Back to home pageFrench    German    Spanish    



Saint-Gonvel Chapel


   Sant Gonvel an theven Saint Gonvel of sandhills
Municipality of Landunvez

Open to the public only during the animations.




GPS : 48°31'41.5 N   4°45'32.2 W





Access : Leave St-Renan on the D68 road towards Argenton and continue straight. Turn right in front of the harbor towards Landunvez. After 800 m, turn left onto a small road signposted towards the St-Gonvel chapel. Then keep to the right and turn left onto the small road called Hent Sant Gonvel. The chapel appears on the right in the centre of a large grassy enclosure. Park near the entrance of the pen.



    This small chapel a little far from the main road doesn't attract many visitors. It must also be admitted that it is rarely open to the public. This lack of interest is probably due to the fact that it deserves major restoration work.
    It is named after Saint Gonvel, a Breton saint who, like many others, is not recognized by the Church. There is no record of its existence. However, we can think that it is the same character as the one who is still venerated under the name of Saint Gonval or Conval in Hanvec, south of Brest. A chapel, now disappeared, was built in the forest of Cranou. This hermit from the Early Middle Ages also lived in the Bois du Gars in L'Hôpital-Camfrout. In the Iroise's country, you can see his name in the one of the town of Plougonvelin. If it is the same saint, we could explain his veneration to Landunvez by imagining that, coming from across the Channel like many other monks, he would have landed on the neighbouring coast. And he would have chosen the dolmen that now bears his name as a place of hermitage.

A truncated chapel:

    With a rectangular plan, the Saint Gonvel chapel has a blind bell tower wall. At the top, the old bell tower is empty1. At the other end of the building, there is a trace of a large Gothic archway with a walled interior.



This filling is not recent since it shelters the medieval remains of another, smaller opening, with trilobal arches also walled in. The large arch is not an old window as it extends to the ground.



It was therefore originally either the main opening of the building or a diaphragm arch inside the building that allowed access to a part of the chapel that would have disappeared.
The first hypothesis would place the altar to the west, along the bell tower wall. It is therefore unlikely, as the altar is always placed in the east except in cases of force majeure.
This suggests that the building has been truncated. And the architecture of the small window would take these works back to around the 16th century. The installation of the altarpiece is probably the reason why this opening was also walled up.


When, inside the building, the altarpiece was removed for restoration,
the old diaphragm arch became clearly visible
© Photo A. du Chéné



The entrance to the building is located on the south façade between two pieces of Gallic stelae that may have supported crosses. In the same commune, further north, near the chapel of Saint-Samson, a Christianized stele bears an engraved inscription: TP ST GONVEL 1757. These small Iron Age monuments have often been moved.

Above the door, in a niche, an enigmatic head awaits the visitor.


Photo YL October 2018

Its state of erosion indicates that it has long been exposed to the elements. It could therefore have come from a mutilated statue whose location is unknown.


The same sculpture after cleaning
© Photo A. du Chéné




Inside :

    While most of the building is empty, an altar and an extraordinary altarpiece from the beginning of the XIXth century constitute the only furniture.



Hiding the entire back wall, the present altarpiece is a remarkable work, a gigantic trompe l'oeil painting on colourful woodwork that creates a pleasant and playful atmosphere. At the very top, at the level of a barrel vault panelled and coloured in bright blue, there is a theatre curtain raised in the Italian style around a central cross. Supported by two coloured pilasters, it opens onto a wide pediment in a classic style.





  The pediment surmounts a bucolic frieze composed of floral garlands and birds.



   False marble, trompe-l'oeil niches, we are immersed in a completely fashionable reconstruction at the beginning of Romanticism.



   In front of the painted niches, three statuettes rested on a support that can still be seen.



We know that they represented Saint Gonvel as a monk, a Virgin and Child, and a Christ showing his wounds to Saint Thomas. These statuettes were transferred to the village church and the Kersaint chapel.









   The curved tomb altar is also painted.



The Kersaint chapel has an identical high altar and the same floral decorations.

Kersaint Chapel


And on the ceiling we discover the angelic faces of an entire family around two hearts in love.


A heart pierced with a sword as an arrow:
it is probably a noble lady who endowed the chapel with this beautiful ornament
and who had two white roses painted on a bruised heart2.


