Back to home pageFrench German 



Notre-Dame Church at Brélès

( Municipality of Brélès )





GPS : 48°28'40.3 N   4°42'52.3 W




L'église et son enclos

Access : From St-Renan, take the D27 which runs along the COMIREN lake. It leads directly to Brélès. Park on the right in front of the church.

    Brélès, which was once a truce of the parish of Plourin-Ploudalmézeau, became an autonomous parish in 1802, following the Concordat signed between Napoleon and the Pope the previous year. Its church, once a simple chapel, is one of the few in the Pays d'Iroise to have kept its parish enclosure. In addition, a monument in the shape of a triumphal arch indicates the entrance.

L'arc de triomphe

L'arc de triomphe

L'arc de triomphe
The parish enclosure was closed for a long time by a metal gate.

    The work supported by two large pilasters has a semicircular arch decorated in its lower part with trilobal openwork teeth. It has been rebuilt as shown by two superimposed inscriptions incorporated in a neighbouring pillar, to the right of the stile1.

L'échalier

Les inscriptions

The upper inscription is the most recent. We read:


L.TOUR
MEN GR

Louis Tourmen was from 1763 to 1791 governor-rector of what was still only a chapel. He thus signs there a reshaping of the triumphal arch which he had carried out a few years before the French Revolution.

Then comes the original dedication:


PRIES.P.F.KEN
GAR.AVCTEVR
DE.CESTE

Pray for Francis of Keringar, author of this (bow). François de Kéringar, lord of Bel-Air, had already a dedication engraved at the entrance of his manor in 1599. The work thus dates from the very beginning of the XVIIth century.
    At the top, a kersanton crucifix shows on its reverse a Virgin and Child between two angels, under a Gothic canopy. We thus know from the entrance of the enclosure that the site is dedicated to Notre-Dame.

La Vierge à l'Enfant

   The church is a Latin cross-shaped building some parts of which date back to the late XIVth century. It had underwent several transformations including an enlargement starting in 1855. The gallery of its bell tower is surmounted by two floors housing the bells, extended by an openwork spire of octagonal section.

Le clocher

One will notice its gothic portal delicately worked in the stone of kersanton.

Le portail

It is decorated with the coat of arms of Olivier du Chastel and Jeanne de Ploeuc who were married, perhaps in the newly built chapel, in 1408. This great lord of Tremazan was chamberlain to the Duke of Brittany and captain of Dinan and Brest. Originally, these coats of arms presented by an angel were painted in bright colours. To the left the Du Chastel, to the right the Ploeuc.

photo des armoiries
armoiries en couleurs
Restoration by Michel Mauguin
in " Le patrimoine héraldique de Brélès"
2015 August
.


The usual entrance to the church is on the south face. It also has an ornamentation in kersanton surmounted by a fleuron. One can only regret that, during its installation in the XXth century, the neighbouring gutter was not concealed.

L'entrée sud

The nave, separated from the aisles by neo-gothic arches, is formed by five bays. At the fourth, two side chapels were built to serve as a transept. A large grandstand surmounts the entrance through the large gate.

La nef

La nef
The Gothic tribune is illuminated by openings in the vault.

    Looking up at the four corners of the transept crossing, we discover under the barrel vault the original presence of musical little angels. These amusing polychrome wooden sculptures constitute a divine bagad that brightens this solemn building.

angelot aux cymbales
Angelot with cymbals.
angelot au biniou
Angelot to the biniou.


angelot à la bombarde
Angelot to the bombard.
angelot au tambour
Angelot to the drum.


Above the chancel, two other angels, curiously without wings, lend under the vault an ear attentive to the divine music that only they seem to hear. Do they beat the measure? One of them lost an arm.

Enfant de droite
Enfant de gauche


The chancel has a flat chevet. Its ornamentation is sober.

Le chœur

It is illuminated by a large stained-glass. Its eight panels are dedicated to the Virgin whose main episodes of life they evoke. In the centre is the name of François-Marie Bervas, rector of Brélès from 1872 to 1885 and sponsor of the stained-glass window.

La maîtresse-vitre

At the tympanum of this large stained-glass are represented four new angels who play the fiddle with a bow2 or pinch the strings of an ancestor of the harp.

ange
ange


ange
ange


    Two statues frame the stained-glass window. On the left, a polychrome wooden Virgin and Child has undergone an awkward restoration on Christ's arm.



On the right, an angel in a Roman centurion's outfit tramples a monster with a human face underfoot.



An angel knocking down a monster, we immediately think of the archangel Saint Michael. But it is easily identified by its shield bearing the St. George's cross. It is therefore Saint George, Christian martyr of the Roman army at the time of the Emperor Diocletian. The monster he kills represents paganism. This beautiful polychrome wooden statue recalls that of the church of Tréouergat.

