Back to home pageFrench    German    Spanish    



DOCUMENT



Pytheas, the Massaliote

(circa 300 BC)




Pytheas by Auguste Ottin, 1859, Palais de la Bourse, Marseille.
(At his feet, a seal evokes the name of Phocea, Phokaya in Greek)



   The existence of Celtic peoples at the tip of Armorica is attested by Julius Caesar in his conqueror report The War of Gauls. But before that, the most compelling evidence we have about the Osisms, Venetos or Coriosolites is that of Pytheas who lived three centuries earlier.
    Who was this Pythéas ? A Massaliote, we would say these days an inhabitant of Marseilles. Pytheas massiliensis could be read in the texts erain according to the testimony of Eratosthenes, who was responsible for the Library of Alexandria, and Hipparque, one of the largest ancient Greek astronomers.
    Pytheas lived in Marseilles ( the Grecian-Phoenician town of Massalia ) 4th century BC and was recognized from his time not only as an intrepid navigator, but also as a an excellent mathematician and astronomer. He determined, thanks to the shadows of a gnomon1 the latitude of Marseilles at a time when nothing was known yet about the coordinates of other Mediterranean cities. He accurately calculated the ecliptic's obliquity2 and deduced that on the summer solstice, at the polar circle, the sun was no longer to disappear behind the horizon.
    Leaving the shores of Lacydon, the ancient name of the Old port, around 320 BC, his expedition beyond the Columns of Hercules ( the Strait of Gibraltar ) was to allow him to go and check his calculations by reaching the desired latitude and also finding the way which would facilitate the importation of tin, amber and other products from the northern regions. Tin that Marseilles, Rome and Athens needed to make weapons and bronze tools was found in large quantities in British Cornwall but also in Armorica. He was therefore driven by the spirit of research and adventure as much as his crew had, without doubt, in the heart and mind the fabulous epic of the Argonauts.

Trière de l'époque de Pythéas
Trireme: 170 rowers on 3 floors

Pentecontore de l'époque de Pythéas
Pentecontore: 50 rowers at the same level



    What types of ships and how many of them were armed for this adventurous expedition ? Some archaeologists and writers believe he was running one or two triremes, others for a ship carrying a maximum of a hundred sailors. At the time, the Carthaginians controlled navigation in the western Mediterranean and prevented Greek and Roman ships from crossing the strait opening towards the Atlantic. Would Pytheas have succeed in deceiving the vigilance of Carthaginians ? Or did he cross south of Gaul with horses, weapons and luggage to board in the Namnets at the mouth of the Loire? Still, he recognized several Armorica capes, including the one he named Kabayon and which is none other than the tip of Penmarc'h. The Romans renamed it Caput caballi ( from Latin caput = head or chief, and caballus = horse ). Later, Britons from across the Channel naturally translated this name by Pen Marc'h ( Horse's head ) then the writers and historians of a Brittany that has become French in the 16th century renamed it in Cap Caval.
    After the tip of Penmarc'h, the navigator discovered the region of Le Conquet and the abers as well as islands including the one he named Ouxisamé and that was probably Ushant. In 1959 was discovered in Lampaul-Ploudalmézeau, in the cleats of a laminar seaweed, a Cyrene's golden stater, called since then by numismatists and hellenists the Pytheas's stater. The serie of which this gold coin was part, was minted between 322 and 313 B.C., likely the time of the Pytheas expedition.4


The golden stater found in Lampaul-Ploudalmézeau
and deposited at the Museum of Brittany in Rennes

Photo : Prehistory Museum of Penmarc'h ( Finistère)


Le statère de Lampaul-Ploudalmézeau côté face

On a face : a quadrige led by the winged goddess Nike, the Samothrace's Victory, and the Name in Greek of the Cyreneans.


Le statère de Lampaul-Ploudalmézeau côté pile

Back : Zeus of Cyrene ( Zeus-Ammon ) making a libation
and the name of Polianthes, monetary magistrate of Cyrene in -322.



