Back to home pageFrench    German    Spanish    



The Saint Haude fountain


Municipality of Landunvez





Parking GPS : 48°32'42 N  4°42'17 W




Access : Going from St-Renan to Argenton on the D68 road, pass the Plourin roundabout and, still on the same road, 3 km further, turn right towards Landunvez. Cross this village and continue towards Kersaint. After 2 km, reaching the first houses of Kersaint, turn right into rue du Viaduc. Then take the second street on the right ("Fontaine de Sainte Haude" sign). Park at 300m, where the asphalt road stops and continue on foot in the path that extends the road. 200m further, (enamelled lava sign) turn left onto the path leading to the nearby fountain. Note that access to the fountain is quite muddy during the rainy season.



    The Saint Haude fountain is a spring set in a charming wooded site, far from any habitation.



A small basin collects water directly from the source and fills containers.
A stone gutter then directs the liquid towards a rather rough lavoir bordered by a few large slabs. The first, on the right side, is in fact a Gallic stele which, lying down, is of a new use here.



It can be seen that the gutter feeding the lavoir previously crosses a small circular basin. The visitor especially wonders about the reason for the presence of a lavoir in a place so far from any dwelling. But this has not always been the case.



A tragic legend :


  Some time after the end of the reign of Clovis, Lord Golon of Trémazan, near Kersaint, had two children: a girl, Haude, and a boy, Gurguy. When his wife died, he would have remarried an English woman. The mother-in-law would have particularly mistreated these children who were not hers. Gurguy would have taken refuge at the court of King Childebert, and Haude, very pious, would have been placed in a farm where her pleasure was to devote herself to prayer.
However, the stepmother was spreading lies about the girl, accusing her of leading a life of debauchery. Back after twelve years of absence, Gurguy naively believed these rumours, and rushed to the farm. Her sister was washing clothes in the source. He went there and beheaded her with his sword. It was, it seems, November 18, 545. Look at a calendar, November 18 is the day of Ste Aude (without H, but she is the same person). And what saint are we celebrating the next day?


Saint Haude. Kersaint Chapel in Landunvez.


  In the evening, a miracle took place at the castle: Haude was seen coming, holding her head in her hands 1. She put it back on her neck and accused her mother-in-law of being the cause of her death. The stepmother denied this accusation, but died immediately.


Extract from R.P.Albert LE GRAND :
« Les vies des saincts de la Bretaigne armorique ».1637.
Ed. J.Salaün, Quimper 1901.
In the text above, the word 'carreau' refers to lightning.
The author compares it to a crossbow bolt (an arrow).



  As for Gurguy, forgiven by his sister but remorseful, he took refuge with Saint Pol Aurélien, bishop of Leon. He made penance for forty days, took the name of "Tanguy"2 and expiated his crime by founding the abbey of Saint-Mathieu. He was later venerated as 'Saint Tanguy'. Several lords of the castle of Trémazan then bore the first name of Tanguy. And that's why you find his name on the calendar the day after his sister's holy day.


Saint Tanguy. Chapel of Kersaint. in Landunvez.



    It is not surprising that such a legend gives this source a sacred character. The small circular basin crossed by the gutter would be the trace left by Haude's head in the stone. The water of the fountain would also cure the warts: it would be enough to throw a pin in the small basin then to resume it to pierce the wart that one wishes to make disappear.
    It is also said that around this fabulous site, as in the ruins of the seigneurial keep, red wallflowers bloom every year to remember the crime that was committed a thousand and a half years ago.


Wallflowers sometimes turn bright red.



    That very old legend is reproduced in a text of the Lord of Tremazan, dated from the XVth century, intended to prove his ancestry with a family of saints.

  The source, like many others, was probably known from immemorial times and already venerated by the inhabitants before Christianity made it a sacred fountain, thanks to legend. Anyway, it is a little charming site that should be better known.


