Back to home pageFrench    German    Spanish    



The gold currency known as Pytheas



   As has often happened, the heritage of the Iroise Country is not entirely in its original region. Sometimes you have to travel tens or even hundreds of kilometres to discover one of its elements. Over the years, objects have been moved to be, for example, held in distant private collections or exhibited in museums. Not to mention the thefts, such as that of the Virgin with the fig, disappeared from the chapel N.D. du Val in Trébabu in 1977 and found in Provence 28 years later, or that of the sundial of the church of Tréouergat that we are still looking for.

In Rennes, you can admire at the Museum of Brittany a very old coin, since it dates back to the 4th century BC. Its discovery dates back to 1959 and its tribulations, which we tell you here, are really not mundane.



THE DISCOVERY




   That year, a retired naval officer from Brest went hunting on the coast of Lampaul-Ploudalmézeau. Arriving on the beach, he was surprised by the amount of seaweed that the sea had piled up in some places.



A recent storm had accumulated there a thickness of about one meter of laminaries that were beginning to rot. The sailor fills a few bags in order to spread them as fertilizer in his garden in Brest.
A few weeks later, as the seaweeds had partially decomposed, he saw a bright object among his salads.
Stuck between the thick cleats of a rough laminar, a beautiful gold coin shone in the sun.


YL Photo: Reenactment


A vigorous brushing under the tap overcame the algae debris that had encrusted it, which proved that the gold coin had indeed been brought by the sea and not lost by a walker. The officer logically concluded that it came from the sinking of a ship not far from Lampaul-Ploudalmézeau1.
On one side, the coin depicted an ill figure standing on a chariot pulled by four horses surmounted by an almost illegible inscription.



On the other side, a crowned figure, half-naked, held a kind of spear along which was another inscription.



   There is no doubt that it was an ancient currency. To find out more, it had to be assessed.

    In February 1960, the sailor addressed the Faculty of Letters in Rennes and contacted Pierre-Roland Giot, director of the Prehistoric Antiquities District. The latter entrusted the object for identification to Jean-Baptiste Colbert de Beaulieu, a numismatist scholar, who readlessly recognized a stater from the Greek colony of Cyrene, present-day Libya, and struck only a few years after the death of Alexander the Tall, between 322 and 313 BC. Right : a quadrige led by the winged goddess Nike
( the Victory of Samothrace )
and the Name in Greek of the Cyreneans. Back : Zeus of Cyrene ( Zeus-Ammon ) makes a libation with the help of a phial and leaning on a scepter. You could read the name of Polianthès, monetary magistrate of Cyrene in -322. The pure gold coin, roughly round, had a diameter of about 2 cm. It weighed 8.54 grams and was part of a series well known to collectors.
Jean Bousquet, the new director of the District of historical Antiquities of Brittany and Country of the Loire, negotiated the acquisition of the coin and the Laboratory of Archaeology of the Rennes' Faculty of Letters became legally its owner.
The stater, so scrupulously studied, was the subject of several publications2 in the specialized press because it was of very special importance.
Indeed, from the outset, archaeologists suspected that it may have belonged to the expedition of Pythéas3, the bold Navigator of Marseille whose writings had disappeared and whom Latin historians had considered as an affabulator.
Although it could not be formal proof of this, the discovery made this ancient expedition very plausible and rehabilitated the navigator.

The gold coin was kept in Rennes and, for about fifty years, was completely forgotten. The protagonists of his discovery disappeared one after the other. Publications remained, but at the Archaeology Laboratory no one knew where this important part of our heritage had been stored.

Mystery...

The golden stater of Pytheas had disappeared like its discoverers, and its beautiful story seemed to end there...


THE REDISCOVERY

   In 2015, a retired schoolteacher in a small municipality north of Rennes, a fervent numismatist and aware of the disappearance of the stater, was stunned to discover its description in the catalogue of an auction.
No doubt, the currency on the photo corresponded in every way to the Pytheas's stater. This one was no longer in the Faculty's premises, but was now part of a private collection !

And the sale was supposed to take place two days later !