    The Massaliotes then headed for the Cassiterids5. The navigator also mentions more to the east an island than the natives had named Victis, perhaps the Isle of Wight, and an area on the shores called Kantion, an approximate name still carried by the county of Kent. Making numerous stops, he finally recognized by observations and deductions the triangular shape of this land to which he gave the name of Prettanike or Brettanike, the land of the Brittons. The locals, he writes, are simple people who live frugally in shacks reeds and wood. And he adds : They are good warriors who fight on chariots like the heroes of the Trojan War.
   He does not forget to point out the phenomenon of tides, especially those he will discover on the shores of Scotland and Cape Orkas ( Orkney ) and he compare them to the much weaker tides of the Mediterranean.
    The rest of his journey will take the navigator to Thath or Thule, six days' sailing from Brittany ( Great Britain ), heading north, specified Strabon and Pliny in quoting him. What was Thulé ? The Shetlands islands ? The Faroes ? Iceland ? Or all these regions including the Norwegian coast ? During a long time Thulé has been the extreme northern limit of the known world : the Ultima Thule. Even today, in Gaelic, the Celtic language of Ireland, Tuath or Toua is used to designate the extreme north.

Itinéraire possible de Pythéas
Based on Le voyage de Pythéas 300 ans avant J.C., in Cap Caval Magazine No. 24
Some historians believe that the return from Iceland took place not along the Scandinavian coast
but between the British Isles before the exploration of the Baltic Sea



    The Barbarians showed us the horizon where the sun disappears to regain its bed, said Pytheas, referring to the winters nights, as well as reported by the copyist Geminus of Rhodes in the first century B.C.. Much later, Cosmas of Alexandria reports : Pytheas says that having arrived in the far north, the natives indicated him the place that was for them the point of the long nights origin.
  When the navigator declares that the frigid sea ( the frozen sea as Pliny translated it ) is just one day away from Thule's navigation, it's probably from Iceland and the sea ice that starts north of this island he wants to talk about, and what he called the sea lung was to be the pack ice being formed that he compared to shoals of jellyfishes.
    After crossing the Artic Circle, Pytheas returned to South and entered the Baltic Sea. In front of Scythia ( the land of the Scythians or the north of Europe ), Pliny explains, he approached an island where the sea rejected amber in abundance on the beaches. It must be the island that today is called Samland, in the vicinity of Kaliningrad. Strabon did not admit that Pythéas could have recognized so many new lands and especially the shores of the Baltic. No one has yet surpassed the mouth of the Elbe, he said in one of his writtens, not even the Romans. Historian Claude Nicolet points out that, under Augustus, the Roman fleet reached the headland of the Cimbres ( the Point of Jutland ), but then had to turn back. A pious omission on the part of Strabon, rather than ignorance, says the historian.
    The story of Pytheas has moving shortcomings writed the poet from Marseilles Louis Brauquier. One can imagine all kinds of endings in his journey. Has Marseilles been ungrateful to her hero ? Has the city organized expeditions for new discoveries ? Silence was made for many centuries on Pytheas whose writings had disappeared, and then the Italian Renaissance rediscovered Strabon and, through him, the exploits of the first polar explorer in history. In our time, all navigators, astronomers, historians and geographers around the world now recognize the immense value of this great sailor. But we'll settle for to add that Pytheas of Marseilles, whoever Winston Churchill hailed in his book The birth of Britain as one of the greatest explorers in the history, has indeed recognized the ribs of our beautiful region we love and we name Finistère.

Even today, after 23 centuries, Marseilles has not forgotten Pytheas. A college and a street parallel to the Cannebière bear his name, a statue and a stele are dedicated to him while the recent Museum History of the City, built on the site of the ancient port, evokes the famous massaliote navigator.








   -1- The gnomon consisted of a vertical or parallel stem to the axis of the poles, fixed on a flat surface. It was used, among other things, to measure heights of the sun and mark the time.

   -2- The ecliptic is the plane in which the Earth moves through space. The Earth's rotationaxis is 23°26 tilted compared to this plan.