  The chapel thus bears the traces of an evolution that extends over several centuries. We will see that on the outside we go back even further in the past.



   The monumental calvary, in steps, similar to that of Saint-Mathieu Headland, probably dates back to the Middle Ages. He sits in the middle of this space, which is none other than the old cemetery surrounding the chapel. This building truncated in the 16th century, was probably preceded by an even older building.
But that's not all : let's look at the southeast corner of the building.



  Two long stones are arranged at the base of this corner. The one below is a Gallic stele. If we take the trouble to observe it closely, we can even see engravings.



The reuse of a pagan stele as the cornerstone of a chapel is not at all by chance. It reflects the desire to Christianize an ancestral place of worship. More details on this stele can be found in the archaeological remains section of this website.

Saint-Gonvel Chapel



-1- The bell tower being in poor condition, the bell was removed for safety reasons. It will return into the bell tower after the work.

  -2- An Internet user gives us a more likely interpretation :
It could be a representation, very common in the 19th century ( if the painting dates back to that time ), of the Sacred Heart of Jesus as it illustrates the feast of the same name instituted by the Church in 1856. This feast, celebrated on the third Friday after Pentecost, in 2020 on June 19, has its origins in the 17th century apparitions of Jesus to Saint Marguerite-Marie Alacoque, a nun from the Convent of the Visitation at Paray-Le-Monial. Devotion to the Sacred Heart was very lively in the 19th century and led to the construction of basilicas bearing this name ( Paris, Marseille...) The Sacred Heart of Jesus is represented surmounted by a cross and surrounded by a crown of thorns. It is often depicted coupled with the Immaculate Heart of Mary which is celebrated by the Church on the Saturday following the feast of the Sacred Heart of Jesus. The crown of roses is one of Mary's emblems ( hence the Rosary ) and we can think that the pierced heart is an illustration of the Gospel of Saint Luke « and a sword will pierce your soul » (Lk 2:35).                                                      Elisabeth Bernard-Bordes

Thank you to this Internet user and to Mr Amaury du Chéné, President of the association Pour la sauvegarde des chapelles de Landunvez, for his help and his loans of documents.


Religious festival at St. Gonvel's Chapel in 1903

Yannick Loukianoff

***

READ MORE


Landunvez, Saint Gonvel, a truncated chapel   by Yves-Pascal CASTEL. Article published in Le Courrier du Léon et du Tréguier dated 16 March 1991.

  The legend of Saint Gonval   by Léontine DRAPIER-CADEC. Published in Les Cahiers de l'Iroise n°26 April-June 1960.

idée ! Calling users :

The altarpiece in this chapel perhaps may not be a unique work. It would be interesting to know whether altarpieces of the same make exist. The intention would be to eventually learn more about their dating and the workshop that designed them.
If you know of a church or a chapel with a comparable altarpiece, please do not hesitate to let us know by using the contact form below. This website is participating, so you may be one of the contributors. Thank you in advance.



QR code of this page:



Download this flashcode

Retour à l'accueilAnglais    Allemand    Espagnol    



La chapelle Saint-Gonvel


   Sant Gonvel an theven Saint Gonvel des dunes
( Commune de Landunvez )

Ouverte seulement lors des animations




GPS : 48°31'41.5 N   4°45'32.2 W





Accès: Sortir de St-Renan par la D68 en direction d'Argenton et continuer tout droit, sur 7 km, jusqu'à la mer. Devant le port, tourner à droite vers Landunvez. A 800 m, prendre à gauche une petite route fléchée vers la chapelle St-Gonvel. Puis rester à droite et prendre à gauche la petite route nommée Hent Sant Gonvel. La chapelle apparaît sur la droite au centre d'un vaste enclos herbeux. Stationner près de l'entrée de l'enclos.