The walls of the chancel are painted to imitate a tapestry. On one side the coat of arms of the Pope and on the other side those of the Bishop of Quimper during the consecration of the newly enlarged parish church...

Armoiries papales
Coat of arms of Pope Leo XIII ( 1878 - 1903).
Lumen in coelo = Light in the sky.
Figuratively speaking: The key to the mystery.

Armoiries de l'évêque
Coat of arms of Bishop Lamarche (1887 - 1892).
Doue hag ar vro = God and Fatherland.
Ama and confide = Love and trust.



  Still in the chancel, we will not fail to admire the superb polychrome wooden angel-lutrin perched on a pretty pedestal. The two frames he presents, one in front of him, the other on his wings, are intended to support religious song books.

L'ange-lutrin

On the right stands the Sacred Heart Chapel.

La chapelle du Sacré-Cœur

Two of his statues, in polychrome wood, deserve a stop.

St Isidore
Ste Anne


All the way to the right, Saint Anne. The mother of the Virgin, always represented veiled, teaches her daughter to read in a prayer book.
To the left, Saint Isidore. This modest Spanish peasant holding a sickle and a sheaf of wheat is represented here in an elegant Breton costume. Note the blue jacket decorated with embroidery and worn open on a white vest from which protrudes only the collar of the shirt. At the waist, a belt made of a long red scarf covers the top of her bragou braz which is tightened at knee level with a red ribbon. His gaiters close laterally by large copper buttons and come to wrap the top of his shoes.

On the other side of the chancel stands the chapel dedicated to Saint John and Saint Sebastian.

La chapelle St Jean et St Sébastien

There too, framing a painting representing the arrival in Armorica of the monks from across the Channel, two statues attract the eye.

St Jean
St Sébastien


On the left, the apostle Saint John. He is represented holding a chalice to recall that he described the Lord's Supper in great detail in the gospel attributed to him.

On the right, Saint Sebastian, Christian martyr of the end of the IIIth century. According to his hagiography, he was riddled with arrows by the soldiers of the imperial guard he commanded, on the orders of the Roman emperor Diocletian.

As we may have noticed, several trompe-l'oeil wall paintings adorn the nave. Those located high between the arcades represent the apostles Saint Simon, Saint Thadée (also called Saint Jude), Saint Jacques and Saint Barthélémy.

St Barthéléùy
Saint Bartholomew
St Jacques
Santiago


At the back of the nave, behind the stalls stored under the gallery, we discover Saint Peter and Saint Paul :

St Pierre
Saint Peter
St Paul
Saint Paul


The visitor leaves the church of Brélès with the feeling of having discovered some very interesting new elements of Iroise's heritage. And perhaps also the desire to come back, on a festive evening, to check if these bombarde and biniou tunes that we hear from afar would not come by chance from a small divine bagad hiding behind the walls of the parish enclosure...


-1- In Brittany, we call "échalier" the access to an enclosure which obliges to step over a flat stone placed on edge. This device was intended here to prevent animals from entering the cemetery. We can also think that by imposing an effort on humans, it symbolized the difficulty of passing from the world of the living into the kingdom of the dead. There are still "échaliers" around some wash-houses or defending access to a well like the St-Ronan well in Molène. ( The wash-houses the country of Iroise ) ( The St-Ronan well )

-2- This sort of bow fiddle is the ancestor of the hurdy-gurdy.

Yannick Loukianoff

READ MORE



Thanks to Michel MAUGUIN who carried out heraldic researches on the territory of the commune of Brélès and kindly communicated them to us to put them below at the disposal of the Net surfers.


© Michel Mauguin

Read this document


***

QR code of this page:



Download this flashcode

Retour à l'accueil



L'église Notre-Dame de Brélès

( Commune de Brélès )





GPS : 48°28'40.3 N   4°42'52.3 W




L'église et son enclos

Accès: De St-Renan, prendre la D27 qui longe le lac de la COMIREN. Elle mène directement à Brélès. Stationner sur la place, à droite en arrivant devant l'église.

    Brélès, qui fut autrefois une trève de la paroisse de Plourin-Ploudalmézeau, est devenue une paroisse autonome lors du Concordat en 1801. Son église, autrefois simple chapelle, est l'une des rares en Pays d'Iroise à avoir conservé son enclos. De plus, un monument en forme d'arc de triomphe en indique l'entrée.

L'arc de triomphe

L'arc de triomphe

L'arc de triomphe
L'enclos a longtemps été fermé par un portail métallique.