  -3- Read the incredible tribulations of this currency on our page The Golden Stater says of Pytheas.



  -4- Read the detailed report of this interesting discovery published by Jean Bousquet, Regional Director of Historical Antiquities, in 1961 in the Annales de Bretagne, 68, 68-1, pp.25-39. The author deduces from this that one of Pytheas' vessels could have sinked not far from Lampaul-Ploudalmézeau, being no more than 30 m deep.
  That same year, J.B. Colbert de Beaulieu, numismate, and P.R. Giot, prehistorian, have published an article about this protohistoric discovery in the Bulletin de la Société Préhistorique de France, Vol.58, No.5-6, pp.324-331.Article

  -5- The Cassitérides was the name to designate the Sorlingues ( Scilly Islands ) and British Cornwall where cassiterite, tin ore, was extracted, as in Iroise country in St-Renan.

This notice was written according to Hugues Journès: Le voyage de Pythéas 300 ans avant J.C. in Cap Caval review, No.24, Pont-l'Abbé, September 1999.

Revue Cap Caval n°24


Georges Tanneau




READ MORE


In 1961, the Academy of Inscriptions and Beautiful Letters published in the following report of its 1960 sessions:

Click on the bild :
Académie des Inscriptions et Belles Lettres 1960
In pp. 25-39: A golden currency from Cyrene on the north coast of Armorica
by Jean Bousquet, Director of Historical Antiquities of Brittany


In March 1961, the Annals of Brittany published
the discovery of the Lampaul-Ploudalmézeau stater

Click on the bild :
Annales de Bretagne mars 1961
In pp. 25-39: A golden currency from Cyrene on the north coast of Armorica
by Jean Bousquet, Director of Historical Antiquities of Brittany


Despite the discovery of the Golden Stater, Pytheas' journey still suffers from Strabon's criticisms and is still unknown. While proposing different routes, many authors have tried to rehabilitate the memory of the Massaliote navigator.

Pythéas von Marseille
by Dietrich STICHTENOTH, Hermann Behlaus Nachf. Weimar, 1959.


Pythéas
An exceptional bound work, abundantly illustrated with wonderful watercolours, which completely rehabilitates the Marseille navigator thanks to very detailed scientific explanations. We only regret that this book, which is currently sold out, has never been reissued.
To seize if by happiness you find it used.
La Nerthe 2000


Journal de bord de Pythéas de Marseille
France Empire 1974


Finis terrae
Hachette 1999


Pythéas le Grec
Autrement 2003


Le voyage extraordinaire de Pythéas le Grec
Walker & Co


Puisque la Terre est ronde
Vuibert 2008


L'Armorique antique
Skol Vreizh 2013

***

QR code of this page :




Download this flashcode


***

Retour à l'accueilAnglais    Allemand    



DOCUMENT



Pythéas, le Massaliote

( vers 300 avant J.C.)




Pythéas par Auguste Ottin, 1859, Palais de la Bourse, Marseille.
( A ses pieds, un phoque, évoque le nom de Phocée, Phokaïa en grec )



