Back to home pageFrench    German    Spanish    



The Toul Logot battery

( Municipality of Plougonvelin)

The place called Toul al Logot has a Breton name which means Mouse hole




GPS : 48°21'12.9 N   4°41'05 W






Access : Between Brest and Le Conquet, on the D789, after crossing Kerfily, the road goes down a steep slope and then upwards followed by a right turn. After this one, take the first road on the left and continue straight ahead until you reach the car park surrounding the F.F.I. Memorial.
   From Le Conquet, on the road to Brest, go past the second roundabout, and after the first bend take the second small road on the right and follow it to the car park.
   Park there and, in front of the sea, take the GR 34 path on the left. It does not follow the sea but bypasses a property. Just after this one, follow the coastal path on the right. At 100 m we cross the battery.

   This remarkable site, owned by the Finistère General Council, enjoys an admirable view of the immense maritime space where sailboats once waited, hoping to obtain a favourable wind to enter the Brest Channel as far as the bay of Brest.
From this promontory, a battery of cannons could easily fire at enemy ships and its importance in defending the military port is well understood.



L'histoire de Toul Logot est résumée sur le site du Conseil Général du Finistère.
   It is to the association "PHASE", of Plougonvelin, that we owe the resurrection of this military complex of the XVIIth century whose ruins had been sleeping under a thick layer of scrub for more than 150 years. Details in french of the documentary research, clearing operations and excavations that took place in 2009 and 2010 for the inauguration of the consolidated remains of the battery in 2013 can be found on the PHASE website.

These remains comprise several parts:
- an artillery terrace
- the basis of a sentry box
- a store powder
- a guard house
- an adjoining area with garden and quarry.

Excavations revealed that the ruins had been used as a training ground and even a target for German troops during the Occupation. More recent work has also partially deteriorated them during the construction of the coastal path.

The artillery terrace


Panel of the General Council of Finistère, illustrated by Véronique BARDEL
However, it can be assumed that the cannons used were much larger than those of the marine guns shown here.




The artillery terrace today :
Behind the railing, a stone wall protects its embankment.
In the foreground, what remains of the guard post.




Reconstruction of a cannon and its mount at Lanildut

On this platform, 4 to 6 cannons were installed. Much more impressive than the guns on board ships, their heavy mount could easily be pivoted by rolling on beams buried in the ground. As the panel below shows, their powerful shot could pierce a 60 cm thick oak shell at 600 m. Even more formidable, red-hot cannonballs were fired at enemy sailboats to set them on fire.





Drawing by Véronique Bardel

  The sentry box

Although only the base remains, we can get an idea of this small construction thanks to the one that still remains on the coast near the Conquet.


The Bilou sentry box
in Le Conquet


  The store powder






Thick walls and a sturdy stone roof protected the precious reserves of powder from enemy fire.

    However, this solid building has been very damaged. Inside, a drawing reconstructs the general appearance of the building. A watertight floor was to isolate the powder barrels from soil moisture.

The guard house




Drawing by Véronique Bardel

  This building, in peacetime, was the home of the battery keeper. In wartime, it was also necessary to house the gunmen, some thirty coast guard militiamen. Bunks were then installed on the ground floor, hammocks hung on the first floor, while tent camp beds were mounted outside.


    This battery was obviously not the only one along the coast and the shots crossed each other to make them more effective. The coast guard militia, most often composed of local inhabitants, thus had an essential role in conflicts. The mandatory nature of its recruitment, by forcing farmers to abandon their work in the fields, explains its unpopularity. However, it was the progress of the artillery that made the Toul Logot battery obsolete. It was abandoned by the Army and sold in 1857.

***

READ MORE :


Nicolas Meynen ( dir )
Presses Universitaires de Rennes 2010


***

QR code of this page :



Download this flashcode

Retour à l'accueil



La batterie de Toul Logot

( Commune de Plougonvelin )

Le lieu-dit Toul al Logot porte un nom breton qui signifie Trou de souris




GPS : 48°21'12.9 N   4°41'05 W






Accès : Entre Brest et Le Conquet, sur la D789, après avoir traversé Kerfily, la route fait une grande descente puis une montée suivie d'un virage à droite. Après celui-ci, prendre la première route à gauche et continuer tout droit jusqu'au parking entourant le Mémorial aux F.F.I.
   Depuis Le Conquet, sur la route de Brest, dépasser le second giratoire, et après le premier tournant s'engager dans la seconde petite route à droite puis la suivre jusqu'au parking.
   Stationner là et prendre à pied le GR 34 sur la gauche. Il ne longe pas la mer mais contourne une propriété. Après celle-ci, suivre à droite le chemin côtier. A 100 m on traverse la batterie.