-1- A character who, after being decapitated, is depicted carrying his head in his hands is called a "cephalophore" (from the Greek kephale, head, and pherin, carry). It is the case of a hundred saints in France, among whom the most famous is undoubtedly Saint Denis, on whose tomb was raised the basilica of the kings of France. Most of these characters are supposed to have lived, like Saint Haude, in Merovingian times. In the West, in addition to Saint Haude in Landunvez, Saint Noyale in Noyal-Pontivy, Saint Tréphine in Pontivy, Saint Gohard in Nantes and Angers, Saint Trémeur in Carhaix and Saint Miliau in Guimiliau are worshipped.

-2- It is said that it was Saint Pol Aurelian himself who called Gurguy "Tanguy" because he had appeared to him haloed in a circle of fire. And 'tan', in Breton, means fire.



READ MORE



The association "Les Amis de Saint Mathieu" has edited this small booklet of 32 pages, nicely illustrated with watercolours
by J-P.Guiriec, which gives the full text
of the R.P. Le Grand relating to the legend.
It is on sale at the St-Mathieu museum.

Print the itinerary below to discover other places reminiscent of this legend :

Click on these two images to download it

Recto


Verso





QR code of this page :


Download this flashcode

Haude
Retour à l'accueil



La fontaine Sainte-Haude


( Commune de Landunvez )





GPS du stationnement : 48°32'42 N  4°42'17 W




Accès : Sur la D68, allant de St-Renan à Argenton, dépasser le rond-point de Plourin et, toujours sur la même route, 3 km plus loin, tourner à droite vers Landunvez. Traverser ce bourg et continuer vers Kersaint. A 2 km, dès les premières maisons de Kersaint, prendre à droite la rue du Viaduc. puis la deuxième rue à droite ( fléchage « Fontaine de Sainte Haude » ). Stationner à 300m, là où s'arrête la chaussée goudronnée et poursuivre à pied dans le chemin qui prolonge la route. 200m plus loin, ( panneau de lave émaillée ) prendre à gauche le sentier menant à la fontaine toute proche. Attention, l'accès à la fontaine est assez boueux en période de pluies.



    La fontaine Sainte-Haude est une source aménagée dans un charmant site boisé, loin de toute habitation.



Un petit bassin permet de recueillir l'eau directement à la source et de remplir des récipients.
Une rigole en pierre dirige ensuite le liquide vers un lavoir assez fruste bordé de quelques larges dalles. La première, sur le côté droit, est en fait une stèle gauloise qui, couchée, a trouvé ici une nouvelle utilisation.



On remarque que la rigole alimentant le lavoir traverse auparavant un petit bassin circulaire. Le visiteur s'interroge surtout sur la raison de la présence d'un lavoir dans un lieu aussi éloigné de toute habitation. Mais il n'en a pas toujours été ainsi.



Une légende tragique :


  Quelque temps après la fin du règne de Clovis, le seigneur Golon de Trémazan, près de Kersaint, aurait eu deux enfants : une fille, Haude, et un garçon Gurguy. A la mort de son épouse, il se serait remarié avec une Anglaise et la belle-mère aurait particulièrement maltraité ces enfants qui n'étaient pas les siens. Gurguy se serait réfugié à la cour du roi Childebert, et Haude, très pieuse, aurait été placée dans une ferme où son plaisir était de s'adonner à la prière.
Cependant la marâtre répandait des mensonges sur la jeune fille, l'accusant de mener une vie de débauchée. De retour après douze ans d'absence, Gurguy crut naïvement en ces rumeurs, et se précipita à la ferme. Sa sœur lavait du linge à la source. Il s'y rendit et de son épée la décapita. C'était, paraît-il, le 18 novembre 545. Regardez un calendrier, le 18 novembre est le jour de la Ste Aude ( sans H, mais c'est bien la même personne). Et quel saint fête-t-on le lendemain ?


Sainte Haude. Chapelle de Kersaint à Landunvez.


