Back to home pageFrench    German    Spanish    



The sundial of the town hall

Town of Le Conquet






Parking GPS : 48°21'37 N  4°46'14 W


Access : When arriving in Le Conquet from Brest, take the first street on the after the roundabout. After 30 m, turn left again and park in the large car park (leave compulsory blue badge in car window available in local shops). The sundial is fixed very high on the façade of the town hall overlooking the parking lot.



   Le Conquet is fortunate to have a specialist in sundials among its inhabitants. Pierre Labat made it his passion. Not only did he calculate many of them, but he also studied all the sundials in Brittany to the point of being the co-author of a book that describes them all. It was therefore only natural that the municipality approached him when it decided to install one to adorn the town hall.


The engraver is Mickael Loïg Theotec, from Châteauneuf du Faou



   It is a vertical dial that declines from the morning1 engraved on a rectangular slate darer shale plate. The hours lines are indicated by continuous lines. The Roman numerals range from 6 a.m. on the left, to 5 p.m. right. The shadow of a metallic style tilted and parallel to the Earth's rotationaxis runs through almost the entire dial.
It gives the true solar time.

Read the indicated time:

   In the photo above, taken on January 12, it is about 11:10 a.m. solar time. To obtain the legal time, it is necessary to add the equation of time2, which is about 7 minutes at this month of year, the longitude correction which is 4 minutes per degree, or 19 minutes at Le Conquet, as well as one hour more due to the usual time imposed in Europe compared to Greenwich time. An additional hour would have to be added if the photo had been taken during the daylight saving time period.
According to this complicated calculation, a total of 1:26 must be added to the solar time read that day on the dial. The legal time would be 12:36. The photo was taken exactly at 12:32 p.m.; the precision of this system, which seems rather rudimentary, is therefore remarkable.

The ornamentation:

   Most of our sundials, that are installed on churches, are decorated with religious symbols. This is not the case here, as it adorns a civilian building. The décor is composed of 3 elements.



At the bottom left, the nave is the one in the center of the Conquet coat of arms.



At the top of the dial, on the right, is the Kerjean coat of arms tower represented on that of the city.



And the municipality has composed a special motto for this dial.



It chose to evoke the sun, whose presence is essential to read a sundial.
The device was obviously to be written in Breton.
Heol d'an holl means Du soleil pour tous.
Which is the wish of any seaside resort.




***

-1- A sundial is said to be of declining vertical type when it is fixed on a vertical plane that is not oriented exactly south-facing. It is said "for morning" or "for afternoon" when it is oriented a little towards the east or on the contrary towards the west. If it faces exactly towards a cardinal point, it is called a vertical south, west, north or east facing dial.

-2- The equation of time gives the correction to be made to the solar hour according to the time of the year when it is read. Indeed, the apparent movement of the Sun does not occur on the celestial equator but on the ecliptic and on the other hand, during its journey around the Sun, the Earth moves faster when the northern hemisphere is in winter rather than summer. The tables therefore indicate the correction to be made according to the period of the year.
See more detailed explanations on the correspondence between solar time and legal time on our page describing the sundials.



READ MORE



  We recommend reading the book below
by Pierre LABAT-SEGALEN
and Jean-Paul CORNEC



Skol Vreizh Ed., 2010
cardboard cover,
192 pages in 21x30 cm format


  The authors of this book, passionate about gnomonics (the science of sundials), have for years, municipality by municipality, traveled the five historical departments of Brittany to deliver in this book abundantly illustrated an inventory as completely as possible of the sundials of Brittany.
  The reader will find abundant explanations, much more detailed than those appearing on this page, as well as a large amount of color photographs showing the extraordinary variety offered by this little heritage still too little known to the general public.

***

QR code of this page :


Download this flashcode

Retour à l'accueilAnglais    Allemand    



Le cadran solaire de la mairie

Commune du Conquet






GPS du stationnement : 48°21'37 N  4°46'14 W


Accès : En arrivant au Conquet par la route de Brest, prendre la première rue à gauche après le rond-point. A 30 m, tourner encore à gauche et stationner dans le parking. Le cadran solaire est fixé très haut sur la façade de la mairie donnant vers le parking.



