Back to home pageFrench    German    Spanish    



The Lanhalla's dovecote: the Kouldry

(Municipality of Plouarzel)








This building is located in a private property. It is signposted and open to the public. An explanatory panel has also been installed by the Community of Municipalities, with the assistance of the Tre Arzh association of Plouarzel. It allows visitors to understand the architecture and the importance of this type of construction, which dates from the old regime and is often seen in ruins and abandoned to vegetation in many municipalities.


Design: Com1nom@de and Jézéquel Publicité 2015
There is a QR code on the vertical side of the terminal (arrow).
Scanned by a smartphone or tablet, it gives access to sound explanations.


Access : From Plouarzel, follow the D28 road towards Brélès. 3.5 km from the village, turn right (direction signposted Lanhalla). Go past the dovecote that you see on the left and park along the wide path that leads to the retting basin on right.

Parking GPS : 48°27'28.9 N 4°43'50.8 W


Dovecote or pigeon loft ?

  If these two terms are commonly used, it must be known that the word dove designates no particular species of pigeon. Dovecote used to be a vernacular word that designated a building used for pigeons breeding in general. Then, in the XIXth century, the word dove, like the biblical bird, was gradually used to designate white pigeons. A release of doves contains only white birds. Since then, the word pigeon loft has replaced that of dovecote, which has become too restrictive. But it is well the term of dovecote which was used at the time of its use. It is also its name in Breton (koulm = dove).

  This dovecote, therefore, dates from the end of the XVIth century. It was built by Tanguy de Langalla, powerful lord of the neighbouring manor, in order to breed pigeons 1. In the past, these birds and their eggs were widely consumed in the meals of noble families and the possession of an important dovecote was also an ostentatious sign of wealth for its owner. This privilege, exclusively reserved for the nobility, was abolished in France on August 4, 1789.



A very elaborate architecture

   Lanhalla's dovecote, the 'Kouldry', is a solid, almost cylindrical construction that deserves close examination. Its exterior wall is made of large granite stones. It rests on the ground without foundations and we note that it is not exactly vertical, but leans a little inwards. This voluntary inclination, which the the French architects call 'fruit', aims to counterbalance the enormous thrust exerted by the heavy slate roof. Behind an elegant cornice, adorned today with wild grasses that grow on the excrement left by generations of pigeons, this stepped roof is formed of 10 successive layers of large slabs placed in corbelling and slightly inclined outwards.



A single opening gives access to the inside. One is surprised by the unusual size as well as by the thickness of the blocks which frame it and which contrast with the quite regular stones of the wall. Obviously, this entrance defended a treasure, like a vault. Imagine the thickness of the door framed by this enormous embrasure.



Above the lintel and a decorative cornice, a degraded niche suggests the location of a lord's coat of arms on a carved stone that was stolen a few years ago. It was those of Tanguy de Langalla who emblazoned rhombus patterns of silver and sand with a divided band charged with four ermines of sand. 2



   As you enter the building, you realize how complex the construction is. We can't find the wall we saw outside. It is indeed hidden and nested in a second wall intended to house the couples of pigeons. A regular arrangement of thin slabs of schist supporting rectangular paving stones creates hundreds of niches called 'boulins', while overflowing cornices allow the birds to land and constitute an obstacle to weasels, martens and other small carnivores likely to climb up to the nests. We will see further that these cornices still had another utility.
If one slips one's hand into a 'boulin', one realizes that it gives access to a small inner chamber about forty centimetres deep, rather vast, which extends behind the paving stones separating the entrances.




Approximate section of a complete row of 'boulins' of the 3nd, 4th and 5th groups.
Closer to the ground, the rows of the 1st and 2nd groups are incomplete because of the opening of the entrance and its lintel.
Note the imposing thickness of the exterior wall compared to the overall construction.


  There are 720 'boulins' divided into 5 groups of rows between the cornices. Their number was not chosen at random: it was necessarily linked to the size of the seigneurial domain. In Brittany, an acre of land (50 acres) giving right to a dovecote, the Tanguy of Langalla estate was to cover about 360 hectares and the Kouldry was to house no more than 1440 pigeons 3.


Average thickness of a slab of shale: 3 cm. Height of the entrance of a 'boulin': 15 cm. Width 12 cm.
Length of the stone separating two 'boulins': 38 to 45 cm.


  Looking up, you can see how the dome of the dovecote was corbelled, a challenge to gravity. Long slabs, with only the corbelled end visible, were fitted layer by layer. But if on the outside there were about ten, we see that inside their number doubled. The structure of the dome is therefore complex. The weight of each upper crown holds the crown placed below. This very old technique, used in some outbuildings of farms in the south of France, has the advantage of not requiring, during its construction, the use of a wooden scaffolding to support the dome temporarily. At the top, there was a large oculus through which birds could escape for food.