   Without further ado, the teacher alerted the Museum of Brittany. Under the leadership of its Curator of Heritage in charge of numismatics, the Regional Archaeology Service obtained in extremis that the currency of Cyrene be withdrawn from sale and entrusted to this museum.

The so-called gold coin of Pytheas was saved a second time.

It is now presented to the public in a showcase dedicated to it. As the museum's collections are inalienable, we can only wish him to keep the curiosity of visitors for a long time.


In the Musée de Bretagne: The showcase of the golden stater
and the numismate who saved it a second time

Photo Ouest-France 21 June 2015


1- Rather than imagining a shipwreck, it is easier to think that a purse or a small box of gold coins could have fallen into the water during a transfer on a canoe in order to buy food or tin from local people ashore.

2- See the article by P.R. Giot and J.B. Colbert de Beaulieu published in 1961 in the Bulletin of the Prehistoric Society of France, the report of Jean Bousquet published the same year in the Annals of Brittany, and the account made by the same author during the session of October 14, 1960 of the Academy of Inscriptions and Beautiful Letters.

3- To complete this story, see the page of this site entitled Pytheas the Massaliote, written by Georges Tanneau.



Yannick Loukianoff

***

QR code of this page :




Download this flashcode


***

Retour à l'accueilAnglais    Allemand    Espagnol    



La monnaie d'or dite de Pythéas



   Comme il est arrivé bien souvent, le patrimoine du Pays d'Iroise ne se trouve pas intégralement dans sa région d'origine. Il faut parfois parcourir des dizaines, voire des centaines de kilomètres pour découvrir l'un de ses éléments. Au fil des années, des objets ont en effet été déménagés pour être, par exemple, retenus dans des collections particulières lointaines ou exposés dans des musées. Sans compter les vols, comme celui de la Vierge à la figue disparue de la chapelle N.D. du Val à Trébabu en 1977 et retrouvée en Provence 28 ans plus tard, ou celui du cadran solaire de l'église de Tréouergat que l'on recherche toujours.

A Rennes, on peut admirer au Musée de Bretagne une pièce de monnaie très ancienne, puisqu'elle remonte au 4e siècle avant notre ère. Sa découverte date de 1959 et ses tribulations, que nous vous racontons ici, ne sont vraiment pas banales.



LA  DÉCOUVERTE




   Cette année-là, un officier de Marine brestois en retraite était parti à la chasse sur la côte de Lampaul-Ploudalmézeau. Parvenu sur la plage, il fut surpris par la quantité d'algues que la mer avait entassées en certains endroits.



Une récente tempête avait accumulé là une épaisseur d'environ un mètre de laminaires qui commençaient à pourrir. Le marin en emplit quelques sacs afin de les répandre comme engrais dans son jardin de Brest.
Quelques semaines plus tard, les algues s'étant partiellement décomposées, il aperçut parmi ses salades un objet qui brillait.
Coincée entre les épais crampons d'une laminaire rugueuse, une belle monnaie en or resplendissait au soleil.


Photo YL : reconstitution


Un vigoureux brossage sous le robinet vint à bout des débris d'algue qui s'y étaient incrustés, ce qui prouvait que la pièce d'or avait bien été apportée par la mer et non perdue par un promeneur. L'officier en conclut logiquement qu'elle provenait du naufrage d'un navire non loin de Lampaul-Ploudalmézeau1.
Sur l'une de ses faces, la monnaie représentait un personnage ailé debout sur un char tiré par quatre chevaux surmontés d'une inscription quasi illisible.



Sur l'autre face, un personnage couronné, à demi nu, tenait une sorte de lance le long de laquelle figurait une autre inscription.



   A n'en pas douter, il s'agissait d'une monnaie antique. Pour en savoir plus, il fallait donc la faire expertiser.

