Back to home pageFrench    German    Spanish    



The castle of Trémazan


(Kersaint, municipality of Landunvez)


Registered in the inventory of Historic Monuments in 1926.

Only visible from a distance

Entry formally prohibited:
private property and danger of falling stones.





GPS : 48°33'01N  4°42'43 W



   From St-Renan, head towards Argenton on the D68 road and, facing the sea, turn right. Continue north and 1.5 km further, turn left and take the tourist road. It runs along 5 km of the magnificent Landunvez coast. After the large final car park, always follow this road lined with houses until the pretty beach of Trémazan whose access is partially blocked since the last war by an anti-tank wall. Park opposite, to the right of the road. From there, the castle keep can be seen in the distance.
The ruins are in such an abandoned state that, for security reasons, their access is not allowed. But it is possible to see more closely the dungeon and the dovecote by continuing on foot towards Kersaint and by taking the first small road on the right.


The Community of Municipalities has installed an illustrated
explanatory panel just near the car park.




   The large square dungeon is that of an old castle now in ruins. Attached east of the dungeon, dwellings led to two round towers. This first housing complex was bordered by a deep moat. Further east stood an advanced structure: a square courtyard surrounded by curtain walls and with towers at its corners. These two fortified complexes were to be joined by a wooden footbridge launched over the impressively deep moat. Access was by a road leading to a drawbridge to the northwest from the shore.


Approximate plan established by Alain FERRAND :
"The castle of Trémazan", 1905.
This archaeologist is the author of personal excavations carried out on the site in 1904.




Plan established in 2001 by the association 'SOS Château de Trémazan'
who conducted a careful study of ruins, a model of the castle
and a series of panels exposed to the House of Canons in Kersaint.

Attention, the orientation of the plans is that of the landscape
seen from the explanatory terminal.


A particular location

We are used to seeing castles perched on the heights, but this is not the case here. The fortress was built in a marshy valley, now cut off from the ocean by a dune over which the road passes.


General plan taken from "Le Château fort de Trémazan"
© JYB/ "SOS Château de Trémazan" 2001.
The red star indicates the location of the explanatory terminal.


But you only have to look at Trémazan Beach, where the sea retreats far away at low tide, to understand that the sand of Portsall Creek, driven by wind and currents, is quickly accumulating at this point. We can therefore think that the landscape has changed considerably since the beginning of the Middle Ages. Situated in a ria, the moats of the castle were probably connected to the sea when they were dug. The location of the castle should allow its occupants to intervene quickly in case of danger from the ocean. And we obviously think of the authors of maritime raids, but also of piracy. The fortress was quite invisible from the sea but one could easily watch all the coast from the top of its 25m keep. The gradual filling of Portsall Creek and the formation of the dune must have contributed to the abandonment of the castle.

   An old palace ?

   The first mention of a 'palace' in Tremazan appears in the report of a legend by Brother Albert the Great, chronicler of the XVIIth century, in "Vie des saincts de la Bretaigne armorique" Nantes 1637.
  This chronicle tells the tragic legend, in the year 525, of Saint Tanguy, son of Lord Golon de Trémazan. You can read about it on this site on the page Fontaine Sainte Haude. The owners of the castle bearing the name "Du Chastel" always claimed this ancestry. However, there is currently no evidence there of the presence of a first feudal construction on the site of the castle.

   Construction and extension of the castle

  The date of construction of the stone keep, which may have succeeded a wooden tower from the first centuries of the Middle Ages, is unknown. We only know that the castle was destroyed in 1220, and was rebuilt by Bernard du Chastel when he returned from crusade, around 1250. According to the archaeologist Alain Ferrand, the dungeon would only have known repairs. But dendrochronology studies1 have nevertheless attributed to its beams an even more recent date: the end of the XIVth century! Obviously our knowledge is too imprecise on this medieval castle which owes especially to its geographical isolation and to the recent consolidation of its ruins to have been so long preserved.



   Several works of fortifications no doubt phased from the XIIIth to the XIVth century followed the construction of the dungeon: first of all the first enclosure and the dwellings leaned against the curtain wall about 15m high and 2.80m wide. The defense is ensured by machicolations built all along the round path, by two large towers, 20 m high and 10 m wide, as well as by the keep remained outside. The ditches were dug then, in the XVth century, the enormous courtyard was built totally distinct from the first work. It was intended to accommodate the population in case of emergency. Loopholes are set up to use guns. This impressive ensemble, with its wooden hoardings2 and slate-covered dwellings, affirmed the power of the lord owner. At that time, it was certainly one of the largest fortresses in France.