Missing equipment

  However, as can be seen in other constructions of this type, a little wooden lantern, probably similar to the one on the interpretation panel, covered the oculus to prevent rain from reaching the interior.


Assumed reconstruction of the building and stripped-down representation of its inside.
The ladder system and the wooden lantern have disappeared.
Design: Com1nom@de and Jézéquel Publicité 2015


Today totally empty, the building had to include at least a ladder to go up and seize the birds and their eggs as needed.
Let's look at the dirt floor: it's not flat. Higher in the center than near the wall, it presents circular concentric furrows. These are the traces of the feet of this ladder that are still visible despite the centuries. Spaced about 90 cm apart, they make us imagine an equipment of imposing size pivoting around a central axis.



  It was concluded that the lantern was attached to a large central pole planted in the ground and provided with a pivoting rod to which the ladder was attached. This ingenious system made it easy to visit all the nests without descending the ladder, which was simply moved forward by leaning on the side ledges.
A water supply was also to be placed at the foot of the pole so that the birds could drink when they were locked up.
  In fact, the farmers in the area did not like to see the pigeons pick their crops. At the time of sowing, birds were usually locked up for a few days. The lantern thus had shutters that were folded down by means of a long rope in order to close the oculus.


  We see that this construction, which seemed by far a rather analogous to an old mill, is much more elaborate than it seems. It is not the work of local craftsmen, but good professionals who put their knowledge at the service of seigneuries.
What should we do today with these interesting remains that will inevitably fall into ruins over time? Most of the dovecotes that can still be seen are used as outbuildings, pigsties or equipment stores on farms and have not been restored. The outer wall of this one is already cracking. However, as we can see, a dovecote is a small wonder of architecture and an important witness of the customs of the old times that it would be a pity to forget. And if Lanhalla's has been judiciously highlighted, there are many more that deserve to be studied and preserved.

...

-1- It is also not impossible that some pigeons were used as carrier pigeons to transmit messages. We know that this communication technique goes back very far in history since, in ancient Greece, the results of the Olympic Games were transmitted off in this way. In the XVIth century, this means of communication was already well known.

-2- If you too, want to emblazon, read the page of this site devoted to the sundial of Plourin.

-3- This calculation is very approximate: the 'arpent' ( 4221 m2) is a measure of the Paris region while in the west of France the 'journal' ( about 5000 m2) was commonly used. These measures, not quite equivalent, theoretically corresponded to the area that could be plowed in one day. But how ploughed? If horses were used, one ploughed faster than with oxen, thus more surface. And at what depth? In what kind of soil? In summer when the days are longer or in winter when they are shorter? And that only applies to arable land. The seigneurial domain also included woods, orchards and meadows.



Yannick Loukianoff


***

READ MORE


190 p, Editions Régionales de l'Ouest 1993

See also the article by Louis GUENNEC : "Les colombiers seigneuriaux du Finistère" published in the daily newspaper "La Dépêche de Brest" on 19 January 1933. The digitized newspaper is available on the internet.

QR code of this page :



Download this flashcode

Accueil

Le colombier de Lanhalla : le Kouldry

( Commune de Plouarzel )








Cet édifice, situé dans une propriété privée, est ouvert au public et fait l'objet d'un fléchage ainsi que d'un panneau d'interprétation installé par la Communauté de communes grâce au concours de l'association Tre Arzh de Plouarzel. Il permet au visiteur de bien comprendre l'importance et l'architecture de ce type de construction de l'Ancien Régime, que l'on voit souvent en ruines et abandonné à la végétation dans de nombreuses communes.


Conception: Com1nom@de et Jézéquel Publicité 2015
On remarque un QR code sur la face vericale de la borne ( flèche ).
Scanné, il permet d'obtenir un commentaire sonore sur un smartphone ou une tablette.


Accès : A partir de Plouarzel, suivre la D28 en direction de Brélès. A 3,5 km du bourg, tourner à droite ( fléchage Lanhalla ). Dépasser le colombier que l'on voit sur la gauche et stationner en bordure du large chemin qui mène, à droite, au rouissoir.

GPS du stationnement : 48°27'28.9 N 4°43'50.8 W


Pigeonnier ou colombier ?

  Si l'on emploie couramment ces deux termes, il faut savoir que le mot colombe ne désigne aucune espèce particulière de pigeon. C'était autrefois un terme vernaculaire et un colombier désignait donc le bâtiment servant à l'élevage des pigeons en général. Puis, au XIXe siècle, le mot colombe, à l'image de l'oiseau biblique, a progressivement été employé pour désigner les pigeons blancs. Un lâcher de colombes ne comporte que des oiseaux blancs. Dès lors, le mot pigeonnier a remplacé celui de colombier devenu trop restrictif. Mais c'est bien le terme de colombier qui était employé au temps de son utilisation. C'est du reste son nom en breton ( koulm = colombe ).

