain exists in the woods of Tréouergat. Its water is reputed to make rheumatic pain disappear.   ( The Saint-Ergat fountain )


The church is not very old. Built from 1901 to 1905 by the architect Ernest Le Guerrannic, it replaced an old building dating from the XVth century, located on the same site, and of which there remains no trace. The side bell tower and its turret containing the staircase leading to the bell room were built in 1925 by the architect Joseph Philippe.



The old church on a stained-glass window of the chancel



L'église vue de face


1902

   A nave of five bays is separated from the aisles by neo-Romanesque arches. It is prolonged by a chancel in hemicycle. The neo-gothic vault is supported by pillars, some of which are decorated with capitals. The walls and pillars are decorated with the same circular ornamentation painted directly on the stone in memory of the consecration of the church in 1905 by Bishop Dubillard.

La nef

La nef

The statues

    The visitor's eye is attracted by some polychrome wooden statues from the old church. They are obviously the work of local craftsmen and the imprecision of their proportions makes them all the charm. At the bottom of the nave are two representations of the Archangel Saint Michael2, represented as an officer in the Roman army. After striking down a human-faced anguiped monster representing paganism, he accompanies a soul to Paradise.





    In front of the chancel, two other old statues represent the first Saint Barbe, which can be recognized showing the tower where his father had her locked up before her martyrdom, and the other probably Saint Gouescat, the patron saint of the church.







The stained-glass windows

    The windows are trimmed with stained-glass whose workmanship is very comparable to these of the Notre-Dame de Liesse church in Saint-Renan. Some are the work of Léon Payan, master glassmaker in Paris3, who practiced at the beginning of the XXe century, others by Henri Gesta at Toulouse, and the 'Société artistique de peinture de Paris'.

St Ergat
Saint Ergat or Gouescat
St Michel
The Archangel Saint Michael flooring down the Devil


    The themes of the stained-glass windows, very different from each other, seem to have been chosen by each donor in complete freedom. If the presence of Saint Ergat or Saint Pol Aurélien is obvious because of their passage in the region, one will also notice that of Joan of Arc or Saint Louis.

Ste Jeanne d'Arc
Sainte Jeanne d'Arc
St Louis
King Saint Louis



Saint Pol Aurélien taming the dragon of Batz island


The baptismal font

    At the back of the church, on the side, is the baptismal font. Two pink granite pillars of the Aber-Ildut end in octagonal platforms where a basin is dug.



If the wooden lid of the larger one is lifted, a lead basin appears. This one is closed by a sliding lid of the same metal in order to protect the holy water while allowing its access to practise baptem.





This original basin must have been made in the XVIth or in the XVIIth century and already equipped the baptismal font of the old church. Its origin and manufacture are unknown. It should be noted, however, that the lid and the edge of the lead bowl are engraved with a letter in Gothic script which could be an "a".


The "a" on the lid

The "a" on the bowl side


In 1990, this baptismal basin was selected to participate in the exhibition Arts de Bretagne in Vienna, Austria. The small commune of Tréouergat was very proud to be represented there by an original ambassador of its heritage.



The disappeared sundial

A pretty sundial once adorned the bell tower of the old church, as can be seen in a drawing where it appears above the transept window :


Drawing by Louis Conq Les échos du vallon sourd



Archival photo, late XIXth



Archival photo, 1965


But don't look for it on the walls of the building because, alas, this southern vertical dial made on a slate plate in 1742 by the Hamon Le Hir dialman has disappeared from the presbytery where it had been stored and has not yet been found. In case an Internet user would recognize it somewhere, in France or abroad, he is kindly requested to inform us immediately by mail ("any information/contact" button at the top of this page) so that the commune of Tréouergat can recover its property amicably.

The parish enclosure

    Outside, bordering the cemetery, there are two altars in the open air. Near the sarcophagus of one of them, on the ground, a decapitated statuette represents two characters back to back.






    This small twinned statuette does not fail to intrigue the visitor. Holding a bible or a gospel, he is probably a saint, perhaps Saint Ergat himself. One will notice the curious presence of a small character in the folds of his clothing4. One can think that this statuette comes from an old calvary of the commune having been degraded during the Revolution. Another fragment is reproduced below.