Hypothetical restitution of the castle of XIVth century
by Pierre Audibert, "SOS Château de Trémazan" Association © 1995


Mighty lords, eternal guardians of the king:

  Masters of a territory comprising all the Bas-Léon to Brest, the lords of Du Chastel belonged indeed until the eighteenth century to the largest and most powerful seigneurial lineages of Brittany. Several of them distinguished themselves in the service of the King of France.
  Guillaume II Du Chastel, winner of an English fleet in 1403 in front of cape Saint-Mathieu, was chamberlain to King Charles VI.
  His brother Tanguy III du Chastel, a military valiant and provost of Paris, saved the 10 years old Dauphin, future Charles VII, during the revolt of the Cabochians in 1413. As one of the leaders of the Armagnac party, he took part in the assassination of Jean-sans-Peur (John the Fearless), the Duke of Burgundy, during Montereau's meeting in 1419.
  His nephew William III of Chastel was appointed officer of the king's house. Valiant warrior, like Bertrand du Guesclin he enjoyed the privilege of being buried alongside the kings of France in the basilica of Saint-Denis.

St-Denis : tomb of Guillaume III du Chastel
© Photos Danielle Lambert-Motte
 


  His epitaph is as follows:

« Ci-gît noble homme Guillaume Du Chastel de la Basse Bretagne, pannetier du roi Charles VII et écuyer d'écurie de monseigneur le Dauphin, qui trépassa le 23 de juillet, l'an de grâce 1441, durant le siège de Pontoise en défendant le passage de la rivière d'Oise, le dit jour que le duc d'York la passa pour cuider3 lever le dit siège, et plut au roi pour sa grande vaillance et les services qu'il lui avait faits en maintes manières, et spécialement en la défense de cette ville de Saint-Denis contre le siège des Anglais, qu'il fût enterré céans. Dieu lui fasse merci. Amen.»

Transl.: "Here lies the noble man Guillaume Du Chastel of Lower Brittany, Pannetier of King Charles VII and squire of monseigneur le Dauphin, who died on July 23, the year of grace 1441, during the siege of Pontoise defending the passage of the river Oise, the day that the Duke of York crossed it to try breaking the siege, and pleased the king for his great valour and the services he had done him in many ways, and especially in defense of this city of Saint-Denis against the siege of the English, that he was buried here. Thank God for that. Amen."


  Tanguy IV Du Chastel, brother of William III, succeeding his uncle Tanguy III, went in turn to the service of Charles VII, whose funeral expenses he personally paid in 1461. The Duke of Brittany François II, father of Anne of Brittany, appointed him Grand Master of his Hotel and captain of the city of Nantes. Tanguy IV was wounded to death during the siege of Bouchain (North) in an attempt to protect King Louis XI. The King had him buried in front of his future tomb in the basilica of Cléry Saint-André (Loiret) where they both lie today.

tombe de Tanguy IV
Cléry-St-André : Tomb of Tanguy IV.
© Photo YL

  Several descendants have distinguished themselves among the following generations of the Du Chastel family, but in the french Royal Navy. A saying4 paid tribute to their bravery and they were called the "kings of Brest". Others were high ecclesiastical dignitaries.

The abandonment of the castle:

  In the 17th century, the old fortress no longer met the residential needs of its owners or the defense of the region. It was simply abandoned by the Du Chastel family and a century later, only the Receiver General in charge of the administration of the seigneury lived there. A farm occupies the estate.
The ancestral castle became royal property and was already in poor condition when it was sold as a national asset during the Revolution. It was then totally deserted. It is probable that it was then used as a stone quarry, hence the state of its present dilapidation.
  After 1890, the last inhabitant of the ruins was a beggar nicknamed Napoleon lodged by the mayor of the commune in the dovecote. He showed the ruins to the visitors.



  This dovecote is still visible from the small road along the northeast wall of the estate. We can't visit it. 5



   The "SOS Château de Trémazan" association has set itself the task of bringing this fortified complex, which was one of the most powerful in Brittany, out of oblivion. Thanks to its action, the ruins are very temporarily preserved from a general collapse by wooden structures and panels.



***

-1- Dendrochronology is a method of dating old pieces of wood. It is based on the study of concentric rings that can be distinguished on any cut trunk. These annual rings are more or less important, more or less spaced according to the climate of each year. By making comparisons with other well-dated wooden rings, it is possible to date new pieces of wood that will themselves be used for other dating.

-2- The hoardings were covered galleries running around the perimeter wall and overlooking the outer foot of the walls.