  Ce colombier, donc, date de la fin du XVIe siècle. Il a été bâti par Tanguy de Langalla, puissant seigneur du manoir voisin, afin de pratiquer l'élevage de pigeons1. On faisait autrefois une grande consommation de ce volatile et de ses œufs dans les repas des familles nobles et la possession d'un colombier bien en vue constituait en outre pour son propriétaire un signe ostentatoire de richesse. Ce privilège exclusivement réservé à la noblesse, fut aboli le 4 août 1789.



Une architecture très élaborée

  Le colombier de Lanhalla, le Kouldry, est une solide construction presque cylindrique qui mérite d'être examinée de près. Son mur extérieur est constitué de gros moëllons de granit. Il repose sur le sol sans fondations et on remarque qu'il n'est pas exactement vertical, mais penche un peu vers l'intérieur. Cette inclinaison volontaire, que les architectes nomment "fruit", a pour but de contrebuter l'énorme poussée exercée par le lourd toit de schiste ardoisier. Derrière une élégante corniche, et ornée aujourd'hui d'herbes folles qui poussent sur les fientes laissées là par des générations de pigeons, cette couverture en gradins est formée de 10 couches successives de larges dalles placées en encorbellement et légèrement inclinées vers l'extérieur.



Une unique ouverture donne accès à l'intérieur. On est frappé par la taille inhabituelle ainsi que l'épaisseur des blocs qui l'encadrent et qui tranchent avec celle, bien régulière, des pierres du mur. Manifestement, cette entrée défendait un trésor, à la manière d'une chambre forte. On imagine l'épaisseur de la porte qu'encadrait cette énorme embrasure.



Au-dessus du linteau et d'une corniche décorative, une niche dégradée laisse imaginer l'emplacement des armoiries seigneuriales figurant sur un écusson en pierre sculptée qui a été dérobé il y a quelques années. Ce sont celles de Tanguy de Langalla qui blasonnait losangé d'argent et de sable à la bande divise chargée de quatre hermines de sable.2



  En pénétrant à l'intérieur du bâtiment, on se rend compte de la complexité de la construction. On ne retrouve pas le mur que l'on voyait à l'extérieur. Il est en effet caché et imbriqué dans un second mur destiné à héberger les couples de pigeons. Un agencement régulier de fines dalles de schiste supportant des pavés rectangulaires leur ménage des centaines de niches appelées boulins, tandis que des corniches débordantes permettent aux oiseaux de se poser et constituent un obstacle aux belettes, fouines, martres et autres petits carnivores susceptibles de grimper jusqu'aux nids. On va voir plus loin que ces corniches avaient encore une autre utilité.
Si l'on glisse la main dans un boulin, on s'aperçoit qu'il donne accès à une petite chambre intérieure profonde d'une quarantaine de centimètres, assez vaste pour s'étendre derrière les pavés séparant les entrées.




Coupe approximative d'une rangée complète de boulins des 3e, 4e et 5e groupes.
Plus près du sol, à cause de l'ouverture de l'entrée et de son linteau, les rangées des 1er et 2e groupes ne sont pas complètes.
Remarquer l'imposante épaisseur du mur extérieur par rapport à l'ensemble de la construction.


 On compte ici 720 boulins répartis en 5 groupes de rangées entre les corniches. Leur nombre n'était pas choisi au hasard : il était obligatoirement lié à la taille du domaine seigneurial. En Bretagne, un arpent de terre ( 50 ares ) donnant droit à un boulin, le domaine de Tanguy de Langalla devait couvrir environ 360 hectares et le Kouldry héberger au maximum 1440 pigeons3.


Epaisseur moyenne d'une dalle de schiste : 3 cm. Hauteur de l'entrée d''un boulin : 15 cm. Largeur 12 cm.
Longueur de la pierre séparant deux boulins : 38 à 45 cm.


 En levant les yeux on voit comment a été réalisé l'encorbellement de la coupole du colombier qui constitue un défi à la pesanteur. De longues dalles dont on n'aperçoit que l'extrémité en encorbellement ont été ajustées couche par couche. Mais si à l'extérieur on en comptait une dizaine, on voit qu'à l'intérieur leur nombre a doublé. La structure du dôme est donc complexe. Chaque couronne supérieure clave par son poids celle placée au-dessous d'elle. Cette technique très ancienne, employée dans certaines dépendances des fermes du Midi, a l'avantage de ne pas nécessiter lors de sa construction l'emploi d'une nave provisoire en bois pour soutenir la coupole. Au sommet, celle-ci aboutit à un large oculus par lequel les oiseaux pouvaient s'échapper afin de se nourrir.



