Back to home pageFrench    German    



The house of Lords

or Poncelin house

(Municipality of Le Conquet)





GPS : 48°21'40 N  4°46'28 W


Access : This fortified house is located on the port of Le Conquet. To get there from the city centre, take rue Clemenceau, turn right at the first street and park at the bottom on Drellac'h dock. The Poncelin house, called "house of Lords", overlooks the sea. It's private property, it can't be visited.




    From the ria's banks of Le Conquet, the eye is drawn to this fortified house with three towers. An act kept at the Loire-Atlantique Departmental Archives, and dated from 1540, indicates that Jean Poncelin's father had made it "edified thirty years earlier", which would date it from around 1510.
In fact, this fortified house was part of a complex designed to protect the port against the very frequent enemy incursions since the 13th century, as well as to facilitate the collection of the tolls imposed on the ships.
The system consisted of three staggered watchtowers along the south bank of the ria. Of these buildings there remain ruins of one, and another is converted into dwelling. These towers predated the Poncelin house.



  The Poncelin house is probably located at the entrance of a fortified complex. While coming from the sea, the visitors crossed a gate that is still visible of the estuary.


The marine gate




The coat of arms engraved above the sea gate

  After the checking point, people would arrive in what is now the street.


The current facade on the street side

    The building is built directly on the rock whose crevasses were filled by slabs of schist extracted from a quarry located behind the Drellac'h inn. The facings are made of Aber-Ildut granite.


Below the house,
the rock is pierced to allow ships to moor


    The fortified complex was bordered on the east by a ravine dug by a stream descending from the plateau. This partially filled gully was for a long time known as the "Daredevil". Nowadays it is the Lombard ramp. To the east, the current dwellings occupy an old meadow from which one could see anyone approaching. To the west, an alleyway led to the strike by a staircase carved into the rock of the cliff. This side, closed by the west wall of the alleyway, bordered a meadow which has been subdivided since.
To the south, Lagadec / Briant Street and Saint-Christophe Street were the weak points of this defence. That is apparent from terms read in an edition of Chronicles of Froissart about the castle of Conquet : It has been taken by the French during reign of King John, but they would have demolished it " because it was not worth taking or keeping.
This building belonged to sir Kerlech's, captain of Banners and Backbenchers. It belongs to the same family since the last half of the XIXth century.



Hubert MICHEA

READ MORE


Hubert Michéa, "Tour de ville au Conquet,
les pierres parlent à qui sait les entendre"

106 p, broché, 2017. Illustrations made by the author.
Available in bookshops at Le Conquet.


Well documented and abundantly illustrated, this book offers the reader to open his eyes by exploring the streets and alleyways of the city. An invitation to listen to what the stones say...




    Read about the Jean-Pierre CLOCHON's blog , Conquet historian,
the point of his research concerning Faustin Rigollet,
former mayor and shipowner,
who bought the House of the Lords at the end of the XIXe century.


***

QR code of this page :


Download this flashcode

Retour à l'accueil



La maison des Seigneurs

ou maison Poncelin

( Commune du Conquet )





GPS : 48°21'40 N  4°46'28 W


Accès : Cette maison fortifiée se trouve sur le port du Conquet. Pour y accéder à partir du centre-ville, prendre la rue Clemenceau, tourner à la première rue à droite et stationner en bas sur le quai du Drellac'h. La maison Poncelin, dite « maison des seigneurs » surplombe la mer. C'est une propriété privée, elle ne se visite pas.




    Sur la rive de l'aber du Conquet, le regard est attiré par cette maison forte à trois tours. Un acte conservé aux Archives départementales de la Loire-Atlantique, et daté de 1540, indique que le père de Jean Poncelin l'aurait fait « edyfier trente ans auparavant », ce qui la daterait des environs de 1510.
De fait, cette maison forte fit partie d'un ensemble destiné à protéger le port d'incursions très fréquentes depuis le XIIIe siècle, ainsi qu'à faciliter la perception des péages imposés aux navires.
Le dispositif comprenait trois tours de guet échelonnées au long de la rive sud de la ria. De ces édifices il reste des vestiges de l'une, et une autre est convertie en habitation. Elles étaient antérieures à la maison Poncelin.



  Celle-ci fut probablement l'entrée d'un ensemble fortifié. On passait de la mer à l'intérieur par une porte que l'on voit encore depuis la ria.


La porte marine




L'écusson gravé au-dessus de la porte marine

  Après contrôle, on passait ensuite sur ce qui est de nos jours la rue.


La façade actuelle côté rue

    L'édifice est construit directement sur le rocher dont les crevasses ont été comblées par des dalles de schiste extraites directement d'une carrière située derrière l'auberge du Drellac'h. Les parements sont en granite de l'Aber-Ildut.


En contrebas de l'habitation,
le rocher est percé afin de permettre l'amarrage des navires


    L'ensemble fortifié était limité à l'Est par une ravine dans le fond de laquelle un ruisseau descendait du plateau. Cette ravine partiellement comblée porta longtemps le nom de « Casse-cou ». C'est de nos jours la rampe Lombard. A l'Est, une prairie aujourd'hui lotie laissait percevoir toute personne approchant. Vers l'ouest, une venelle aboutissait à la grève par un escalier taillé dans le roc de la falaise. Ce côté, fermé par le mur ouest de la venelle, se trouvait protégé par une prairie, elle aussi lotie depuis.
Au sud, la rue Lagadec / Briant et la rue Saint-Christophe constituaient le point faible de cette défense. Ce que l'on peut rapprocher des termes que l'on lit dans une édition des Chroniques de Froissart au sujet du château du Conquet, repris sous Jean-sans-terre par les Français, qui l'auraient démoli « car il ne valait ni à prendre ni à garder ».
Cet édifice fit partie des biens contrôlés par le sire de Kerlech, capitaine du ban et de l'arrère-ban. Il est tenu actuellement dans une même famille depuis la dernière moitié du XIXe siècle.



Hubert MICHEA

EN SAVOIR PLUS


Hubert Michéa, "Tour de ville au Conquet,
les pierres parlent à qui sait les entendre"

106 p, broché, 2017. Illustrations de l'auteur.
Disponible en librairie au Conquet.


Très documenté et abondamment illustré, cet ouvrage propose au lecteur d'ouvrir les yeux en explorant les rues et les venelles de la cité. Une invitation à écouter ce que disent les pierres...




    Lire sur le blog de Jean-Pierre CLOCHON , historien du Conquet,
le point de ses recherches concernant Faustin Rigollet,
ancien maire et armateur,
qui a acheté la maison des Seigneurs à la fin du XIXe siècle.


***

QR code de cette page :


Télécharger ce flashcode