  Dans la soirée, au château, un miracle s'accomplit : on vit venir Haude, tenant sa tête dans ses mains 1. Elle la replaça sur son cou et accusa sa belle-mère d'être la cause de sa mort. La marâtre nia cette accusation, mais périt foudroyée sur-le-champ.


Extrait de R.P.Albert LE GRAND : « Les vies des saincts de la Bretaigne armorique ».1637.
Ed. J.Salaün, Quimper 1901.
Dans le texte ci-dessus, le mot « carreau » désigne la foudre.
L'auteur la compare à un carreau d'arbalète ( une flèche ).



  Quant à Gurguy, pardonné par sa sœur et pris de remords, il se réfugia auprès de Saint Pol Aurélien, évêque du Léon, fit pénitence pendant quarante jours, prit le nom de « Tanguy »2 et expia son crime en fondant l'abbaye de Saint-Mathieu. Il fut vénéré plus tard sous le nom de Saint Tanguy. Plusieurs seigneurs du château de Trémazan portèrent ensuite le prénom de Tanguy. Et voilà pourquoi vous trouvez son nom sur le calendrier le 1endemain de la fête de sa sœur.


Saint Tanguy. Chapelle de Kersaint. à Landunvez.



    Il n'est pas étonnant qu'une telle légende confère à cette source un caractère sacré. Le petit bassin circulaire traversé par la rigole serait la trace laissée dans la pierre par la tête d'Haude. L'eau de la source guérirait aussi les verrues: il suffirait de jeter une épingle dans le petit bassin puis de la reprendre pour percer la verrue que l'on désire faire disparaître.
    On dit encore qu'autour de ce site fabuleux, comme dans les ruines du donjon seigneurial, des violiers rouges s'épanouissent chaque année pour rappeler le crime qui fut commis voici un millénaire et demi.


Le violier, ou giroflée des murailles, prend parfois des teintes rouge vif.



    La légende, très ancienne, est reproduite dans un texte du seigneur de Trémazan, daté du XVe siècle, destiné à prouver son ascendance avec une famille de saints.

  Il est probable que la source, comme bien d'autres, ait été connue de tout temps et déjà vénérée par les habitants avant que le christianisme n'en fasse, grâce à la légende, une fontaine sacrée. Quoi qu'il en soit, c'est un site modeste et plein de charme qui mérite d'être mieux connu.


-1- Un personnage qui, après avoir subi une décapitation, est représenté portant sa tête dans ses mains est dit « céphalophore » ( du grec képhalé, la tête, et phéreïn, porter ). C'est le cas d'une centaine de saints en France, parmi lesquels le plus célèbre est sans doute Saint Denis, sur la tombe duquel fut élévée la basilique des rois de France. La plupart de ces personnages sont censés avoir vécu, comme Sainte Haude, à l'époque mérovingienne. Dans l'Ouest on vénère ainsi, outre Sainte Haude à Landunvez, Sainte Noyale à Noyal-Pontivy, Sainte Tréphine à Pontivy, Saint Gohard à Nantes et à Angers, Saint Trémeur à Carhaix et Saint Miliau à Guimiliau.

-2- On dit que ce fut Saint Pol Aurélien lui-même qui appela Gurguy « Tanguy » car il lui était apparu auréolé d'un cercle de feu. Et « tan », en breton, veut dire feu.



EN SAVOIR PLUS



L'association « Les Amis de Saint Mathieu » a édité ce petit fascicule de 32 pages, joliment illustré d'aquarelles
de J-P.Guiriec, qui donne en intégralité le texte
du R.P. Le Grand se rapportant à la légende.
Il est en vente au musée de St-Mathieu.

Imprimez l'itinéraire ci-dessous pour découvrir d'autres lieux rappelant cette légende :

Cliquez sur ces deux images pour le télécharger

Recto


Verso





QR code de cette page :


Télécharger ce flashcode