Un équipement disparu

  Toutefois, ainsi qu'on peut le voir dans d'autres constructions de ce type, un lanternon en bois, sans doute analogue à celui figuré sur le panneau d'interprétation, couvrait l'oculus pour empêcher la pluie de parvenir à l'intérieur.


Reconstitution supposée du bâtiment et vue en écorché de l'intérieur.
Le système d'échelle ainsi que le lanternon en bois ont disparu.
Conception: Com1nom@de et Jézéquel Publicité 2015


Aujourd'hui totalement vide, le bâtiment devait comporter au moins une échelle permettant d'aller saisir les oiseaux et leurs œufs au gré des besoins.
Examinons le sol de terre battue : il n'est pas plat. Plus élevé au centre qu'auprès du mur de boulins, on y voit des sillons circulaires concentriques. Ce sont les traces des pieds de cette échelle qui sont toujours visibles malgré les siècles. Espacées de 90 cm environ, elles nous font imaginer un équipement de taille imposante pivotant autour d'un axe central.



 On en conclut que le lanternon était fixé à un grand mât central planté dans la terre et pourvu d'une potence pivotante à laquelle l'échelle était fixée. Ce système ingénieux permettait de visiter facilement l'ensemble des nids sans descendre de l'échelle qu'il suffisait de faire avancer en poussant sur les corniches latérales.
Une réserve d'eau devait en outre être disposée au pied du mât pour que les oiseaux puissent boire lorsqu'ils étaient enfermés.
 En effet, les paysans des environs n'aimaient pas beaucoup voir des hordes de pigeons picorer leur récolte. Au moment des semailles, il était courant que l'on enfermât les oiseaux quelques jours. Le lanternon disposait donc de volets que l'on rabattait au moyen d'une longue cordelette afin d'obturer l'oculus.


 On voit que cette construction, qui semblait de loin un peu analogue à un vieux moulin, est beaucoup plus élaborée qu'elle ne paraît. Elle est l'œuvre non pas d'artisans locaux, mais de véritables professionnels mettant leur savoir au service des seigneuries.
Que faire, aujourd'hui, de ces intéressants vestiges qui immanquablement vont tomber en ruines avec le temps ? La plupart des colombiers que l'on peut encore voir servent de dépendance, de soue à cochons ou de réserve de matériel dans des fermes et ne sont pas restaurés. Le mur extérieur de celui-ci se lézarde déjà. Pourtant, on le voit bien, un colombier est un petit prodige d'architecture et un témoin important des coutumes d'un autre temps qu'il serait dommage d'oublier. Et si celui de Lanhalla a judicieusement été mis en valeur, il en est beaucoup d'autres encore qui méritent d'être étudiés et préservés.

...

-1- Il n'est pas impossible non plus que certains pigeons aient été utilisés comme pigeons voyageurs pour transmettre des messages. On sait que cette technique de communication remonte très loin dans l'histoire puisque, dans la Grèce antique, les résultats des Jeux Olympiques étaient transmis au loin de cette façon. Au XVIe siècle, ce moyen de communiquer était déjà bien connu.

-2- Pour vous exercer, vous aussi, à blasonner, lisez la page de ce site consacrée au cadran solaire de Plourin.

-3- Ce calcul est très approximatif : l'arpent ( 4221 m2 ) est une mesure de la région parisienne alors que dans l'ouest on utilisait le journal ( environ 5000 m2 ). Ces mesures, pas tout à fait équivalentes, correspondaient théoriquement à la surface labourée en un jour. Mais labourée comment ? Si l'on utilisait des chevaux, on labourait plus vite qu'avec des bœufs, donc davantage de surface. Et à quelle profondeur ? Dans quelle sorte de terre ? En été quand les jours sont plus longs ou en hiver quand ils sont plus courts ? Et cela ne concerne que les terres labourables. Le domaine seigneurial comprenait aussi des bois, des vergers et des prairies.



Yannick Loukianoff

***

EN SAVOIR PLUS


190 p, broché, Editions Régionales de l'Ouest 1993

Voir aussi l'article de Louis GUENNEC : "Les colombiers seigneuriaux du Finistère" paru dans le quotidien "La Dépêche de Brest" le 19 janvier 1933. Le journal numérisé est disponible sur internet.

QR code de cette page :



Télécharger ce flashcode

Patrimoine civil du Pays d'Iroise

Retour à l'accueil

Plan du site