    L'ouvrage soutenu par deux gros pilastres comporte une arcade en plein cintre ornée dans sa partie inférieure de redents ajourés trilobés. Il a été remanié comme en témoignent deux inscriptions superposées incorporées dans un pilier voisin, à droite de l'échalier1.

L'échalier

Les inscriptions

L'inscription supérieure est la plus récente. On lit :


L.TOVR
MEN GR

Louis Tourmen était de 1763 à 1791 gouverneur-recteur de ce qui n'était encore qu'une chapelle. Il signe donc là un remaniement de l'arc de triomphe qu'il a fait effectuer quelques années avant la Révolution.

Puis vient la dédicace originale :


PRIES.P.F.KEN
GAR.AVCTEVR
DE.CESTE

Priez pour François de Kéringar auteur de cet (arc). François de Kéringar, seigneur de Bel-Air, avait déjà fait apposer une dédicace datée de 1599 à l'entrée de son manoir. L'ouvrage date donc du tout début du XVIIe siècle.
    Au sommet, un crucifix en kersanton montre à son revers une Vierge à l'Enfant entre deux anges, sous un dais gothique. On sait ainsi dès l'entrée de l'enclos que le site est dédié à Notre-Dame.

La Vierge à l'Enfant

   L'église est un bâtiment en forme de croix latine dont certaines parties remontent à la fin du XIVe siècle. Elle a subi plusieurs transformations dont un agrandissement à partir de 1855. La galerie de son clocher est surmontée de deux étages abritant les cloches, prolongés par une flèche ajourée de section octogonale.

Le clocher

On remarquera son portail gothique délicatement ouvragé dans la pierre de kersanton.

Le portail

Il est orné des armoiries d'Olivier du Chastel et de Jeanne de Ploeuc qui se sont mariés, peut-être dans la chapelle nouvellement construite, en 1408. Ce grand seigneur de Trémazan fut chambellan du duc de Bretagne et capitaine de Dinan et de Brest. A l'origine, ces armoiries présentées par un ange étaient peintes de vives couleurs. A gauche les du Chastel, à droite les Ploeuc.

photo des armoiries
armoiries en couleurs
Reconstitution par Michel Mauguin
in « Le patrimoine héraldique de Brélès »
Aoùt 2015
.


L'entrée habituelle de l'église se trouve sur la face sud. Elle est dotée elle aussi d'une ornementation en kersanton surmontée d'un fleuron. On peut seulement regretter que, lors de sa pose au XXe siècle, la gouttière voisine n'ait pas été dissimulée.

L'entrée sud

La nef, séparée des bas-côtés par des arcades néo-gothiques. est formée de cinq travées. A la hauteur de la quatrième ont été construites deux chapelles latérales faisant office de transept. Une large tribune surmonte l'entrée par le grand portail.

La nef

La nef
La tribune, de style gothique, est éclairée par des ouvertures pratiquées dans la voûte.

    En levant les yeux aux quatre angles de la croisée du transept, on découvre sous la voûte lambrissée en berceau la présence originale d'angelots musiciens. Ces amusantes sculptures en bois polychrome constituent un bagad divin qui égaie la solennité de l'édifice.

angelot aux cymbales
Angelot aux cymbales.
angelot au biniou
Angelot au biniou.


angelot à la bombarde
Angelot à la bombarde.
angelot au tambour
Angelot au tambour.


Dans le chœur, deux autres enfants, dépourvus d'ailes car ce ne sont pas des anges, prêtent sous la voûte une oreille attentive à la musique divine qu'eux seuls semblent entendre. Battent-ils la mesure ? L'un d'eux en a perdu un bras.

Enfant de droite
Enfant de gauche


Le chœur est à chevet plat. Son ornementation est sobre.

Le chœur

Il est illuminé par une maîtresse-vitre. Ses huit panneaux sont dédiés à la Vierge dont ils évoquent les principaux épisodes de la vie. On peut y lire au centre le nom de François-Marie Bervas, recteur de Brélès de 1872 à 1885 et commanditaire du vitrail.

La maîtresse-vitre

Au tympan de cette maîtresse-vitre sont représentés quatre nouveaux anges musiciens qui jouent de la vièle à l'aide d'un archet2 ou pincent les cordes d'une rote, l'ancêtre de la harpe.

ange
ange


ange
ange


    Deux statues encadrent le vitrail. A gauche, une Vierge à l'Enfant en bois polychrome a subi une restauration maladroite au niveau du bras du Christ.



A droite, un ange en tenue de centurion romain foule aux pieds un monstre à visage humain.



Un ange terrassant un monstre, on pense tout de suite à l'archange Saint Michel. Mais on l'identifie facilement grâce à son bouclier portant la croix de St-Georges. Il s'agit donc bien de Saint Georges, martyr chrétien de l'armée romaine au temps de l'empereur Dioclétien. Le monstre qu'il terrasse représente le paganisme. Cette belle statue en bois polychrome rappelle celle de l'église de Tréouergat.

