Back to home pageFrench    German    



The sundial of Plourin

Municipality of Plourin






Parking GPS : 48°30'33 N  4°41'12 W






Access : Coming from St-Renan, join the village of Plourin by the D68 to Argenton. Pass the first roundabout leading to Ploudalmézeau and turn right on the second (signs 'Plourin, Ploudalmézeau'). Turn right into the city center and right again to park on the large car park. The sundial is fixed on the facade of the town hall.

It is a beautiful modern dial of declining vertical type1 for the afternoon. The hours are indicated by continuous lines, the half-hours by dashed lines. Roman numerals range from 7 on the left to 19 on the right side, in the peripheral band. The stainless steel style is polar. His shadow gives the true solar time.

Read the indicated time:

In the photo above, taken in mid-April, it is about 3:50 pm in the solar hour. To obtain the legal time, it is necessary to add the equation of time2 which is approximately equal to zero for this part of the year, the correction of the longitude which is 4 minutes per degree, 1 hour more because of the usual time in relation to Greenwich Mean Time, then an extra hour due to daylight saving time.
According to this complicated calculation, it was around 18:05. when the picture was taken.

A little heraldry:

The dial was enamelled in 1996 on six earthenware plates by M.C. and P. Corolleur. It is in the shape of an escutcheon of 40 x 60 cm and is decorated with 12 coats of arms which are, apart from that of the commune, those of the old noble families of the parish, whose names are also indicated.
Reading a coat of arms requires a very specific vocabulary. The names of the colours are a bit confusing, but we can guess them.

Let's play a little game:

Here is how we read 7 of the 12 represented coats of arms.
Could you find on the sundial the descriptions translated approximately below (see the French page for the original descriptions) ?

- "Of gold with an emerald tree"
- "Of sand with silver leopard."
- "Of gold with three chevrons azure"
- "Of silver, with ruddy crescent surmounted by two stars."
- "Of silver with three towers azure."
- "Barry field of silver and azure waves, with a left hatfield of ermines."


And finally the most difficult:

- "Camp: the first of gold and ruddy barry field, the second of silver and sand barry field."

Come on, now that you've found them, let's practice the reverse game:
Could you describe the coat of arms of Trégarn's family? 3


-1- A sundial is said to be of declining vertical type when it is fixed on a vertical plane that is not oriented exactly south-facing. It is said "for morning" or "for afternoon" when it is oriented a little towards the east or on the contrary towards the west. If it faces exactly towards a cardinal point, it is called a vertical south, west, north or east facing dial.

-2- The equation of time gives the correction to be made to the solar hour according to the time of the year when it is read. Indeed, the apparent displacement of the Sun does not occur on the celestial equator but on the ecliptic and, on the other hand, during its journey around the Sun, the Earth moves faster in winter than in summer. The tables therefore indicate the correction to be made according to the period of the year.

See more detailed explanations on the correspondence between solar time and legal time on our page describing the sundials.

-3- The answers to our little game: Kerjar, Kerizaouen, Kervérien, Pen ar dreff, La Tour, Kergadiou, and finally the municipality of Plourin.

Coat of arms of Trégarn : "Gold with a lion of sand." (No, it's not a leopard, but a lion, like that of the Peugeot company - unlike the coat of arms of Kerizaouen).

READ MORE

As for the municipality of Plourin:
http://fr.wikipedia.org/wiki/Plourin


Documentation provided by Pierre Labat-Ségalen, co-author of the book:
Cadrans solaires de Bretagne , Ed. Skol Vreizh 2010.

***

QR code of this page :


Download this flashcode

Retour à l'accueil



Le cadran solaire de Plourin

Commune de Plourin






GPS du stationnement : 48°30'33 N  4°41'12 W






Accès : Partant de St-Renan, on accède au bourg de Plourin par la D68 en direction d'Argenton. Dépasser le premier rond-point menant à Ploudalmézeau et tourner à droite au second. ( fléchage «Plourin, Ploudalmézeau» ). Tourner à droite au centre du bourg et encore à droite pour stationner sur le grand parking. Le cadran solaire est fixé sur la façade de la mairie.