-3- The verb 'cuider', in old French, meant: to intend, to believe, to think, to hold for truth.

-4- "Antiquity of Penhoët, valour of Chastel, wealth of Kermavan and chivalry of Kergounadeac'h".

-5- Another dovecote can be visited in the Iroise country, in the commune of Plouarzel: The Lanhalla dovecote

Thanks for his help to Jean-François LE MENEC, President of the "SOS Château de Trémazan" association, and for the documents he kindly provided.


Yannick Loukianoff


READ MORE

    The association "SOS Château de Trémazan" has published two books that can be obtained at the 'Maison des Chanoines', Kersaint, 29840 Landunvez.

SOS Château de Trémazan 2001 SOS Château de Trémazan 2006


   The first one, aimed at young people and the general public, is abundantly illustrated. He first tells the legend about the castle and then places the fortress in its time. History and architecture mingle throughout the work. This well-documented book was the main source for this page.
    The other book, intended for a more informed reader, contains the proceedings of a three-day multidisciplinary symposium held in Brest in June 2004 on the theme of the Castle of Trémazan. Archaeologists, genealogists and heraldic, dendrochronology or petrography specialists rubbed shoulders with historians, painters and draftsmen. The book contains the full text of their papers.




QR code of this page :


Download this flashcode

***

Retour à l'accueil



Le château fort de Trémazan


( Kersaint, commune de Landunvez )


Inscrit à l'inventaire des Monuments Historiques en 1926.

Visible de loin seulement

Entrée formellement interdite :
propriété privée et danger d'éboulement.





GPS : 48°33'01N  4°42'43 W



   Partant de St-Renan, se diriger vers Argenton par la D68 et, face à la mer, tourner à droite. Continuer vers le nord et 1,5 km plus loin, tourner à gauche et prendre la route touristique. Celle-ci longe sur 5 km le magnifique littoral de Landunvez. Après le grand parking final, suivre toujours cette route bordée de maisons jusqu'à la jolie plage de Trémazan dont l'accès est partiellement obstrué depuis la dernière guerre par un mur anti-chars. Stationner en face, à droite de la route. De là, on aperçoit au loin le donjon du château.
Les ruines sont dans un tel état d'abandon que, par sécurité, leur accès n'est pas autorisé. Mais il est possible de voir de plus près le donjon et le pigeonnier en continuant à pied vers Kersaint et en prenant la première petite route sur la droite.


A proximité immédiate du stationnement, la Communauté de communes
a fait installer une borne explicative illustrée.




   Le grand donjon carré est celui d'un ancien château fort aujourd'hui en ruines. Il était flanqué vers l'est de logis aboutissant à deux tours rondes et ce premier ensemble était bordé d'une profonde douve. Plus loin à l'est se trouvait un ouvrage avancé, une basse-cour de forme carrée entourée de courtines et dotée d'une tour à chacun de ses angles. Ces deux ensembles fortifiés devaient être réunis par une passerelle en bois lancée au-dessus des douves dont la profondeur est impressionnante. L'accès se faisait par un chemin aboutissant à un pont-levis, au nord-ouest, à partir du littoral.


Plan approximatif établi par Alain FERRAND :
«Le château de Trémazan», 1905.
Cet archéologue est l'auteur de fouilles personnelles
effectuées sur le site en 1904.




Plan établi en 2001 par l'association «SOS Château de Trémazan»
qui a réalisé une étude minutieuse des ruines, une maquette
et une série de panneaux exposés à la Maison des Chanoines à Kersaint.

Attention, l'orientation des plans est celle du paysage
vu depuis la borne explicative.


Un emplacement particulier

Alors que l'on est plutôt habitué à voir des châteaux forts perchés sur des hauteurs, il n'en est rien ici. La forteresse a été édifiée dans un vallon marécageux, aujourd'hui coupé de l'océan par une dune sur laquelle passe la route.


Plan d'ensemble extrait de «Le Château fort de Trémazan»
© JYB/ «SOS Château de Trémazan» 2001.
L'étoile rouge indique l'emplacement de la borne explicative.


Mais il suffit d'observer la plage de Trémazan, où la mer se retire très loin à marée basse, pour comprendre qu'à cet endroit le sable de l'anse de Portsall, poussé par le vent et les courants, s'accumule rapidement. On peut donc penser que depuis le début du Moyen Age le paysage s'est considérablement modifié. Situées dans une ria, les douves du château étaient sans doute reliées à la mer lors de leur creusement. L'emplacement du château devait ainsi permettre à ses occupants d'intervenir rapidement en cas de danger venu de l'océan. Et l'on pense évidemment aux auteurs de raids maritimes, mais aussi à la piraterie. La forteresse était pratiquement invisible depuis la mer et du haut de son donjon de 25 m, on pouvait aisément surveiller toute la côte. Le comblement progressif de l'anse de Portsall avec la formation de la dune a dû contribuer à l'abandon du château.