Les parois du chœur sont peintes afin d'imiter une tapisserie. On y lit d'un côté les armoiries du pape et de l'autre celles de l'évêque de Quimper lors de la consécration de l'église paroissiale nouvellement agrandie..

Armoiries papales
Armoiries du pape Léon XIII ( 1878 - 1903 ).
Lumen in coelo = Lumière dans le ciel.
Au sens figuré: La clé du mystère.

Armoiries de l'évêque
Armoiries de l'évêque Mgr Lamarche ( 1887 - 1892 ).
Doue hag ar vro = Dieu et Patrie.
Ama et confide = Aime et aie confiance.



  Toujours dans le chœur, on ne manquera pas d'admirer le superbe ange-lutrin en bois polychrome juché sur un joli piédestal. Les deux cadres qu'il présente, l'un devant lui, l'autre sur ses ailes, sont destinés à supporter des livres de chants religieux.

L'ange-lutrin

A droite se dresse la chapelle du Sacré-Cœur.

La chapelle du Sacré-Cœur

Deux de ses statues, en bois polychrome, méritent qu'on s'y arrête.

St Isidore
Ste Anne


Tout à droite, Sainte Anne. La mère de la Vierge, toujours représentée voilée, apprend à lire à sa fille dans un livre de prières.
A gauche, Saint Isidore. Ce modeste paysan espagnol tenant une faucille et une gerbe de blé est représenté ici dans un élégant costume breton du Bas-Léon. On remarquera la veste bleue ornée de broderies et portée ouverte sur un gilet blanc d'où ne dépasse que le col montant de la chemise. A la taille, une ceinture constituée d'une longue écharpe rouge couvre le haut de ses bragou braz qui sont serrés au niveau des genoux à l'aide d'un ruban rouge. Ses guêtres se ferment latéralement par de gros boutons cuivrés et viennent envelopper le haut de ses souliers.

De l'autre côté du chœur se dresse la chapelle dédiée à Saint Jean et Saint Sébastien.

La chapelle St Jean et St Sébastien

Là aussi, encadrant un tableau représentant l'arrivée en Armorique des moines d'outre-Manche, deux statues attirent le regard.

St Jean
St Sébastien


A gauche, l'apôtre Saint Jean. Il est représenté tenant un calice afin de rappeler qu'il a décrit la Cène avec beaucoup de détails dans l'évangile qui lui est attribué.

A droite, Saint Sébastien, martyr chrétien de la fin du IIIe siècle. Selon son hagiographie, il aurait été criblé de flèches par les propres soldats de la garde impériale qu'il commandait, sur ordre de l'empereur romain Dioclétien.

On l'aura peut-être remarqué, plusieurs peintures murales en trompe-l'œil ornent la nef. Celles qui sont situées en hauteur entre les arcades représentent les apôtres Saint Simon, Saint Thadée (appelé aussi Saint Jude ), Saint Jacques et Saint Barthélémy.

St Barthéléùy
Saint Barthélémy
St Jacques
Saint Jacques


Au fond de la nef, derrière les stalles entreposées sous la tribune, on découvre Saint Pierre et Saint Paul :

St Pierre
Saint Pierre
St Paul
Saint Paul


Le visiteur quitte ainsi l'église de Brélès avec le sentiment d'avoir découvert de nouveaux éléments fort intéressants du patrimoine d'Iroise. Et peut-être aussi l'envie d'y revenir, un soir de fête, afin de vérifier si ces airs de bombarde et de biniou que l'on entend de loin ne proviendraient pas par hasard d'un petit bagad divin qui se cacherait derrière les murs de l'enclos...


-1- En Bretagne, on appelle « échalier » l'accès à un enclos qui oblige à enjamber une pierre plate placée sur chant. Ce dispositif était ici destiné à empêcher les animaux d'entrer dans le cimetière. On peut aussi penser qu'en imposant un effort aux humains, il symbolisait la difficulté à passer du monde des vivants dans le royaume des morts. On trouve encore des échaliers autour de certains lavoirs ou défendant l'accès à un puits comme le puits St-Ronan à Molène. ( Les lavoirs ) ( Le puits St-Ronan )

-2- La vièle à archet est l'ancêtre de la vielle à roue.

Yannick Loukianoff

EN SAVOIR PLUS



Merci à Michel MAUGUIN qui a effectué des recherches héraldiques sur le territoire de la commune de Brélès et a bien voulu nous les communiquer pour les mettre ci-dessous à la disposition des internautes.



Télécharger ce document


***

QR code de cette page :