   L'existence de peuples celtiques à la pointe de l'Armorique est attestée par Jules César dans son rapport de conquérant La Guerre des Gaules. Mais auparavant, le témoignage le plus probant que l'on possède sur les Osismes, les Vénètes ou les Coriosolites est celui de Pythéas qui lui est antérieur de trois siècles.
    Qui était donc ce Pythéas ? Un Massaliote, on dirait de nos jours un Marseillais. Pytheas massiliensis peut-on lire dans les textes anciens selon les témoignages d'Eratosthène, responsable de la bibliothèque d'Alexandrie, et d'Hipparque, l'un des plus grands astronomes grecs de l'Antiquité.
    Pythéas vivait donc à Marseille ( cité gréco-phocéenne de Massalia ) au IVe siècle avant notre ère et fut reconnu de son temps non seulement comme un navigateur intrépide, mais aussi comme un excellent mathématicien et astronome. Il a déterminé, par l'ombre d'un gnomon1 la latitude exacte de Marseille à une époque où l'on ne savait rien encore sur les coordonnées géographiques des autres cités méditerranéennes. Il calcula avec précision l'obliquité de l'écliptique2 et en déduisit qu'au solstice d'été, à partir du cercle polaire, le soleil ne devait plus disparaître derrière l'horizon.
    Quittant les rivages du Lacydon, l'ancien nom du Vieux port, vers 320 avant J.C., son expédition au-delà des Colonnes d'Hercule ( détroit de Gibraltar ) devait lui permettre d'aller vérifier ses calculs en se rendant par mer jusqu'à la latitude désirée et aussi de trouver la voie maritime qui faciliterait l'importation de l'étain, de l'ambre et des autres produits en provenance des contrées du Nord. L'étain dont Marseille, Rome et Athènes avaient un grand besoin pour fabriquer armes et outils en bronze se trouvait en grande quantité en Cornouaille britannique mais aussi en Armorique. C'est donc poussés par l'esprit de recherche et d'aventure autant que pour des raisons économiques que les équipages massaliotes embarquèrent avec, sans doute, au cœur et à l'esprit l'épopée fabuleuse des Argonautes.

Trière de l'époque de Pythéas
Trière : 170 rameurs sur 3 étages

Pentecontore de l'époque de Pythéas
Pentecontore : 50 rameurs au même niveau



    Quels types de navires et combien d'entre eux furent armés pour cette expédition aventureuse ? Certains archéologues et écrivains penchent pour une ou deux trières, d'autres pour des pentecontores transportant au maximum une centaine de marins. A l'époque, les Carthaginois contrôlaient la navigation dans l'ouest de la Méditerranée et empêchaient les navires grecs et romains de franchir le détroit ouvrant sur l'Atlantique. Pythéas réussit-il à tromper la vigilance des Carthaginois ? Ou bien traversa-t-il le sud de la Gaule avec chevaux, armes et bagages pour s'embarquer chez les Namnètes à l'embouchure de la Loire ? Toujours est-il qu'il reconnut plusieurs caps armoricains, dont celui qu'il nomma Kabaïon et qui n'est autre que la pointe de Penmarc'h. Les Romains le renommèrent Caput caballi ( du latin caput=tête ou chef, et caballus=cheval ). Plus tard, les Bretons venus d'outre-Manche ont naturellement traduit cette appellation par Pen Marc'h ( tête de cheval ) puis les écrivains et historiens d'une Bretagne devenue française au XVIe siècle le rebaptisèrent en Cap Caval.
    Après la pointe de Penmarc'h, le navigateur découvrit la région du Conquet et des abers ainsi que des îles dont celle qu'il nomma Ouxisamé et qui était sans doute Ouessant. En 1959 fut découvert à Lampaul-Ploudalmézeau, dans les crampons d'une algue laminaire, un statère d'or de Cyrène, appelé depuis par les numismates et les héllénistes le statère de Pythéas3. La série dont fait partie cette monnaie d'or aurait été frappée entre 322 et 313 avant J.C., époque probable de l'expédition.4


Le statère d'or trouvé à Lampaul-Ploudalmézeau
et déposé au Musée de Bretagne, à Rennes

Photos : Musée de Préhistoire de Penmarc'h ( Finistère )


Le statère de Lampaul-Ploudalmézeau côté face

Au droit : un quadrige mené par la déesse ailée Niké
( la Victoire de Samothrace)
et le nom en grec des Cyrénéens.



Le statère de Lampaul-Ploudalmézeau côté pile

Au revers : Zeus de Cyrène ( Zeus-Ammon ) faisant une libation
et le nom de Polianthès, magistrat monétaire de Cyrène en -322.



