Back to home pageFrench    German    



The menhirs of the St-Laurent peninsula


( Municipality of Porspoder)





GPS of the isthmus car park :   48°30'59 N 4°46'12 W



   Superb place of Sunday walk, the St-Laurent peninsula offers to its visitors, in addition to a landscape at the same time grandiose and wild, four menhirs, all arranged at the southeast point. The Pors ar Verret group was classified as a historic monument on 27 December 1923.




Access :   It is from the very village of Porspoder that you reach the St. Lawrence peninsula. You can park in the isthmus between the port and the Women beach. One then reaches on foot the menhirs zone which are all located on the left of the entrance of the peninsula.
The coastal path has some difficult passages for people with disabilities.


The menhir of Pors an Ilis :





Isolated in the moor and visible from afar, this menhir is made of Landunvez migmatic granite. Of modest height, 1.45 m, it is 0.70 m wide and 0.40 m thick.

Les menhirs de Pors ar Verret :





   These three aligned stones are located only about thirty meters from the menhir of Pors an Ilis. They form a whole with three other stones lying nearby which it is difficult to say if they were erected one day.
The highest is 2.80 m, 1.80 m wide and 1 m thick.
This ensemble adjoins a natural granitic chaos from which the menhirs may have been extracted. So we could have the remains of a Neolithic quarry there.

***

QR code of this page


Download this flashcode

Accueil

Les menhirs de la presqu'île St-Laurent


( Commune de Porspoder )





GPS du parking de l'isthme :   48°30'59 N 4°46'12 W



  Superbe lieu de promenade dominicale, la presqu'île St-Laurent offre à ses visiteurs, en plus d'un paysage à la fois grandiose et sauvage, quatre menhirs, tous disposés à la pointe sud-est. Le groupe de Pors ar Verret a été classé monument historique le 27 décembre 1923.




Accès : C'est à partir du bourg même de Porspoder qu'on accède à la presqu'île St-Laurent. On peut stationner dans l'isthme entre le port et la plage des Dames. On atteint ensuite à pied la zone des menhirs qui sont tous situés à gauche de l'entrée de la presqu'île.
Le chemin côtier comporte quelques passages difficiles pour les personnes handicapées.


Le menhir de Pors an Ilis :





Isolé dans la lande et visible de loin, ce menhir est constitué de granite migmatique de Landunvez. De hauteur modeste, 1,45 m, il est large de 0,70 m et épais de 0,40 m.

Les menhirs de Pors ar Verret :





   Ces trois pierres alignées ne sont situées qu'à une trentaine de mètres du menhir de Pors an Ilis. Elles forment un ensemble avec trois autres pierres couchées à proximité dont il est difficile de dire si elles ont été un jour érigées.
La plus grande est haute de 2,80 m, large de 1,80 m et épaisse de 1 m.
Cet ensemble jouxte un chaos granitique naturel dont les menhirs ont peut-être été extraits. On pourrait donc avoir là les vestiges d'une carrière néolithique.

***

QR code de cette page