   En février 1960, le marin s'adressa à la Faculté des Lettres de Rennes et prit contact avec Pierre-Roland Giot, directeur de la circonscription des Antiquités préhistoriques. Celui-ci confia l'objet pour identification à Jean-Baptiste Colbert de Beaulieu, savant numismate, qui reconnut sans peine un statère originaire de la colonie grecque de Cyrène, en Libye actuelle, et frappée quelques années seulement après la mort d'Alexandre le Grand, entre 322 et 313 avant JC. Au droit, était représenté un quadrige mené par la déesse ailée Niké ( la Victoire de Samothrace ) et le nom en grec des Cyrénéens. Au revers, Zeus de Cyrène ( Zeus-Ammon ) faisant une libation à l'aide d'une phiale et s'appuyant sur un sceptre. On y lisait le nom de Polianthès, magistrat monétaire de Cyrène en -322. La monnaie d'or pur, à peu près ronde, avait un diamètre d'environ 2 cm. Elle pesait 8,54 grammes et faisait partie d'une série bien connue des collectionneurs.
Jean Bousquet, nouveau directeur de la circonscription des Antiquités historiques de Bretagne-Pays de la Loire en négocia l'acquisition et le Laboratoire d'Archéologie de la Faculté des Lettres de Rennes en devint légalement propriétaire.
Le statère, ainsi scrupuleusement étudié, fit l'objet de plusieurs publications2 dans la presse spécialisée car il revêtait une importance très particulière.
En effet, d'emblée, les archéologues soupçonnèrent qu'il avait pu appartenir à l'expédition de Pythéas3, le hardi navigateur marseillais dont les écrits avaient disparu et que les historiens latins avaient considéré comme un affabulateur.
Bien qu'elle ne puisse en constituer une preuve formelle, la découverte rendait donc cette expédition antique très vraisemblable et réhabilitait le navigateur.

La monnaie d'or fut donc conservée à Rennes et, pendant une cinquantaine d'années, elle fut totalement oubliée. Les protagonistes de sa découverte disparurent les uns après les autres. Les publications subsistaient, mais au Laboratoire d'Archéologie plus personne ne savait où cet élément important de notre patrimoine avait été entreposé.

Mystère...

Le statère d'or dit de Pythéas avait disparu comme ses découvreurs, et sa belle histoire semblait s'arrêter là...


LA  REDÉCOUVERTE

   En 2015, un professeur en retraite dans une petite commune du nord de Rennes, fervent numismate et au courant de la disparition du statère, fut stupéfait d'en découvrir la description dans le catalogue d'une vente aux enchères.
Pas de doute, la monnaie qui y figurait en photo correspondait en tous points au statère de Pythéas. Celui-ci n'était donc plus dans les locaux de la Faculté, mais faisait maintenant partie d'une collection privée !

Et la vente devait avoir lieu deux jours plus tard !

   Sans plus attendre, l'enseignant alerta le Musée de Bretagne. Sous la conduite de son Conservateur du Patrimoine chargé de la numismatique, le Service Régional de l'Archéologie obtint in extremis que la monnaie de Cyrène soit retirée de la vente et confiée à ce musée.

La monnaie d'or dite de Pythéas était sauvée une seconde fois.

Elle est aujourd'hui présentée au public dans une vitrine qui lui est spécialement consacrée. Les collections du musée étant inaliénables, on ne peut que lui souhaiter de satifaire longtemps la curiosité des visiteurs.


Au Musée de Bretagne : La vitrine du statère d'or
et Jean-Louis Aicard, le numismate qui l'a sauvé une seconde fois

Photo Ouest-France 21 juin 2015


1- Plutôt que d'imaginer un naufrage, il est plus simple de penser qu'une bourse ou un petit coffre de pièces d'or ait pu tomber à l'eau lors d'un transbordement sur un canot afin d'acheter à terre de la nourriture ou de l'étain auprès des populations locales.

2- Voir l'article de P.R. Giot et J.B. Colbert de Beaulieu paru en 1961 dans le Bulletin de la Société Préhistorique de France, le rapport de Jean Bousquet publié la même année dans les Annales de Bretagne, et le compte rendu effectué par le même auteur au cours de la séance du 14 octobre 1960 de l'Académie des Inscriptions et Belles Lettres.

3- Pour compléter ce récit, voir la page de ce site intitulée Pythéas le Massaliote, écrite par Georges Tanneau.



Yannick Loukianoff

***

QR code de cette page :




Télécharger ce flashcode


***