   Un ancien palais ?

   La première mention qui est faite d'un «palais» à Trémazan figure dans la relation d'une légende par le frère Albert le Grand, chroniqueur du XVIIe siècle, dans «Vie des saincts de la Bretaigne armorique» Nantes 1637.
  Cette chronique relate la légende tragique, en l'an 525, de Saint Tanguy, fils du seigneur Golon de Trémazan. On peut en prendre connaissance sur ce site à la page Fontaine Sainte Haude. Les propriétaires du château portant le nom de «Du Chastel» revendiquèrent toujours cette ascendance. Cependant, sur le terrain, aucun élément ne permet actuellement d'affirmer la présence d'une première construction féodale à l'emplacement du château fort.

   Construction et agrandissement du château

  On ignore la date de construction du donjon en pierre qui a pu succéder à une éventuelle tour en bois des premiers siècles du Moyen Age. On sait seulement que le château aurait subi des destructions en 1220, et qu'il fut reconstruit par Bernard du Chastel à son retour de croisade vers 1250. Selon l'archéologue Alain Ferrand, le donjon n'aurait connu en fait que des réparations. Mais des études de dendrochronologie1 attribuent pourtant à ses poutres une date encore plus récente : la fin du XIVe siècle ! Manifestement nos connaissances sont trop imprécises sur ce château médiéval qui doit surtout à son isolement géographique et à la consolidation récente de ses ruines d'avoir été si longuement conservé.



   Plusieurs travaux de fortifications sans doute échelonnés du XIIIe au XIVe siècle ont suivi la construction du donjon : tout d'abord la première enceinte et les logis adossés à la courtine haute d'une quinzaine de mètres et large de 2,80 m. La défense est assurée par des mâchicoulis construits tout au long du chemin de ronde, par deux grosses tours, hautes de 20 m et larges de 10, ainsi que par le donjon demeuré à l'extérieur. On a creusé les fossés puis bâti au XVe siècle l'énorme basse-cour totalement distincte du premier ouvrage et destinée à héberger la population en cas d'urgence. Des meurtrières sont aménagées pour utiliser des pièces d'artillerie. Cet ensemble impressionnant, aux hourds2 en bois et aux logis couverts d'ardoises affirmait la puissance du seigneur propriétaire. Ce fut certainement en son temps l'une des plus vastes forteresses de France.


Restitution hypothétique du château du XIVe siècle
par Pierre Audibert, Association «SOS Château de Trémazan» © 1995


De puissants seigneurs, d'éternels gardiens du roi :

  Maîtres d'un territoire comprenant tout le Bas-Léon jusqu'à Brest, les Du Chastel ont été en effet jusqu'au XVIIIe siècle l'une des plus grandes et des plus puissantes lignées seigneuriales de Bretagne. Plusieurs d'entre eux se distinguèrent au service du roi de France.
  Guillaume II du Chastel, vainqueur devant Saint-Mathieu d'une flotte anglaise en 1403, fut chambellan du roi Charles VI.
  Son frère Tanguy III du Chastel, vaillant militaire et prévôt de Paris, sauva le dauphin, futur Charles VII, alors âgé de 10 ans, lors de la révolte des Cabochiens en 1413. En tant qu'un des chefs du parti des Armagnacs, il prit part à l'assassinat du duc de Bourgogne Jean-sans-Peur lors de l'entrevue de Montereau en 1419.
  Son neveu Guillaume III du Chastel fut nommé officier de la maison du roi. Vaillant guerrier, comme Bertrand du Guesclin il a bénéficié du privilège d'être enterré au côté des rois de France dans la basilique de Saint-Denis.

St-Denis : tombeau de Guillaume III du Chastel
© Photos Danielle Lambert-Motte
 


  Son épitaphe est la suivante :

« Ci-gît noble homme Guillaume Du Chastel de la Basse Bretagne, pannetier du roi Charles VII et écuyer d'écurie de monseigneur le Dauphin, qui trépassa le 23 de juillet, l'an de grâce 1441, durant le siège de Pontoise en défendant le passage de la rivière d'Oise, le dit jour que le duc d'York la passa pour cuider3 lever le dit siège, et plut au roi pour sa grande vaillance et les services qu'il lui avait faits en maintes manières, et spécialement en la défense de cette ville de Saint-Denis contre le siège des Anglais, qu'il fût enterré céans. Dieu lui fasse merci. Amen.»