    Les Massaliotes se dirigèrent ensuite vers les Cassitérides5. Le navigateur mentionne aussi plus à l'est une île que les indigènes nommaient Victis, peut-être l'île de Wight, et une zone aux rivages abrupts appelée Kantion, nom approximatif encore porté par le comté de Kent. Faisant de nombreuses escales, il finit par reconnaître par observations et déductions la forme triangulaire de cette terre nouvelle à laquelle il donna le nom de Prettaniké ou Brettaniké, la terre des Brittons. Les habitants, écrit-il, sont des gens simples qui vivent frugalement dans des cabanes de roseaux et de bois. Et il ajoute : Ce sont de bons guerriers qui combattent sur des chars comme les héros de la guerre de Troie.
   Il n'oublie pas de signaler le phénomène des marées, surtout celles qu'il découvrira sur les rivages de l'Ecosse et du cap Orkas ( Orcades ) et les comparera aux marées beaucoup plus faibles de la Méditerranée.
    La suite de son périple amènera le navigateur vers Thath ou Thulé, à six jours de navigation de la Bretagne ( Grande-Bretagne), en direction du nord précisèrent Strabon et Pline en le citant. A quoi correspondait Thulé ? Aux Shetlands ? Aux Féroé ? à l'Islande ? Ou bien à toutes ces régions y compris la côte norvégienne ? Pendant longtemps Thulé constituera l'extrême limite nord du monde connu : l'Ultima Thulé. Aujourd'hui encore, en gaélique, langue celtique d'Irlande, on prononce Tuath ou Toua pour désigner le grand nord.

Itinéraire possible de Pythéas
D'après Le voyage de Pythéas 300 ans avant J.C., revue Cap Caval n°24
Certains historiens pensent que le retour d'Islande
s'est effectué non pas le long des côtes scandinaves
mais entre les îles britanniques avant l'exploration de la mer Baltique



    Les Barbares nous montraient l'horizon où le soleil disparaît pour regagner sa couche, raconte Pythéas en évoquant les nuits des hivers boréaux, ainsi que le recopie Geminus de Rhodes au premier siècle avant notre ère. Beaucoup plus tard, Cosmas d'Alexandrie rapporte : Pythéas dit qu'étant arrivé dans les parages d'extrême nord, les indigènes lui indiquaient l'endroit qui était pour eux le point d'origine des longues nuits.
  Lorsque le navigateur déclare que la mer glaciale ( la mer figée, traduira Pline ) se trouve à un seul jour de navigation de Thulé, c'est probablement de l'Islande et de la banquise qui commence au nord de cette île qu'il veut parler, et ce qu'il nomma le poumon marin devait être les plaques de glace en cours de formation qu'il comparait à des bancs de méduses.
    Le cercle polaire dépassé, Pythéas revint vers le sud et pénétra dans la mer Baltique. En face de la Scythie ( pays des Scythes ou le nord de l'Europe ), explique encore Pline, il aborda une île où le flot rejette de l'ambre en abondance sur les plages. Il doit s'agir de l'île qui de nos jours se nomme Samland, dans les parages de Kaliningrad. Strabon n'admet pas que Pythéas ait reconnu tant de terres nouvelles et surtout les rivages de la Baltique. Personne n'a encore dépassé l'embouchure de l'Elbe, affirme-t-il dans l'un de ses écrits, pas même les Romains. L'historien Claude Nicolet rappelle que, sous Auguste, la flotte romaine atteignit le promontoire des Cimbres ( la pointe du Jutland ), mais dut ensuite rebrousser chemin. Omission pieuse de la part de Strabon plutôt qu'ignorance, déclara alors l'historien.
    L'histoire de Pythéas présente d'émouvantes lacunes écrit le poète marseillais Louis Brauquier. On peut imaginer toutes sortes de fins à son périple. Marseille se montra-t-elle ingrate envers son héros ? Reprit-elle la mer pour de nouvelles découvertes ? Le silence se fit pendant de longs siècles sur Pythéas dont tous les écrits avaient disparu, et puis la Renaissance italienne redécouvrit Strabon et, par lui, les exploits du premier explorateur polaire de l'histoire. A notre époque, tous les navigateurs, astronomes, historiens et géographes de la planète reconnaissent désormais l'immense valeur de ce grand marin. Mais nous nous contenterons d'ajouter que Pythéas de Marseille, celui que Winston Churchill salua dans son livre The birth of Britain comme l'un des plus grands explorateurs de l'histoire, a bel et bien reconnu les côtes de notre belle région que nous aimons et que nous nommons le Finistère.