   Ce site remarquable, propriété du Conseil Général du Finistère, bénéficie d'une admirable vue sur l'immense espace maritime où attendaient autrefois les voiliers espérant obtenir un vent favorable pour s'engager dans le Goulet jusqu'à la rade de Brest.
Depuis ce promontoire, une batterie de canons pouvait facilement tirer sur des navires ennemis et l'on en comprend toute l'importance dans la défense du port militaire.



L'histoire de Toul Logot est résumée sur le site du Conseil Général du Finistère.
   C'est à l'association PHASE, de Plougonvelin, que l'on doit la résurrection de cet ensemble militaire du XVIIe siècle dont les ruines dormaient sous une épaisse couche de broussailles depuis plus de 150 ans. On trouvera sur le
site de PHASE tous les détails concernant les recherches documentaires, les opérations de débroussaillage et les fouilles qui se sont déroulées en 2009 et 2010 pour une inauguration des restes consolidés de la batterie en 2013.

Ces restes comprennent plusieurs parties :
- une terrasse d'artillerie
- la base d'une guérite de surveillance
- un magasin à poudre
- une maison de corps de garde
- une zone annexe avec jardin et carrière.

Les fouilles ont révélé que les ruines avaient servi de terrain d'exercice et même de cible pour les troupes allemandes pendant l'Occupation. Des travaux plus récents les ont aussi partiellement détériorées lors du traçage du chemin côtier.

La terrasse d'artillerie


Panneau du Conseil Général du Finistère, illustré par Véronique BARDEL
On peut toutefois supposer que les canons utilisés étaient de beaucoup plus gros calibre
que ceux des canons de marine représentés ici




La terrasse d'artillerie aujourd'hui :
Derrière la rambarde, un mur de pierre protège son talus.
Au premier plan, ce qui reste de la guérite de surveillance.




Reconstitution d'un canon et de son affût à Lanildut

Sur cette plate-forme, 4 à 6 canons étaient installés. Beaucoup plus impressionnant que celui des canons embarqués à bord des navires, leur énorme affût de côte pouvait aisément pivoter en roulant sur des poutres enfouies dans le sol. Ainsi que l'indique le panneau ci-dessous, leur tir puissant pouvait transpercer à 600 m une coque en chêne de 60 cm d'épaisseur. Plus redoutables encore, des boulets chauffés au rouge étaient tirés sur les voiliers ennemis afin de les incendier.





Dessin de Véronique Bardel

  La guérite de surveillance

Bien qu'il n'en subsiste plus guère que la base, on peut avoir une idée de cette petite construction grâce à celle qui demeure encore sur la côte auprès du Conquet.


La guérite du Bilou au Conquet

  Le magasin à poudre






Des murs épais et une robuste toiture en pierre mettaient à l'abri des tirs ennemis
les précieuses réserves de poudre.


    Ce solide bâtiment a pourtant été très dégradé. A l'intérieur un dessin en reconstitue l'allure générale. Un plancher étanche devait isoler les barils de poudre de l'humidité du sol.

Le corps de garde




Dessin de Véronique Bardel

  Ce bâtiment, en temps de paix, était le logement du gardien de la batterie. En temps de guerre, il fallait y héberger aussi les servants des canons, soit une trentaine de miliciens gardes-côtes. Des couchettes étaient alors installées au rez-de-chaussée, des hamacs suspendus à l'étage, tandis que des lits de camp sous tente étaient montés à l'extérieur.


    Cette batterie n'était évidemment pas la seule le long du littoral et les tirs se croisaient afin de les rendre plus efficaces. La milice garde-côtes, le plus souvent composée d'habitants de la région, avait ainsi un rôle essentiel lors des conflits. Le caractère obligatoire de son recrutement, en forçant les paysans à abandonner leur travail aux champs, explique son impopularité. Toutefois ce sont les progrès de l'artillerie qui rendirent obsolète la batterie de Toul Logot. Elle fut abandonnée par l'Armée et vendue en 1857.

***

EN SAVOIR PLUS :


Nicolas Meynen ( dir )
Presses Universitaires de Rennes 2010


***

QR code de cette page :



Télécharger ce flashcode