Further on, the engraved lid of an ancient sarcophagus has been incorporated into the wall of the cemetery. Although the coats of arms have been erased, according to Louis Conq5 it could be the medieval tomb of the knight Maurice de Languiouez, who died at the battle of Auray in 1364 under the banner of Charles de Blois and Bertrand Du Guesclin who were beaten by the English party of Jean de Montfort.




-1- According to a text by Théodore Hersart de la Villemarqué, collected by Robert Tréguer in the "Revue de Bretagne, de Vendée & d'Anjou", volume 2, 1889, Ergat was one of the 24 sons of the bard king Loumarc'h, in Wales, where he died in battle against the Anglo-Saxon invaders. Poet and bard himself, venerated by the people, his skull would have been brought to Treouergat in the VIth century as a relic by the Welsh monks. Here is what the author says :

"To the truth, the saint has made us forget the poet on the continent: the defender of religion and homeland, among the ancient Bretons, is only invoked today against rheumatic pains and it is as such that the last descendants of the tribe of the saint know him.
Preserved by them with extreme care as their safeguard, the skull of Saint Ergat was exposed, once a year, to the veneration of the parishioners, in a silver reliquary, when a decree of the year II of the Republic came to cast consternation among the faithful of the country : under this Order-in-Council, the remaining silver was to be sent to the Mint for smelting. He was, and the skull was thrown on the pavement and smashed to pieces. Fortunately, the piety of the sacristan saved him : when the cult was restored, they were placed in another, more modest reliquary, and they are still exposed to public veneration on August 11 of each year, the day of the patron saint's feast."

-2- There is no doubt about the identification of these statues: only the Archangel Saint Michael has wings. However, he bears on his shield the cross of St. George. This can be confusing because St. George, a Roman officer, symbolized the Christian knight triumphing over paganism. But it would be hard to see Saint George without his horse.



Coloured wood engraving, made in Burgundy around 1430
Wikipedia


So that the public illiterate in the past could easily identify the saints they represented, the artists got into the habit of accompanying them with an accessory recalling an episode in their lives. A list of these attributes can be found on internet by clicking on the following link :
Les Essentiels website

3 - Léon PAYAN designed and made the stained-glass windows of a large number of churches and chapels in Brittany. Especially at Notre-Dame de Liesse Church in St-Renan.
Notre-Dame de Liesse Church
For more information on this artist and his work, see the very documented website dedicated to him.
Léon Payan website


4- See also, on the statue of an outside wall of the Le Conquet's church another character hidden under clothes..:
Le Conquet's church

5-Louis CONQ : " Les échos du vallon sourd " Ed. Brud Nevez, 1990. The Languiouez family owned a manor in Tréouergat. Moreover, the sword-hampe which decorates the stone evokes a fleur-de-lis, emblem of the French side of Charles de Blois.




Thanks to Mr. Robert Tréguer, from Tréouergat, for his help and his loan of documents.

Yannick Loukianoff


***

QR code of this page:



Download this flashcode

Accueil

L'église Saint-Gouescat

( Commune de Tréouergat )





GPS du stationnement : 48°29'47.5 N   4°36'13 W




Vue latérale

Accès: A partir de St-Renan, prendre la D168 en direction de Ploudalmézeau et traverser Lanrivoaré. Environ 500m après la sortie du bourg, tourner à droite vers Tréouergat. A la patte d'oie, continuer à gauche puis tourner à droite au carrefour suivant. A Tréouergat, stationner de préférence sur le parking ombragé du bourg et rejoindre l'église à pied.

    La commune de Tréouergat est une ancienne trève des paroisses environnantes. Son nom actuel est la déformation, au fil du temps, du nom de Treffgouescat que l'on retrouve dans des actes du XIVe siècle. L'église est placée sous le patronage de Saint Gouescat, alias Saint Ergat. Un saint breton, sans doute contemporain des missionnaires venus d'Irlande et du Pays de Galles évangéliser l'Armorique du Ve au VIIe siècles1. Mais l'histoire reste muette à son sujet. Saint Ergat est vénéré aussi en Cornouaille, et son nom pourrait être à l'origine de celui de plusieurs communes comme Pouldergat au sud de Douarnenez. Une fontaine Saint-Ergat existe dans les bois de Tréouergat. Son eau est réputée faire disparaître les douleurs rhumatismales.