   Le Conquet a la chance de compter parmi ses habitants un spécialiste des cadrans solaires. Pierre Labat-Segalen en a fait sa passion. Non seulement il en a calculé beaucoup, mais il a aussi étudié la totalité des cadrans solaires de Bretagne au point d'être le co-auteur d'un ouvrage qui les décrit tous. C'est donc tout naturellement que la municipalité s'est adressée à lui lorsqu'elle a décidé d'en installer un pour orner la mairie.


Le graveur est Mickaël Loïg Théotec, de Châteauneuf du Faou



   Il s'agit d'un cadran vertical déclinant du matin1 gravé sur une plaque de schiste ardoisier de forme rectangulaire. Les lignes horaires sont indiquées par des traits continus. Les chiffres romains vont de 6 h du matin à gauche, à 5 h du soir à droite. L'ombre d'un style métallique incliné et parallèle à l'axe de rotation de la Terre parcourt la quasi totalité du cadran.
Elle donne l'heure solaire vraie.

Lire l'heure indiquée :

   Sur la photo ci-dessus, prise le 12 janvier, il est environ 11h10 à l'heure solaire. Pour obtenir l'heure légale, il convient d'ajouter l'équation du temps2, qui est à peu près de 7 minutes à cette époque de l'année, la correction de longitude qui est de 4 minutes par degré, soit 19 minutes au Conquet, ainsi que 1 h de plus en raison de l'heure habituelle imposée en Europe par rapport à l'heure de Greenwich. Il faudrait ajouter une heure supplémenaire si la photo avait été prise pendant la période d'heure d'été.
Selon ce calcul compliqué, c'est un total de 1h26 qu'il faut ajouter à l'heure solaire lue ce jour-là sur le cadran. L'heure légale serait donc 12h36. Or la photo a été prise exactement à 12h32; la précision de ce système qui paraît pourtant assez rudimentaire est donc remarquable.

L'ornementation :

   La plupart de nos cadrans solaires, installés sur des églises, sont décorés de symboles religieux. Il n'en est pas de même ici puisque celui-ci orne un bâtiment civil. Le décor est composé de 3 éléments.



En bas à gauche, la nef est celle qui figure au centre du blason du Conquet.



En haut du cadran, à droite, on retrouve la tour des armoiries de Kerjean, représentée sur le même blason.



Et la municipalité a composé pour ce cadran une devise spéciale.



Elle a choisi d'évoquer le soleil, dont la présence est indispensable pour lire un cadran solaire.
La devise devait évidemment être écrite en breton.
Heol d'an holl veut dire Du soleil pour tous.
Ce qui est sans nul doute le souhait de toute station balnéaire.




***

-1- Un cadran est dit vertical déclinant lorsqu'il est fixé sur un plan vertical qui n'est pas orienté exactement face au Sud. Il est dit « du matin » ou « de l'après-midi » s'il est orienté un peu vers l'Est ou au contraire vers l'Ouest. S'il est orienté exactement face à un point cardinal, il porte le nom de cadran vertical méridional, occidental, septentrional ou oriental.

-2- L'équation du temps est une correction à apporter à l'heure solaire selon le moment de l'année où elle est lue. En effet, le déplacement apparent du Soleil ne s'effectue pas sur l'équateur céleste mais sur l'écliptique et d'autre part, lors de son parcours autour du Soleil, la Terre se déplace plus rapidement quand l'hémispère nord est en hiver plutôt qu'en été. Des tables indiquent donc, selon le moment de l'année, cette correction qu'il convient d'apporter.
Voir des explications plus détaillées sur la correspondance entre heure solaire et heure légale sur notre page décrivant les cadrans solaires.



EN SAVOIR PLUS



  Nous recommandons la lecture de l'ouvrage ci-dessous
de Pierre LABAT-SEGALEN
et Jean-Paul CORNEC



Editions Skol Vreizh 2010
couverture cartonnée,
192 pages au format 21x30 cm


  Les auteurs de ce livre, passionnés de gnomonique ( la science des cadrans solaires ), ont parcouru pendant des années, commune par commune, les cinq départements historiques de la Bretagne pour livrer dans cet ouvrage abondamment illustré un inventaire aussi complet que possible des cadrans bretons.
  Le lecteur y trouvera d'abondantes explications, beaucoup plus détaillées que celles figurant sur cette page, et une grande quantité de photos en couleurs montrant l'extraordinaire variété qu'offre ce petit patrimoine encore trop peu connu du grand public.

***

QR code de cette page :


Télécharger ce flashcode