  Tanguy IV du Chastel, le frère de Guillaume III, succédant à son oncle Tanguy III, entra à son tour au service de Charles VII dont il prit personnellement à sa charge les frais de funérailles en 1461. Le duc de Bretagne François II, père d'Anne de Bretagne, le nomma Grand Maître de son Hôtel et capitaine de la ville de Nantes. Tanguy IV fut blessé à mort au cours du siège de Bouchain ( Nord ) en voulant protéger le roi Louis XI. Celui-ci le fit inhumer face à son futur tombeau dans la basilique de Cléry Saint-André ( Loiret ) où tous deux gisent aujourd'hui.

tombe de Tanguy IV
Cléry-St-André : Tombe de Tanguy IV.
© Photo YL

  Parmi les générations suivantes des Du Chastel, plusieurs s'illustrèrent encore, mais dans la Marine Royale. Un dicton4 rendait hommage à leur bravoure et on les appelait les «rois de Brest». D'autres furent de hauts dignitaires ecclésiastiques.

L'abandon du château :

  Au cours du XVIIe siècle, la vieille forteressene ne correspond plus ni aux besoins de résidence de ses propriétaires, ni à la défense de la région. Elle est tout simplement abandonnée par la famille du Chastel et un siècle plus tard, seul y loge le receveur général chargé de l'administration de la seigneurie. Une ferme occupe le domaine.
Le château ancestral, déjà mal en point, devenu propriété royale, fut vendu comme bien national à la Révolution puis ensuite totalement déserté. Il est probable qu'il servit alors de carrière de pierres, d'où l'état de son délabrement actuel.
  Après 1890, le dernier habitant des ruines était un mendiant surnommé Napoléon logé par le maire de la commune dans le pigeonnier. Il faisait visiter les vestiges aux curieux.



  Ce pigeonnier est toujours visible depuis la petite route longeant le mur nord-est du domaine. On ne peut pas le visiter. 5



   L'association «SOS Château de Trémazan» s'est donné pour tâche de sortir de l'oubli cet ensemble fortifié qui fut l'un des plus puissants de Bretagne. C'est grâce à son action que les ruines sont très provisoirement préservées d'un écroulement général par des structures et des panneaux de bois.



***

-1- La dendrochronologie est une méthode de datation des bois anciens. Elle repose sur l'étude des anneaux concentriques, ou cernes, que l'on distingue sur tout tronc coupé. Ces cernes annuels sont plus ou moins importants, plus ou moins espacés en fonction du climat de chaque année. En établissant des comparaisons avec d'autres cernes de bois bien datés, on parvient à dater de nouveaux bois qui serviront à leur tour à en dater d'autres.

-2- Les hourds étaient des galeries couvertes faisant le tour du mur d'enceinte en surplombant le pied extérieur des murailles.

-3- Le verbe cuider, en vieux français, signifiait : avoir l'intention de, croire, penser, tenir pour vrai.

-4- «Antiquité de Penhoët, vaillance du Chastel, richesse de Kermavan et chevalerie de Kergounadeac'h».

-5- Un autre pigeonnier est visitable dans le Pays d'Iroise. sur la commune de Plouarzel: Le colombier de Lanhalla

Merci pour son aide à Jean-François LE MENEC, Président de «SOS Château de Trémazan», et pour les documents qu'il a aimablement fournis.


Yannick Loukianoff


EN SAVOIR PLUS

    L'association «SOS Château de Trémazan» a édité deux ouvrages que l'on peut se procurer à la Maison des Chanoines, Kersaint, 29840 Landunvez.

SOS Château de Trémazan 2001 SOS Château de Trémazan 2006


   Le premier, destiné aux jeunes et au grand public, est abondamment illustré. Il traite d'abord de la légende qui entoure le château et place ensuite la forteresse dans son époque. Histoire et architecture se mêlent tout au long de l'ouvrage. Ce livre très documenté a servi de source principale à l'élaboration de cette page.
    Le second, destiné à un public plus averti, contient les actes d'un colloque pluridisciplinaire de trois journées qui s'est tenu à Brest en juin 2004 sur le thème du château de Trémazan. Archéologues, généalogistes, spécialistes d'héraldique, de dendrochronologie ou de pétrographie y côtoyaient les historiens, les peintres et les dessinateurs. L'ouvrage contient le texte intégral de leurs communications.




QR code de cette page :


Télécharger ce flashcode

***