L'église n'est pas très ancienne. Construite de 1901 à 1905 par l'architecte Ernest Le Guerrannic, elle a remplacé un ancien édifice qui datait du XVe siècle, situé au même emplacement, et dont il ne reste aucune trace. Le clocher latéral ainsi que sa tourelle renfermant l'escalier menant à la chambre des cloches furent bâtis en 1925 par l'architecte Joseph Philippe.



L'ancienne église sur un vitrail du chœur



L'église vue de face


1902

  Une nef de cinq travées est séparée des bas-côtés par des arcs néo-romans. Elle se prolonge par un chœur en hémicycle. La voûte néo-gothique est supportée par des piliers dont certains sont ornés de chapiteaux. On remarquera sur les murs et les piliers la même ornementation circulaire peinte directement sur la pierre, qui symbolise la consécration de l'église en 1905 par l'évêque, Mgr. Dubillard.

La nef

La nef

Les statues

   Le regard du visiteur est attiré par quelques statues polychromes en bois qui proviennent de l'ancienne église. Ce sont manifestement l'œuvre d'artisans locaux et l'imprécision de leurs proportions en fait tout le charme. Au fond de la nef, ce sont deux représentations de l'archange Saint Georges2, officier de l'armée romaine, dont la croix visible sur l'écu est devenue, couleurs inversées, l'emblème de l'Angleterre. Après avoir terrassé un monstre anguipède représentant le paganisme, il délivre la princesse qui en était retenue prisonnière.





   Devant le chœur, deux autres statues anciennes représentent l'une Sainte Barbe, que l'on reconnaît présentant la tour où son père l'avait fait enfermer avant son martyre, et l'autre vraisemblablement Saint Gouescat, le patron de l'édifice.







Les vitraux

   Les fenêtres sont garnies de vitraux dont la facture est très comparable à celle des vitraux de l'église Notre-Dame de Liesse de Saint-Renan. Certains sont l'œuvre de Léon Payan, maître-verrier à Paris3, qui exerçait au début du XXe siècle, d'autres d'Henri Gesta, de Toulouse, et de la Société artistique de peinture de Paris.

St Ergat
Saint Ergat ou Gouescat
St Michel
L'archange Saint Michel terrassant un monstre


    Les thèmes des vitraux, très différents les uns des autres, semblent avoir été choisis par chaque donateur en toute liberté. Si la présence de Saint Ergat ou de Saint Pol Aurélien est évidente en raison de leur passage dans la région, on remarquera aussi celle de Jeanne d'Arc ou de Saint Louis.

Ste Jeanne d'Arc
Sainte Jeanne d'Arc
St Louis
Le roi Saint Louis



Saint Pol Aurélien domptant le dragon de l'île de Batz


Les fonts baptismaux

    Au fond de l'église, sur le côté, se trouvent les fonts baptismaux. Deux piliers de granite rose de l'Aber-Ildut s'achèvent par des plates-formes octogonales où un bassin est creusé.



Si l'on soulève le couvercle en bois du plus grand, on s'aperçoit que le bassin de pierre héberge en fait une cuvette en plomb, elle-même fermée par un couvercle coulissant du même métal afin de protéger l'eau bénite tout en permettant son accès pour pratiquer l'aspersion.





Cette cuvette originale a dû être fabriquée au XVIe ou au XVIIe siècle et équipait déjà les fonts baptismaux de l'ancienne église. On ignore tout de son origine et de sa fabrication. On notera cependant que le couvercle et le bord de la cuvette en plomb sont gravés d'une lettre en caractère gothique qui pourrait être un "a".


Le "a" du couvercle

Le "a" du côté de la cuvette


En 1990, cette cuvette baptismale a été sélectionnée pour participer à Vienne, en Autriche, à l'exposition "Arts de Bretagne". La petite commune de Tréouergat était toute fière d'y être représentée par un ambassadeur de son petit petrimoine.



Le cadran solaire disparu

Un joli cadran solaire ornait autrefois le clocher de l'ancienne église comme en témoigne un dessin où il apparaît au-dessus de la fenêtre du transept :


Dessin de Louis Conq "Les échos du vallon sourd"



Photo d'archive, fin XIXe



Photo d'archive, 1965


Mais ne le cherchez pas sur les murs de l'édifice car, hélas, ce cadran vertical méridional réalisé sur une plaque d'ardoise en 1742 par le cadranier Hamon Le Hir a disparu du presbytère où il avait été entreposé et n'a pas encore été retrouvé. Au cas où un internaute le reconnaîtrait quelque part, en France ou à l'étranger, il est prié de bien vouloir nous en avertir aussitôt par mail ( bouton "informations diverses/contact" en haut de cette page ) afin que la commune de Tréouergat puisse récupérer son bien à l'amiable.