Il s'agit d'un très beau cadran moderne de type vertical déclinant1 de l'après-midi. Les lignes horaires sont indiquées par des traits continus, les demi-heures par des pointillés. Les chiffres romains vont de 7 h du matin à gauche, à 7 h du soir à droite, dans un bandeau. Le style en acier inoxydable est polaire. Son ombre donne l'heure solaire vraie.

Lire l'heure indiquée :

Sur la photo ci-dessus, prise à la mi-avril, il est environ 3h50 de l'après-midi à l'heure solaire. Pour obtenir l'heure légale, il convient d'ajouter l'équation du temps2, qui est à peu près nulle à cette époque de l'année, la correction de longitude qui est de 4 minutes par degré, ainsi que 1 h de plus en raison de l'heure habituelle imposée par rapport à l'heure de Greenwich et 1 h supplémentaire en raison de l'heure d'été.
Selon ce calcul compliqué, il était donc à peu près 18h05 lorsque la photo a été prise.

Un peu d'héraldique :

Le cadran a été émaillé en 1996 sur six plaques de faïence par M.C. et P. Corolleur. En forme d'écusson de 40 x 60 cm, il est orné de 12 blasons qui sont, à part celui de la commune, ceux des anciennes familles nobles de la paroisse, dont les noms sont d'ailleurs indiqués.
La lecture d'un blason requiert un vocabulaire bien particulier. Les noms des couleurs déroutent un peu, mais on peut les deviner.

Faisons un petit jeu :

Voici comment on lit 7 des 12 blasons qui sont représentés.
Sauriez-vous les retrouver sur le cadran ?

- « D'or à un arbre de sinople.»
- « De sable au léopard d'argent.»
- « D'or à trois chevrons d'azur.»
- « D'argent, au croissant de gueules surmonté de deux étoiles de même.»
- « D'argent à trois tours d'azur.»
- « Fascé ondé d'argent et d'azur, au franc canton d'hermines.»


Et enfin le plus difficile :

- « Parti: au premier fascé d'or et de gueules, au second fascé d'argent et de sable.»

Allez, maintenant que vous les avez trouvés, on s'exerce au jeu inverse :
Sauriez-vous décrire le blason de la famille de Trégarn ? 3


-1- Un cadran est dit vertical déclinant lorsqu'il est fixé sur un plan vertical qui n'est pas orienté exactement face au Sud. Il est dit « du matin » ou « de l'après-midi » s'il est orienté un peu vers l'Est ou au contraire vers l'Ouest. S'il est orienté exactement face à un point cardinal, il porte le nom de cadran vertical méridional, occidental, septentrional ou oriental.

-2- L'équation du temps est une correction à apporter à l'heure solaire selon le moment de l'année où elle est lue. En effet, le déplacement apparent du Soleil ne s'effectue pas sur l'équateur céleste mais sur l'écliptique et d'autre part, lors de son parcours autour du Soleil, la Terre se déplace plus rapidement en hiver qu'en été. Des tables indiquent donc, selon le moment de l'année, cette correction qu'il convient d'apporter.

Voir des explications plus détaillées sur la correspondance entre heure solaire et heure légale sur notre page décrivant les cadrans solaires.

-3- Les réponses à notre petit jeu : Kerjar, Kerizaouen, Kervérien, Pen ar dreff, La Tour, Kergadiou, et enfin la commune de Plourin.

Blason de Trégarn : «D'or au lion de sable.» ( Eh oui, c'est un lion comme celui de Peugeot, pas un léopard comme sur le blason de Kerizaouen ).

EN SAVOIR PLUS

Sur la commune de Plourin :
http://fr.wikipedia.org/wiki/Plourin


Documentation fournie par Pierre Labat-Ségalen, co-auteur de l'ouvrage :
Cadrans solaires de Bretagne , Ed. Skol Vreizh 2010.

***

QR code de cette page :


Télécharger ce flashcode