Aujourd'hui encore, après 23 siècles, Marseille n'a pas oublié Pythéas. Un collège et une rue parallèle à la Cannebière portent son nom, une statue et une stèle lui sont consacrées tandis que le récent Musée d'Histoire de la ville, édifié sur le site du port antique, évoque le célèbre navigateur massaliote.








   -1- Le gnomon était constitué d'une tige verticale ou parallèle à l'axe des pôles, fixée sur une surface plane. Il servait entre autres à mesurer les hauteurs du soleil et à marquer le temps.

   -2- L'écliptique est le plan dans lequel la Terre se déplace dans l'espace. L'axe de rotation de la Terre est incliné par rapport à ce plan de 23°26.

  -3- Lire les incroyables tribulations de cette monnaie sur notre page La monnaie d'or dite de Pythéas.



  -4- Lire plus bas le rapport détaillé de cette intéressante découverte publié par Jean Bousquet, Directeur Régional des Antiquités Historiques, en 1961 dans les Annales de Bretagne, vol.68, n°68-1, pp.25-39. L'auteur en déduit que l'un des navires de Pythéas aurait pu sombrer non loin de l'Aber Benoît, dans des fonds ne dépassant pas 30 m.
  La même année, J.B. Colbert de Beaulieu, numismate, et P.R. Giot, préhistorien, publièrent à leur tour un article concernant cette découverte protohistorique dans le Bulletin de la Société Préhistorique de France, vol.58, n°5-6, pp.324-331. Article

  -5- Les Cassitérides : appellation globale pour désigner les Sorlingues ( îles Scilly ) et la Cornouaille britannique où l'on extrayait du sol, comme chez nous à St-Renan, la cassitérite, minerai d'étain.

Cette notice a été écrite d'après Hugues Journès: Le voyage de Pythéas 300 ans avant J.C. in revue Cap Caval n°24, Pont-l'Abbé, septembre 1999.

Revue Cap Caval n°24


Georges Tanneau




EN SAVOIR PLUS


En 1961, L'Académie des Inscriptions et Belles Lettres a publié dans le compte-rendu ci-dessous de ses séances de 1960 :

Cliquez sur l'image
Académie des Inscriptions et Belles Lettres 1960
En pp. 317-323 : Un statère d'or de Cyrène sur la côte du Finistère
par Jean Bousquet, Directeur des Antiquités Historiques de Bretagne


En mars 1961, Les Annales de Bretagne ont, elles aussi, publié cette découverte :

Cliquez sur l'image
Annales de Bretagne mars 1961
En pp. 25-39 : Une monnaie d'or de Cyrène sur la côte nord de l'Armorique
par Jean Bousquet, Directeur des Antiquités Historiques de Bretagne


Malgré la découverte du statère d'or, le périple de Pythéas souffre toujours des critiques de Strabon et reste encore méconnu. Tout en proposant des itinéraires différents, de nombreux auteurs ont pourtant tenté de réhabiliter la mémoire du navigateur massaliote.

Pythéas von Marseille
par Dietrich STICHTENOTH, Hermann Böhlaus Nachf. Weimar,1959.


Pythéas
Un ouvrage relié exceptionnel, abondamment illustré de merveilleuses aquarelles, qui réhabilite complètement le navigateur marseillais grâce à des explications scientifiques très détaillées. On regrette seulement que cet ouvrage actuellement épuisé n'ait jamais été réédité.
A saisir si par bonheur on le trouve d'occasion.
La Nerthe 2000


Journal de bord de Pythéas de Marseille
France Empire 1974


Finis terrae
Hachette 1999


Pythéas le Grec
Autrement 2003


Le voyage extraordinaire de Pythéas le Grec
Walker & Co


Puisque la Terre est ronde
Vuibert 2008


L'Armorique antique
Skol Vreizh 2013

***

QR code de cette page :




Télécharger ce flashcode


***