L'enclos

   A l'extérieur, bordant le cimetière, se dressent deux autels en plein air. Auprès du sarcophage de l'un d'eux, au sol, une statuette décapitée représente deux personnages dos à dos.






   Cette petite statuette géminée ne manque pas d'intriguer le visiteur. Tenant une bible ou un évangile, il s'agit vraisemblablement d'un saint, peut-être Saint Ergat lui-même. On remarquera la curieuse présence d'un petit personnage dans les plis de son vêtement. On peut penser que cette statuette provient d'un ancien calvaire de la commune ayant été dégradé à la Révolution. Il en est de même d'un autre fragment reproduit ci-dessous.



Plus loin, on a incorporé dans le mur du cimetière la dalle gravée d'un ancien sarcophage. Bien que les blasons aient été effacés, il pourrait s'agir, selon Louis Conq4 de la tombe médiévale du chevalier Maurice de Languiouez, mort à la bataille d'Auray en 1364 sous la bannière de Charles de Blois et de Bertrand Du Guesclin qui furent battus par le parti anglais de Jean de Montfort.




-1- Selon un texte de Théodore Hersart de la Villemarqué, recueilli par Robert Tréguer dans la "Revue de Bretagne, de Vendée & d'Anjou", tome 2, 1889, Ergat aurait été l'un des 24 fils du barde-roi Loumarc'h, au pays de Galles, où il serait mort au combat contre les envahisseurs anglo-saxons. Poète et barde lui-même, vénéré par le peuple, son crâne aurait été apporté à Tréouergat au VIe siècle comme relique par les moines gallois. Voici ce qu'en dit l'auteur :

"A la vérité, le saint a fait oublier le poète sur le continent : le défenseur de la religion et de la patrie, chez les anciens Bretons, n'est plus invoqué aujourd'hui que contre les douleurs rhumatismales et c'est comme tel que le connaissent les derniers descendants de la tribu du saint.
Conservé par eux avec une extrême sollicitude comme leur sauvegarde, le chef de Saint Ergat était exposé, une fois l'an, à la vénération des paroissiens, dans un reliquaire d'argent, lorsqu'un décret de l'an II de la République vint jeter la consternation parmi les fidèles du pays : en vertu de ce décret, le reliquaire d'argent devait être envoyé à la Monnaie pour être fondu. Il le fut, et le crâne jeté sur le pavé et réduit en morceaux. Heureusement, la piété du sacristain le sauva : lors du rétablissement du culte, ils furent mis dans un autre reliquaire plus modeste, et on les expose toujours le 11 août de chaque année, jour de la fête patronale, à la vénération publique."

-2- L'identification de ces statues ne fait pas de doute : la vénération à Saint Georges s'est développée à travers le monde, particulièrement après les croisades. Comme Saint-Michel, représenté sur le vitrail voisin, Saint Georges terrassant un monstre symbolisait le chevalier chrétien triomphant du paganisme. La croix de Saint Georges est souvent représentée sur son écu, comme ci-dessous :



Gravure sur bois coloriée, réalisée en Bourgogne vers 1430
Wikipedia


-3- Léon PAYAN a dessiné et confectionné les vitraux d'un grand nombre d'églises et de chapelles en Bretagne. En particulier à l'église Notre-Dame de Liesse de St-Renan. Pour plus de renseignements sur cet artiste et sur son œuvre, voir le site internet très documenté qui lui est consacré.

-4- Louis CONQ :
"Les échos du vallon sourd" Ed. Brud Nevez, 1990. La famille de Languiouez possédait un manoir à Tréouergat. De plus, la hampe-épée qui orne la pierre évoque une fleur de lys, emblème du parti français de Charles de Blois.



Merci à M. Robert Tréguer, de Tréouergat, pour son aide et ses prêts de documents.

Yannick Loukianoff


***

QR code de cette page :



Télécharger ce flashcode