    Cette petite chapelle un peu éloignée de la route principale n'attire pas beaucoup de visiteurs. Il faut avouer aussi qu'elle est raremant ouverte au public. Ce peu d'intérêt est sans doute dû au fait qu'elle mérite d'importants travaux de restauration.
    Elle porte le nom de Saint Gonvel, un saint breton qui, comme bien d'autres, n'est pas reconnu par l'église. Aucun document n'atteste son existence. On peut penser cependant qu'il s'agit du même personnage que celui qui est encore vénéré sous le nom de Saint Gonval ou Conval à Hanvec, au sud de Brest. Une chapelle, aujourd'hui disparue, lui fut édifiée dans la forêt du Cranou. Cet ermite du Haut Moyen-Age aurait aussi vécu dans le bois du Gars à L'Hôpital-Camfrout. Au Pays d'Iroise, on retrouve son nom dans celui de Plougonvelin. S'il s'agit bien du même saint, on pourrait expliquer sa vénération à Landunvez en imaginant que, venant d'outre-Manche comme beaucoup d'autres moines, il aurait débarqué sur la côte voisine. Et il aurait choisi le dolmen qui porte aujourd'hui son nom comme lieu d'ermitage.

Une chapelle tronquée :

    D'un plan rectangulaire, la chapelle Saint Gonvel est dotée d'un mur-clocher aveugle. Au sommet, le vieux clocheton, resté vide pendant des dizaines d'années, a retrouvé sa cloche récemment restaurée.





A l'autre extrémité du bâtiment, on aperçoit la trace d'une grande arcade de style gothique dont l'intérieur a été muré.



Cette obturation n'est pas récente puisqu'elle abrite les restes médiévaux d'une autre ouverture, plus petite, aux arcatures trilobées murées elles aussi. La grande arcade n'est pas une ancienne fenêtre puisqu'elle va jusqu'au sol.



Elle était donc à l'origine soit l'ouverture principale de l'édifice, soit à l'intérieur du bâtiment un arc diaphragme qui permettait d'accéder à une partie de la chapelle qui aurait disparu.
La première hypothèse placerait l'autel à l'ouest, le long du mur-clocher. Elle est donc peu vraisemblable, l'autel étant toujours placé à l'est sauf cas de force majeure.
On en déduit que le bâtiment a été tronqué. Et l'architecture de la petite fenêtre ferait remonter ces travaux aux environs du XVIe siècle. La pose d'un retable est sans doute la raison pour laquelle cette ouverture a elle aussi été murée.


Lorsque, à l'intérieur du bâtiment, le retable actuel a été enlevé pour restauration,
l'ancien arc diaphragme est devenu bien visible
© Photo A. du Chéné



L'entrée de l'édifice est située sur la façade sud entre deux débris de stèles gauloises qui ont pu supporter des croix. Dans la même commune, plus loin au nord, près de la chapelle Saint-Samson, une stèle christianisée porte une inscription gravée : TP ST GONVEL 1757. Ces petits monuments de l'Âge du fer ont souvent été déménagés.

Au-dessus de la porte, dans une niche, une tête énigmatique attend le visiteur.


© Photo YL octobre 2018

Son état d'érosion indique qu'elle a longtemps été exposée aux intempéries. Elle pourrait donc provenir d'une statue mutilée dont on ignore l'emplacement.


La même sculpture après nettoyage
© Photo A. du Chéné juillet 2020




L'intérieur :

    Alors que la majeure partie de l'édifice est vide, un autel et un extraordinaire rétable du début du XIXe siècle en constituent le seul mobilier.



Cachant la totalité du mur du fond, le retable actuel est une œuvre remarquable, une gigantesque peinture en trompe-l'œil sur des boiseries pleines de couleurs qui créent une atmosphère agréable et enjouée. Tout en haut, au ras d'une voûte en berceau lambrissée et colorée d'un bleu vif, on distingue autour d'une croix centrale un rideau de théâtre relevé à l'italienne. Soutenu par deux pilastres colorés, il s'ouvre sur un large fronton de style classique.





  Le fronton surmonte une frise bucolique composée de guirlandes florales et d'oiseaux.



   Faux marbre, niches en trompe l'œil, on est plongé dans une reconstitution tout à fait à la mode au début du romantisme.



   Devant les niches peintes, trois statuettes reposaient sur un support que l'on aperçoit encore.



On sait qu'elles représentaient Saint Gonvel en moine, une Vierge à l'Enfant et un Christ montrant ses plaies à Saint Thomas. Ces statuettes ont été transférées à l'église du bourg et à la chapelle de Kersaint.









   L'autel en tombeau galbé est peint lui aussi.



La chapelle de Kersaint possède un maître-autel de facture identique et les mêmes décors floraux.

La chapelle de Kersaint


Et au plafond on découvre les visages angéliques de toute une famille autour de deux cœurs enamourés.


Un cœur percé d'une épée en guise de flèche :
on pourrait imaginer qu'une dame noble aurait doté la chapelle de ce bel ornement
et aurait fait peindre deux roses blanches sur son cœur meurtri.
Mais il n'en est rien, voir la note 1


  La chapelle porte ainsi les traces d'une évolution qui s'étend sur plusieurs siècles. On va voir qu'à l'extérieur on remonte encore plus loin dans le passé.



   Le calvaire monumental, en gradins, semblable à celui de la pointe Saint-Mathieu, remonte vraisemblablement au Moyen Age. Il trône au milieu de cet espace qui n'est autre que l'ancien cimetière entourant la chapelle. Cet édifice, sans doute tronqué au XVIe siècle, a donc vraisemblablement été précédé par un bâtiment beaucoup plus ancien encore.
Mais ce n'est pas tout : observons l'angle sud-est du bâtiment.



  Deux longues pierres sont disposées à la base de cet angle. Celle du dessous est en fait une stèle gauloise. Si l'on prend la peine de l'observer de près, on y distingue même des gravures.



La réutilisation d'une stèle païenne comme pierre angulaire d'une chapelle n'est pas du tout un hasard. Elle traduit la volonté de christianiser un lieu de culte ancestral. On lira plus de détails sur cette stèle dans la partie de ce site réservée aux vestiges archéologiques.

La stèle gravée de la chapelle St-Gonvel





  -1- Une internaute nous fait part d'une interprétation plus vraisemblable:

Il pourrait s'agir d'une représentation, très commune au 19e siècle ( si la peinture date bien de cette époque-là), du Sacré-Cœur de Jésus telle qu'elle illustre la fête du même nom instituée par l'Eglise en 1856. Cette fête, célébrée le 3e vendredi après la Pentecôte, en 2020 le 19 juin, a pour origine les apparitions au 17e siècle de Jésus à sainte Marguerite-Marie Alacoque, religieuse du couvent de la Visitation à Paray-Le-Monial. La dévotion au Sacré-Cœur était très vive au 19e siècle et a conduit à la construction de basiliques qui portent ce nom (Paris, Marseille...). Le Sacré-Cœur de Jésus est représenté surmonté d'une croix et entouré d'une couronne d'épines. Il est souvent représenté couplé au Cœur Immaculé de Marie qui est fêté par l'Eglise le samedi lendemain de la fête du Sacré-Cœur de Jésus. La couronne de roses est un des emblèmes de Marie ( d'où le Rosaire ) et on peut penser que le cœur percé est une illustration de l'évangile de Saint Luc « et toi-même un glaive te transpercera l'âme »
( Luc 2, 35 ).                                                      Elisabeth Bernard-Bordes


Merci à cette internaute et à M. Amaury du Chéné, Président de l'association Pour la sauvegarde des chapelles de Landunvez, pour son aide et ses prêts de documents.


Le pardon à la chapelle St-Gonvel en 1903

Yannick Loukianoff

***

EN SAVOIR PLUS


Ne manquez pas de visiter le site de
l'Association pour la sauvegarde des chapelles de Landunvez Les horaires d'ouverture de ces édifices y sont indiqués.


Landunvez, Saint Gonvel, une chapelle tronquée   par Yves-Pascal CASTEL. Article paru dans Le Courrier du Léon et du Tréguier du 16 mars 1991.

  La légende de Saint Gonval   par Léontine DRAPIER-CADEC. Article paru dans Les cahiers de l'Iroise n°26 avril-juin 1960.

idée ! Appel aux internautes :

Le retable de cette chapelle n'est peut-être pas une œuvre unique. Il serait intéressant de savoir si des retables de la même facture existent. Le but serait éventuellement d'en connaître davantage sur leur datation ainsi que sur l'atelier qui les a conçus.
Si vous connaissez une église ou une chapelle dotée d'un retable comparable, n'hésitez donc pas à nous en faire part en utilisant le formulaire de contact ci-dessous. Ce site est participatif, vous en serez peut-être ainsi l'un des contributeurs ou l'une des contributrices. Merci d'avance.



QR code de cette page :



Télécharger ce flashcode